[Not needed] Separate defname for Vacation

Moderator: Raze Developers

Separate defname for Vacation

Postby Manuel-K » Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:02 am

I stumbled upon this when I was throwing the widescreen weapon sprites from Megaton into a pk3: The other games' addons with incompatible tiles have a different defname, while Duke.Vacation uses the default “duke3d.def”.
Manuel-K
 
Joined: 15 Mar 2017

Re: Separate defname for Vacation

Postby mjr4077au » Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:43 am

Manuel-K wrote:I stumbled upon this when I was throwing the widescreen weapon sprites from Megaton into a pk3: The other games' addons with incompatible tiles have a different defname, while Duke.Vacation uses the default “duke3d.def”.

Duke 3D Megaton is hardcoded to pick that up. EDuke32 won't pick it up either. Call it with '-mh "<DEF file name.def>".

Also, these are already packaged up and ready to go: https://forums.duke4.net/topic/8922-widescreen-friendly-rpg-hud-sprites/
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Separate defname for Vacation

Postby Manuel-K » Sun Feb 09, 2020 4:55 am

mjr4077au wrote:Call it with '-mh "<DEF file name.def>".

Yes, I know, but that's annoying. To automate that you simply need to add one line to engine/grpinfo.txt, so I think that it would be a good idea to fix it. I would create a PR if I knew what the default def name should be.

mjr4077au wrote:Also, these are already packaged up and ready to go: https://forums.duke4.net/topic/8922-widescreen-friendly-rpg-hud-sprites/

I think I saw that before, but forgot about it. Anyhow – it's takes about 30 seconds to do that, so it's too late for me.
Manuel-K
 
Joined: 15 Mar 2017

Re: Separate defname for Vacation

Postby mjr4077au » Sun Feb 09, 2020 5:05 am

Manuel-K wrote:
mjr4077au wrote:Call it with '-mh "<DEF file name.def>".

Yes, I know, but that's annoying. To automate that you simply need to add one line to engine/grpinfo.txt, so I think that it would be a good idea to fix it. I would create a PR if I knew what the default def name should be.

If you were to create a PR, I'd have it as duke3d-<AddonNumber>.def. Then when calling 'raze.exe -addon 3', it'd pick up duke3d.def and duke3d-3.def.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Separate defname for Vacation

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Sep 19, 2020 2:25 am

I have to say that all these filename shenanigans are not the solution to the problem - they only make things more confusing and prone to errors.
Fortunately the entire feature isn't needed - for smaller changes to the tiles a CRC check is sufficient but for anything else it may be better to rely on the file system's filtering feature which raze.pk3 makes extensive use of to allow putting resources for all games into a single container. With this, everything can be properly isolated from other game content, and it already supports all the official add ons, the specific filter directory for Vacation would be 'filter/duke.vacation', while also picking up everything from 'filter/duke', which is the common filter for all Duke content.

So unless a common name gets defined by all ports this is a 'not needed'.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Feature Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests