How to make Build games work with Raze

Re: How to make Build games work with Raze

Postby NightFright » Thu Apr 15, 2021 1:26 am

Update:
Simplified the process by providing prepared music packs which just need to be unzipped into the blood/data directories. Zipped OGG files already are located in the "music" subdir and are properly named.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: How to make Build games work with Raze

Postby Nash » Thu Apr 15, 2021 3:15 am

Man, I gotta say props to the Raze team for the awesome asset detection code. I threw in the Wanton Destruction GRP into my SW folder (by accident) and was surprised it actually worked. I would've thought to put it in its own folder.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: How to make Build games work with Raze

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Apr 15, 2021 3:18 am

It works mostly like in GZDoom - scanning all folders in the GameSearch list of the INI for known game files. Aside from Blood you can actually put all other game files into the same folder, there are no overlaps and no conflicts between them.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: How to make Build games work with Raze

Postby NightFright » Thu Apr 15, 2021 3:32 am

BloodGDX even detects Blood if you zip all its content into a zipfile (basically like what Raze can do with Cryptic Passage, just for the base game as well). That would eliminate the need to keep it in its own directory and put it together with all the other groupfiles.
(However, I guess that wouldn't be a must-have feature right now, rather a gimmick for people like me who prefer game data to be stored in a single file instead of a folder with lots of lose files.)

Besides that, Death Wish auto-detection (similar to Cryptic Passage, but maybe as a separate entry in the game launcher) would be on my personal wishlist. It's easily the best community addon ever created for Blood and deserves native support. The mod uses distinctive file names (deathwish.ini, dw*.map for levels), so it shouldn't be too hard to come up with something. I dunno if the way Blood works with .ini definitions allows this, though.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Instructions updated

Postby NightFright » Fri Apr 23, 2021 4:12 am

Recent guide updates:
- Duke3D: Added optional DukeDC Music Pack 2.0 (MIDI version) *
- Shadow Warrior: Added alternate groupfile names for addons
- WW2GI: Added "Platoon Leader" addon

* I have deliberately chosen the original MIDIs for filesize purposes, plus I renamed all tracks to the original ep.3 file names to make a drag-n-drop solution possible (no extra defs or cons needed, music will automatically be replaced when you launch the DukeDC episode). If you want to put this into your autoload, it should look something like this, depending on where you placed the file, ofc - in this example, it's in a "mod" subdir within the Raze folder:
Code: Select allExpand view
[Duke.DukeDC.Autoload]
Path=mods/dukedc_midi.pk3
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: How to make Build games work with Raze

Postby Dzierzan » Fri Apr 30, 2021 2:01 pm

I am not sure if adding detection for fan addons is a wise idea. Because it would raise a question, why not this addon? Why not that one as well? IMO only official stuff should be detected like that.
User avatar
Dzierzan
 
Joined: 26 Jun 2017
Discord: Dzierzan

Re: How to make Build games work with Raze

Postby Rachael » Fri Apr 30, 2021 2:48 pm

GZDoom already went down this path before, and it ended with an official IWADINFO reader that could read from custom content that was packaged with a special extension i.e. iwad, ipk3, or ipk7. And I think that's already what is in play, here, since if I am right, I believe that Nightfright's addons use Raze's grpinfo detection somehow.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: How to make Build games work with Raze

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Apr 30, 2021 2:56 pm

Yes, but currently GRPINFO.txt must be external to the GRPs. The feature was just inherited from EDuke32 and not changed much since then, except for the ability to detect files not just by CRC but also by content, which was needed for zipped Route66 and Cryptic Passage variants.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: How to make Build games work with Raze

Postby NightFright » Fri Apr 30, 2021 3:57 pm

"mustcontain" for grpinfo would help a lot with the addon compilation where I change files often these days. Maybe I can convince the EDuke32 guys to add it there as well. It's a nice feature, not only in case users have to create groupfiles on their own without any fixed filesize/crc.
What would also be cool: Multiple options for "dependency" so addons work with more versions of the same game, e.g. Plutonium Pak and Atomic Edition (they are almost identical, but different duke3d.grp crcs require different grpinfo entries).

Other than that... yeah, Death Wish isn't official, so I guess it doesn't matter how good it is.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Previous

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests