Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Postby Marcelus » Sat Jan 01, 2022 6:21 am

Hi all,
I have problem with light in Duke WT. In atomic is everything OK. During firing I have strong light on enviroment. First i think this is weapon light similar from GzDoom but Raze do not have this settings. Is possible fix it ? I try everything. Raze 1.2.1, 1.3.1, Vulkan, OpenGL, ambient light settings ...

(edit)

this happens also in atomic version :(

Marcelus
 
Joined: 25 Jan 2020
Location: Slovakia

Re: Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Postby axredneck » Sat Jan 01, 2022 9:47 am

It behaves the same way in DOS so it's not exactly a glitch.
User avatar
axredneck
excuse me for my bad English
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2017
Location: Russia
Github ID: axredneck
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Postby Marcelus » Sat Jan 01, 2022 9:57 am

axredneck wrote:It behaves the same way in DOS so it's not exactly a glitch.


hm.. in world tour from steam this not happen
Marcelus
 
Joined: 25 Jan 2020
Location: Slovakia

Re: Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Postby sinisterseed » Sat Jan 01, 2022 10:02 am

This is just how the game works. Firing weapons lights up the entire sector as opposed to just a part of it around the player like GZDoom does.

It's possible that the original WT did some tricks with its render to minimize these effects, but that part was never reverse-engineered.
User avatar
sinisterseed
Raze/GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jan 01, 2022 10:29 am

Doom does the same for lighting, but it simply has a far better light management so that the effect cannot become this gross.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Postby Marcelus » Sat Jan 01, 2022 10:43 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Doom does the same for lighting, but it simply has a far better light management so that the effect cannot become this gross.


Ambient linght on max minimize weapon lights but strong ambient kill atmosphere. Would be nice if Raze include weapon light settings like GzDoom. I long time not play Duke. Now I try eduke and this is really not glitch. In ep4 in first level, outside is also weapon light so strong.
Marcelus
 
Joined: 25 Jan 2020
Location: Slovakia

Re: Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jan 01, 2022 1:27 pm

The main issue here is Build's light mode which has overemphasized depth fading. So if something gets a bit too bright by such an effect it will be like a big lightbulb illuminated the entire level. Adding a better light mode is not a trivial thing, but it's on our list.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Duke Nukem light glitch. Possible fix it ?

Postby Marcelus » Sun Jan 02, 2022 12:16 pm

I understand it's not easy. Raze is currently my favorite source port. Blood or Duke never played so well for me.
Marcelus
 
Joined: 25 Jan 2020
Location: Slovakia


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests