[Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.41)

Re: [Duke Nukem 3D] Alien World Order: WT extraction script

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Apr 12, 2021 3:14 pm

I know EDuke32 has some hardcoded light definitions for several original actor types. The maphacks are to enhance the lighting, they are not needed to provide any lighting.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order

Postby NightFright » Wed Apr 14, 2021 3:30 am

Small request:
The first four episodes contained in duke3d.grp are obviously residing in the root directory since groupfiles do not support subdirs. In World Tour, external versions of these maps are used which are located in a "maps" subdir. The groupfile created by my script however only refers to the internal groupfile maps for ep.1-4. This is why I had to add a slightly edited user.con to replace the one from WT so that the maps of the original episodes load correctly.

Would it be possible to have some kind of fallback option to search for maps of the same name in the root dir (or any other) of the groupfile in case maps are not found in the location defined in user.con? This way I wouldn't have to provide an edited con file at all for loading ep.1-4 from duke3d.grp, even though the maps are defined as e.g. "maps/E1L1.map" in WT's user.con.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order

Postby Phredreeke » Wed Apr 14, 2021 11:12 am

I'd suggest just using the new maps, hopefully Raze will support the new lights added to them at some point.
User avatar
Phredreeke
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2018
Discord: phredreeke#6500

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order

Postby NightFright » Wed Apr 14, 2021 12:01 pm

The project is supposed to contain the absolute minimum of files. Nobody will really notice the difference between Atomic and WT without that lighting. Also, it's Alien World Order, not World Tour. New episode only.

Anyway, the solution right now isn't the worst. Can just as well stay as it is. Main thing is everything works in the end.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Version 1.1 released

Postby NightFright » Sun Apr 18, 2021 11:46 am

Script updated to adapt to the changes in Raze 1.0.2. It now features a fancy installation progress bar and closes automatically. Other than that, it's just to omit files which are no longer needed.

If you have already executed the script, you won't have to do it again. Just delete worldorder.grpinfo and (optionally) open worldorder.grp with 7-Zip and delete worldorder.def.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.1)

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:11 pm

I'm getting an error when I use this.

Code: Select allExpand view
Compiling: 'game.con'.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 296) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 299) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 3357) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 3360) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 3363) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * WARNING.(game.con, line 3413) Expected an identifier, got a numeric literal 1.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 4199) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 4207) Parameter 'FIREPAINFREQ' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 5018) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 5026) Parameter 'FIREPAINFREQ' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 5725) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 5733) Parameter 'FIREPAINFREQ' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 6075) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 6083) Parameter 'FIREPAINFREQ' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 6583) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 6591) Parameter 'FIREPAINFREQ' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 7203) Parameter 'BOSS2PALSTRENGTH' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 7487) Parameter 'BOSS3PALSTRENGTH' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 7563) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 7571) Parameter 'FIREPAINFREQ' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 8400) Parameter 'BOSS4PALSTRENGTH' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 8545) Parameter 'ONFIRETIME' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(game.con, line 8553) Parameter 'FIREPAINFREQ' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(flamethrower.con, line 11) Parameter 'FLAMETHROWERAMMOAMOUNT' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(flamethrower.con, line 34) Parameter 'FLAMETHROWERAMMOAMOUNT' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(flamethrower.con, line 44) Parameter 'FLAMETHROWER_WEAPON_STRENGTH' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(fireflytrooper.con, line 567) Parameter 'FIREBALL_WEAPON_STRENGTH' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(fireflytrooper.con, line 572) Parameter 'BOSS5_FIREBALL_STRENGTH' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(episode5boss.con, line 340) Parameter 'BOSS5PALSTRENGTH' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(episode5boss.con, line 395) Parameter 'BOSS5STRENGTH' is undefined.
  * ERROR!(episode5boss.con, line 396) Parameter 'BOSS5STRENGTH' is undefined.
Found 0 warning(s), 30 error(s).


Manually including user.con from the WT install fixes it
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Never trust floor sandwiches
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.1)

Postby NightFright » Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:26 pm

I only tested it with duke3d.grp from Atomic. Dunno what happens with the groupfile from World Tour. It worked for me so far.

Also note you should uninstall World Tour before using this.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.1)

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:35 pm

NightFright wrote:I only tested it with duke3d.grp from Atomic. Dunno what happens with the groupfile from World Tour. It worked for me so far.

Also note you should uninstall World Tour before using this.


Weird. I did that and it doesn't seem to work unless, as I said, I copy the user.con from WT manually. It's like the script didn't copy it over.

I did uninstall WT after installing this and am not running it with WT.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Never trust floor sandwiches
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.1)

Postby NightFright » Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:50 pm

I just tested it and it worked just fine. Even if it fails to copy over user.con, it comes with its own user.con which would replace the original one, anyway.

Did you try v1.0 of the script before? I can reupload it here if needed.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.1)

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sun Apr 18, 2021 1:38 pm

I'll try it I suppose. I dunno what's going on my end.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Never trust floor sandwiches
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.1)

Postby NightFright » Sun Apr 18, 2021 2:39 pm

It's weird that it fails to copy user.con only. The script deletes WT's user.con after it is copied over and replaces it with a slightly modified one in which the first four episodes have their filepath modified. If it doesn't find any user.con, it should still use the renamed new con file. However, if it doesn't find my custom file... yeah, I guess you would end up with a worldorder.grp containing everything but user.con.

*UPDATE*
Find the unchanged v1.0 script in the attachment. I doubt it will make a difference since it works pretty much the same way, just adds two files which are no longer needed.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by NightFright on Mon Apr 19, 2021 3:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Version 1.2 released

Postby NightFright » Mon Apr 19, 2021 2:46 am

Added an option during the initial setup phase to copy over duke3d.grp from World Tour and automatically convert it to the Atomic Edition. This will make sure everyone is using the same groupfile and full functionality is guaranteed.

Note that you can always choose to manually place duke3d.grp into the "data" subdir within your Raze installation folder (especially if you already own the Atomic Edition).

(I had to move the project to Github since the additional binaries required for this update lead to the zipfile exceeding the filesize limits for uploads here.)
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.2)

Postby NightFright » Tue Apr 20, 2021 2:27 pm

Hmmm... I noticed that some of the pickup messages don't seem to appear. At least not for picking up keycards. Checked in E5L1 with the blue keycard. Maybe it has something to do with the way those messages are defined in WT user.con?
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.2)

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Apr 20, 2021 3:15 pm

I can see them, so no idea.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Duke3D] Alien World Order (v1.2)

Postby NightFright » Tue Apr 20, 2021 11:25 pm

It doesn't happen in regular Duke3D, but if you use worldorder.grp, the "Access Card" notification doesn't appear when picking up a keycard. It also isn't displayed in the console like all the other messages.

Tried with the red one in E1L1 and the blue one in E5L1. It's weird, so far it seems to be the only message that isn't shown, the rest looks fine. I see the entry in filter\duke\language.txt and language.csv of raze.pk3, so no clue why it's not used.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests