Ken Silverman's Test Levels: How to run them in Raze?

Ken Silverman's Test Levels: How to run them in Raze?

Postby kinker31 » Sat Jul 18, 2020 11:16 pm

You know how Ken Silverman made a bunch of test levels to showcase the functionality of the BUILD Engine? (You can find 'em here, by the way.)
I figured that since Raze is a source port of the BUILD Engine and all... it shouldn't be too difficult to get the files from kenbuild.zip directly working in Raze. Problem: Raze doesn't seem to realize they're even there.
I also tried using FreeDOS to directly set up the program and to run the game and get any new files from there, but no dice.
This brings me to my primary question: Is there a way I can get Ken Silverman's test maps running directly in Raze?
User avatar
kinker31
Englishman who Went Up a Hill and Came Down with All the Bananas
 
Joined: 05 Feb 2018
Location: Does anyone actually put anything serious here?
Discord: kinker31#1062
Twitch ID: kinker31
Github ID: kinker31
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Ken Silverman's Test Levels: How to run them in Raze?

Postby wildweasel » Sat Jul 18, 2020 11:34 pm

You would likely need to convert the maps into a format that the supported games recognize, first. There are small differences in the file format between games that mean they're not guaranteed to work as-is. Even then, game logic will be left to the game you're running.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: Ken Silverman's Test Levels: How to run them in Raze?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jul 19, 2020 12:23 am

It's not that easy. Ken made a small demo game for his levels and this isn't part of Raze. The Build engine isn't like Doom - each one of the games uses different methods to implement its features - all the engine itself provides is the renderer and some physics utilities.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Ken Silverman's Test Levels: How to run them in Raze?

Postby kinker31 » Sun Jul 19, 2020 5:17 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:It's not that easy. Ken made a small demo game for his levels and this isn't part of Raze. The Build engine isn't like Doom - each one of the games uses different methods to implement its features - all the engine itself provides is the renderer and some physics utilities.

Ooooh, that makes much more sense.
Although it'd be pretty cool if you were able to port 'em in, I can totally understand if you can't. Coding's hard, tedious, and sanity draining.
User avatar
kinker31
Englishman who Went Up a Hill and Came Down with All the Bananas
 
Joined: 05 Feb 2018
Location: Does anyone actually put anything serious here?
Discord: kinker31#1062
Twitch ID: kinker31
Github ID: kinker31
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Ken Silverman's Test Levels: How to run them in Raze?

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jul 20, 2020 12:03 am

It's not that I can't but that I do not feel like investing time in something like this. It's not something that can be done in a day or two.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Ken Silverman's Test Levels: How to run them in Raze?

Postby morb » Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:52 pm

you can explore them using raze or eduke32; it's even easier with raze.
The group file is called STUFF.DAT

With raze you can just specify -grp STUFF.DAT -map MAPNAME.MAP and be sure to run it with Duke 3D.

eduke32 requires the groupfile to be extracted (via KEXTRACT) so assets can actually get loaded correctly (ART, PALETTE.DAT, and so on). Method is basically the same, just point -j to the directory you extracted all the assets and -g the grpfile.
User avatar
morb
 
Joined: 08 Mar 2020
Github ID: m0rb
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests