[Fixed] [Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Moderator: Raze Developers

[Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Postby lowskill. » Wed Mar 04, 2020 6:36 am

Old but raising the awareness as usual ;) .

In SW pausing the game does not seem to pause all events correctly, and enemies can either be still observed moving or be found in a different position/state after unpausing the game. Very easily noticed on the ninth map (levelwarp 9 and keep the console active while watching the ninjas).
User avatar
lowskill.
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Mar 04, 2020 7:03 am

Not much I can do right now. The way these games loop their game ticker is very, very problematic because those loops cannot be stopped properly. The pause function in particular is the biggest one because unlike pausing for the menu in single player games this needs to be network safe and apparently it isn't.

Ideally it should be done like Doom, i.e. driving the game logic from the outside and running the game ticker only when deemed appropriate. But that's a major refactoring because all those games use the same approach and use local loops everywhere. It's probably unavoidable to change this but be prepated for something that may take multiple weeks.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Postby lowskill. » Wed Mar 04, 2020 7:09 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Not much I can do right now. The way these games loop their game ticker is very, very problematic because those loops cannot be stopped properly. The pause function in particular is the biggest one because unlike pausing for the menu in single player games this needs to be network safe and apparently it isn't.

Ideally it should be done like Doom, i.e. driving the game logic from the outside and running the game ticker only when deemed appropriate. But that's a major refactoring because all those games use the same approach and use local loops everywhere. It's probably unavoidable to change this but be prepated for something that may take multiple weeks.

Oh wow, so we're in for a rough ride then. I really don't understand why these games rely on network code for so many SP-centered things.

And that probably means a swarm of issues along with it. We're gonna have so much fun.
User avatar
lowskill.
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Mar 04, 2020 7:38 am

They don't but since pausing needs to be broadcast it cannot be done by simply halting the play loop. Even in Doom the pause event gets sent across the network.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri May 22, 2020 10:42 am

This can no longer be reproduced with all the changes to the input code.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Postby lowskill. » Tue Jun 02, 2020 1:26 pm

lowskill. wrote:In SW pausing the game does not seem to pause all events correctly, and enemies can either be still observed moving or be found in a different position/state after unpausing the game. Very easily noticed on the ninth map (levelwarp 9 and keep the console active while watching the ninjas).

Apparently this is "unfixed" now, I can still randomly see ninjas "moving" while pausing the game sometimes.
User avatar
lowskill.
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Postby mjr4077au » Tue Jun 02, 2020 2:43 pm

Do they just move on the spot or are they actually moving to different positions? It was unfixed until two days ago, so if you're on a slightly older build I'd pull and compile again 😉
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Any version] [SW] Pausing/Resuming game is not ideal

Postby lowskill. » Tue Jun 02, 2020 2:53 pm

mjr4077au wrote:Do they just move on the spot or are they actually moving to different positions? It was unfixed until two days ago, so if you're on a slightly older build I'd pull and compile again 😉

It's a build from today's master, cca. 4-5 hours old :p .

They seem to move on the spot, yes, depending on the state they were in when you paused the game.
User avatar
lowskill.
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest