[SW] Twin Dragon is loaded randomly

Moderator: Raze Developers

[SW] Twin Dragon is loaded randomly

Postby Talon1024 » Tue May 11, 2021 1:48 am

I have Shadow Warrior Classic Complete on GOG.com, and the Linux installer puts the Twin Dragon files into the "dragon" subdirectory of the main game data directory. When I run Raze from the main game data directory, it sometimes loads Sw.grp from the "dragon" subdirectory, even if I don't want it to do so.
Talon1024
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Github ID: Talon1024
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [SW] Twin Dragon is loaded randomly

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue May 11, 2021 2:47 am

Reminds me of this one: viewtopic.php?f=341&t=72115

These packages surely come without any consideration for how to set up their data.
I'm afraid, but I do not have a quick solution here, it may be best to move that folder elsewhere if it causes interference.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [SW] Twin Dragon is loaded randomly

Postby Talon1024 » Fri May 14, 2021 6:18 am

Hmm, this happens with Duke Nukem 3D Megaton Edition from Steam as well; The duke3d.grp inside the "classic" folder is randomly loaded instead of the one in the working directory.
Talon1024
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Github ID: Talon1024
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [SW] Twin Dragon is loaded randomly

Postby mjr4077au » Sat Jul 24, 2021 12:08 am

Irrespective of it loading SW.grp fom the Twin Dragon folder, it is actually a problem as such? The only main issue I see here is content in Raze's directory should always override a search path, unless the search path is higher than Raze's path listing for $PROGDIR in your INI file.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 16 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [SW] Twin Dragon is loaded randomly

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Aug 13, 2021 1:49 pm

I've never had this happen when I was still using my GOG installation of SW.
Is this something exclusive to Linux?
I can't do anything here as I cannot reproduce this.
In any case, I'd strongly recommend not to run these games from those dirty installations - it's really better to copy the GRPs to some safer location because it massively reduces the risk of loading unwanted garbage content.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest