Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Moderator: Raze Developers

Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby NightFright » Mon May 17, 2021 4:05 am

These can be added to the widescreen assets for Duke3D if you think they are good enough. They were made by myself.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by NightFright on Wed May 19, 2021 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Two additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby Dynamo » Mon May 17, 2021 4:06 am

The larger menu tile is especially nice :D
User avatar
Dynamo
It's a jungle out there.
 
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Location: Lygon Street, Carlton

Re: Two additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby NightFright » Mon May 17, 2021 5:25 am

The loading screen didn't require many edits since many graphical elements don't touch the edge of the screen. It's barely noticable ingame, but still better than before, I guess.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby NightFright » Wed May 19, 2021 12:27 am

I have just released the Duke3D Fixes v1.4 mod for EDuke32. Raze support is also included. I have added a lot of additional widescreen versions for menu tiles which are currently not part of the Raze package, e.g. the help menu, 3DR intro logo or loading screens, also for all official addons. Feel free to cannibalize it for Raze if you want.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed May 19, 2021 1:57 am

The main problem with these is that they are not aspect ratio independent so while they surely can be added, the menu tiles or those cutscene screens with text on them will require extra coding. I'll probably take ones that scale down to 4:3 but the rest is a bit tricky.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby NightFright » Wed May 19, 2021 11:31 am

The issue I see is that some of these tiles are used in custom maps. E.g. the level ending screens tend to be used on computer monitors ingame. When using widescreen replacements, graphics would exceed the edges and look weird. Therefore it would have to be made so that widescreen tiles are only used when in menus or in case of level start/ending or end of episode. If that's even possible.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed May 19, 2021 12:25 pm

I already changed all scripted 2D code to use names instead of tile numbers and set that up using the tiles' symbolic constants. I'd have to add a few .def extensions to allow overriding an actual named texture with a widescreen replacement. Just dumping the widescreen texture in there with the right name won't work because it still needs to do CRC checks to only replace the stock version. That approach would only affect the 2D use but not in.game texturing which still would only access the original tile by number.

Considering what you just said it'd be a worthwile addition to handle it like that.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby NightFright » Wed May 19, 2021 2:42 pm

Sounds/reads like a good approach.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby NightFright » Sun May 23, 2021 4:21 am

BTW, here is the SW loading screen taken from Classic Redux. That one isn't hard to do, though...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby Phredreeke » Sun May 23, 2021 7:34 am

I think for a truly aspect ratio independent version of the Duke3D menu background it would have to be divided into separate elements, and parts currently obscured by the pipes and such would have to be filled in
User avatar
Phredreeke
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2018
Discord: phredreeke#6500

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun May 23, 2021 7:45 am

Let's see if Nash comes up with something after finishing WidePix for GZDoom.
At least the Blood background screen was done like that for NBlood, so one issue less.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby NightFright » Sun May 23, 2021 8:38 am

Well, with the Duke3D menu background I did something you shouldn't do: I altered center parts of the image that shouldn't be touched. This is a tricky one because you cannot just continue the patterns beyond the edges. But well, this needs to be handled by someone who knows what they are doing.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 02 May 2008
Location: Germany

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby Rachael » Sun May 23, 2021 8:55 am

The engine can take the left and right edges, split them off, and then make the center a repeating pattern. It would render the center first and then the edges on top of it. This may result in a seam on the right edge, but that can be avoided also, depending on how the graphic is cut, the right edge can also have some sort of transparency pattern that allows it to seamlessly merge with the rest of the graphic at any position.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Additional widescreen menu tiles for Duke3D

Postby Nash » Sun May 23, 2021 9:20 am

It was an idea I was tossing around in the other forum - if the engine wants to do that, then it wouldn't be too much work to make separate border graphics and the central, repeating pattern...
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes


Return to Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests