0.5.0 Powerslave sound issues

Moderator: Raze Developers

0.5.0 Powerslave sound issues

Postby Enjay » Tue Feb 25, 2020 3:01 pm

When I start Powerslave in DOS, there are quite a few instances of a creepy ambient voice (I think) sound that plays over the level. I'm not hearing that in Raze.

Also, sound generally seems unreliable. Sometimes my pistol fires silently (especially the first time I use it I think) and the exploding flame jars in the first map sometimes blow up silently too.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: 0.5.0 Powerslave sound issues

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Feb 25, 2020 3:32 pm

For me these were working when I tested. I thought I finally got the sound. Damn...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: 0.5.0 Powerslave sound issues

Postby Enjay » Tue Feb 25, 2020 4:07 pm

I've just noticed that I think the ambient voice is playing, but it sounds weird. It's not like a voice, more of a descending electronic noise like something being switched off.

To give you an idea of how things are generally, here's a few seconds of gameplay. You can hear the sound I'm referring to when I go behind the start spot near those goblets of blood (or whatever they are). It's pretty quiet.

Other sound issues are also clearly apparent.



edit:
DOS version (using DOSBox) for comparison:



edit2:
and, for what it's worth, I just dug out my copy of Exhumed and got the same kind of problems in Raze as I did with Powerslave.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: 0.5.0 Powerslave sound issues

Postby SanyaWaffles » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:26 am

I can confirm that this is happening on my end as well.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Wouldn't be an epic gamer if I didn't commit a few war crimes.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: 0.5.0 Powerslave sound issues

Postby Gez » Wed Feb 26, 2020 4:47 am

Enjay wrote:and, for what it's worth, I just dug out my copy of Exhumed and got the same kind of problems in Raze as I did with Powerslave.

Are there actual differences besides the names? Even in DOSBox I mean.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: 0.5.0 Powerslave sound issues

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Feb 26, 2020 5:03 am

The only difference in the GRP files is that Exhumed's contains a few more sounds, which were apparently left out by accident in Powerslave. Both contain all assets for both releases, which is the publisher logo and the game title.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests