Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mods

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mods

Postby emile_b » Mon May 24, 2021 1:15 am

Dynamic lights which are 'spot lights' have been disabled in the shader for performance. Should find a way to enable them again without effecting performance when they are not in use.
emile_b
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby Nash » Mon May 24, 2021 1:27 am

Could it be done by projecting a texture, like dynamic lights in the 2005 version of GZDoom?

(Not sure if it'd look right, heh)
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby emile_b » Mon May 24, 2021 3:25 am

Nash wrote:Could it be done by projecting a texture, like dynamic lights in the 2005 version of GZDoom?

(Not sure if it'd look right, heh)


Yeah not sure how that would look! I will just try to enable the existing shader code again, it was removed to avoid some branches. Might be able to use preprocessor to compile it in/out like the other branches but the problem is you then need to scan the actual light data everytime to check for spot-lights.
emile_b
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby Redneckerz » Mon May 24, 2021 5:37 am

emile_b wrote:
Nash wrote:Could it be done by projecting a texture, like dynamic lights in the 2005 version of GZDoom?

(Not sure if it'd look right, heh)


Yeah not sure how that would look! I will just try to enable the existing shader code again, it was removed to avoid some branches. Might be able to use preprocessor to compile it in/out like the other branches but the problem is you then need to scan the actual light data everytime to check for spot-lights.

I am not sure if it is related (Else ill make a seperate thread for it) but the GLES renderer also dislikes lights.pk3 to be used. When selected, i immediately get a error.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby emile_b » Mon May 24, 2021 6:16 am

Redneckerz wrote:I am not sure if it is related (Else ill make a seperate thread for it) but the GLES renderer also dislikes lights.pk3 to be used. When selected, i immediately get a error.

Could be a bug, what error?
emile_b
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby Redneckerz » Mon May 24, 2021 6:37 am

emile_b wrote:
Redneckerz wrote:I am not sure if it is related (Else ill make a seperate thread for it) but the GLES renderer also dislikes lights.pk3 to be used. When selected, i immediately get a error.

Could be a bug, what error?

GZdoom launches correctly, but as soon as you start a new game, the following appears.



It does not outright crash, just does not start until you disable lights.pk3.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby emile_b » Mon May 24, 2021 6:50 am

Redneckerz wrote:It does not outright crash, just does not start until you disable lights.pk3.


Huh that is weird, what platform are you running on? Seems like it has created a very low version GL context profile..

Try starting up with "+set gles_force_glsl_v100 true"

This should not be needed on a PC running GL3+
emile_b
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby Redneckerz » Mon May 24, 2021 11:08 am

emile_b wrote:
Redneckerz wrote:It does not outright crash, just does not start until you disable lights.pk3.


Huh that is weird, what platform are you running on? Seems like it has created a very low version GL context profile..

Athlon X2 215
Geforce 6150 SE IGP (OpenGL 2.1, GLSL 1.20)
3 GB DDR2

emile_b wrote:Try starting up with "+set gles_force_glsl_v100 true"

That bombs out with a slew of errors:

User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby emile_b » Mon May 24, 2021 2:20 pm

Redneckerz wrote:Athlon X2 215
Geforce 6150 SE IGP (OpenGL 2.1, GLSL 1.20)
3 GB DDR2



Ohh you have a 2.1 card, I've not actually tested it at all on that card, you are probably one the first to try. TBH I am surprise it starts up at all. Are you running on Linux?
emile_b
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby Redneckerz » Mon May 24, 2021 2:37 pm

emile_b wrote:
Redneckerz wrote:Athlon X2 215
Geforce 6150 SE IGP (OpenGL 2.1, GLSL 1.20)
3 GB DDR2


emile_b wrote:Ohh you have a 2.1 card, I've not actually tested it at all on that card, you are probably one the first to try. TBH I am surprise it starts up at all.

Not only that, it runs pretty well too, although CPU utilization is rather high. But on lower resolutions, i get over 60 fps. Vsynced, ill get a solid 35 at 800x600, which is pretty amazing considering what is driven here.

emile_b wrote: Are you running on Linux?

Windows 7 Home Premium, actually.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby Redneckerz » Tue May 25, 2021 12:20 pm

@Emileb: Would you like me to test if the error still persists in 4.6.0b?
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby emile_b » Tue May 25, 2021 1:12 pm

Redneckerz wrote:@Emileb: Would you like me to test if the error still persists in 4.6.0b?


It won't have fixed that shader issue, but it is worth updating anyway. I really need equivalent HW to fix that issue unfortunately.
emile_b
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby Redneckerz » Thu May 27, 2021 2:59 pm

emile_b wrote:
Redneckerz wrote:@Emileb: Would you like me to test if the error still persists in 4.6.0b?


It won't have fixed that shader issue, but it is worth updating anyway. I really need equivalent HW to fix that issue unfortunately.
Ill do a test this weekend with 4.6.0b to see if the issue still persists.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Dynamic 'spot lights' do not work, breaks Flashlight mod

Postby Redneckerz » Sat May 29, 2021 3:43 pm

Just tested 4.6.0b.
Sprite Shadows work perfectly with no performance impact. Looks nice, too!

However,when lights.pk3 is selected, the issue seen in the first picture reappears. So lights.pk3 does not play nice on the renderer.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)


Return to OpenGLES Renderer Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests