[Linux, Blood, Release] Segfault when entering another level

Moderator: Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Post Reply
Talon1024
 
 
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:26 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

[Linux, Blood, Release] Segfault when entering another level

Post by Talon1024 »

On some of the games I've tested with Raze, I get a segmentation fault as I enter the next level.

Duke Nukem 3D is not affected, but Blood is, and Shadow Warrior also became affected by this issue after this commit. I haven't tested NAM, and I don't have WW2GI, Redneck Rampage, or Powerslave/Exhumed.
Last edited by Talon1024 on Sun Feb 09, 2020 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [Linux] Segfaults when entering another level

Post by Graf Zahl »

Please post a crash log. I cannot investigate "a segmentation fault" with no data.
Talon1024
 
 
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:26 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Segfaults when entering another level

Post by Talon1024 »

I don't get much of a crash log. The last few lines in the terminal are:

Code: Select all

> Modern types erased: 0.
> This map *does not* provides modern features.
[1]    15605 segmentation fault (core dumped)  ~/Games/code/Raze/build/raze
This is from Blood, going from E1L1 to E1L2.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: [Linux] Segfaults when entering another level

Post by _mental_ »

Run Raze under GDB or LLDB then. Also, the function changed in that commit is called only when playing Shadow Warrior.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [Linux] Segfaults when entering another level

Post by Graf Zahl »

Going from E1M1 to E1M2 does not crash for me under Windows.
Talon1024
 
 
Posts: 373
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:26 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

Re: [Linux] Segfaults when entering another level

Post by Talon1024 »

Now that the debug build works for me, I found that I was able to proceed from E1L1 to E1L2 without issues. But, the release build crashes. This is the backtrace from GDB:

Code: Select all

#0  0x0000555555983c16 in Blood::CalcGameChecksum() ()
#1  0x000055555594a435 in Blood::ProcessFrame() ()
#2  0x000055555594acc0 in Blood::GameInterface::app_main() ()
#3  0x0000555555799996 in RunGame() ()
#4  0x000055555579ad5b in GameMain() ()
#5  0x00005555556ef992 in main ()
Cacodemon345
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:53 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

Re: [Linux, Blood, Release] Segfault when entering another l

Post by Cacodemon345 »

In which line does that happen?

This isn't very informative and useful for fixing the crash.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49053
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: [Linux, Blood, Release] Segfault when entering another l

Post by Graf Zahl »

No, it isn't. I cannot see how that code can even crash.
User avatar
mjr4077au
Posts: 829
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:17 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Contact:

Re: [Linux, Blood, Release] Segfault when entering another l

Post by mjr4077au »

I can't replicate this on the current master with an up-to-date Arch Linux. Given the age of the issue and that it pre-dates the release of 0.6.0 in April, I'll close for now but please report if it's still occurring.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Bugs [Raze]”