Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby mjr4077au » Mon May 25, 2020 5:23 pm

Wanted to ask about this, doesn't really benefit me but having automatic dev builds available for users might help invigorate the project and enhance bug reports etc, making for more solid releases.

Despite it not being hard to build, the thought of compiling software on Windows seems to be quite daunting for some so most never bother.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby Rachael » Mon May 25, 2020 6:13 pm

I am certainly for it, as long as both Graf and Blzut3 are on board with the idea.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon May 25, 2020 11:52 pm

Generally I have no objections, although Raze is obviously a lot more volatile than GZDoom so devbuilds may be broken more frequently.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby mjr4077au » Tue May 26, 2020 12:17 am

I think that's what makes it advantageous. You mentioned to me how past refactoring has broken parts of IF which makes it hard to bring back in line. If those breaks were reported sooner, it would probably allow better remediation while that part of the code is still fresh.

Same goes for that SW issue I reported, might be an easier fix if I remembered to report it when I found it.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby Rachael » Tue May 26, 2020 12:54 am

Well I've gone ahead and built the backend for it (empty folder) - now all it needs is a build builder. :)
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue May 26, 2020 1:58 am

mjr4077au wrote:I think that's what makes it advantageous. You mentioned to me how past refactoring has broken parts of IF which makes it hard to bring back in line. If those breaks were reported sooner, it would probably allow better remediation while that part of the code is still fresh.

Same goes for that SW issue I reported, might be an easier fix if I remembered to report it when I found it.


Don't worry about that menu issue, that's very likely a trivial fix.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby Redneckerz » Tue May 26, 2020 2:53 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Generally I have no objections, although Raze is obviously a lot more volatile than GZDoom so devbuilds may be broken more frequently.

Perhaps a mention of this can be made at the autobuilder page. Though it should be quite obvious, they are devbuilds after all.

But a snippet that says that due to Raze's codebase, these devbuilds are generally more unstable than GZDoom's might be worthwhile. Because you can bet someone is going to try an autobuild and then be surprised it is more crash prone than GZ.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby mjr4077au » Mon Jun 15, 2020 12:17 am

Just wanted to ask on this again and see whether there's anything I can do to help get this mobilised?

I do acknowledge that this is one of the more volitile times for the project and know bug reports like "VuLkAN iSnT wOrKiNg" is of no help, so if it should wait then thats all good :)
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby Blzut3 » Mon Jun 15, 2020 10:58 pm

Well just saw this thread today, so if you guys were waiting for me the reason it hasn't moved is because no one notified me. Today I just happened to decide to lurk the Raze forum. :P
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby Rachael » Tue Jun 16, 2020 4:37 am

I was going to add in Mac and Linux entries to Raze before I did actually.

And on that note, I added a folder for GZDoom for Linux too.

https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdoom-linux/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze-mac/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze-linux/
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby mjr4077au » Tue Jun 16, 2020 4:46 am

Blzut3 wrote:Well just saw this thread today, so if you guys were waiting for me the reason it hasn't moved is because no one notified me. Today I just happened to decide to lurk the Raze forum. :P

Haha notifications would definitely help :D

Rachael wrote:I was going to add in Mac and Linux entries to Raze before I did actually.

And on that note, I added a folder for GZDoom for Linux too.

https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdoom-linux/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze-mac/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze-linux/

That's awesome! And here I was only thinking of Windows ;)
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby Blzut3 » Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:05 pm

Windows Raze builds added.

Side note: Isn't it about time to remove ZDoom from the dev builds website?
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby mjr4077au » Thu Jun 25, 2020 5:44 pm

That's great, thanks so much! There's been many people after devbuilds on Discord etc so it'll be good to be able to provide that link.

I'll leave the side note with the powers that be, but while I agree, I think it should be taken off the main webpage first and foremost.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby funduke re-regist » Fri Jun 26, 2020 12:42 am

Rachael wrote:I was going to add in Mac and Linux entries to Raze before I did actually.

And on that note, I added a folder for GZDoom for Linux too.

https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdoom-linux/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze-mac/
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/raze-linux/


These (in my case the linux folders) are very welcome.
Thank you!

:D

Greetings
Funduke
User avatar
funduke re-regist
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2016

Re: Autobuilds of Raze on devbuilds.drdteam.org?

Postby funduke re-regist » Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:12 am

Since updates are dropping slower:
May i request a Linux build?

Greetings
Funduke
User avatar
funduke re-regist
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2016

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests