Page 2 of 2

Re: My custom map won't run in my PK3

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:24 pm
by vAethor
Damn, not even that worked. Here, let me put my WAD on Google Drive.

I made a backup ver. that only has the custom map without the custom sprites and sounds (the weapon I am working on would only confuse you all, and distracts from solving the actual problem :P)

I'm still able to replicate the problem without it.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1iEzXwIBpmWb012YnhuUTctSlk

Unfortunately I had to get rid of the custom music. Slade now keeps crashing whenever I try to select or play an ogg file.

Re: My custom map won't run in my PK3

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 3:14 pm
by Sarah
Yep WW was right, needed to see the whole mod. Something's a weird here.

First off, the file should be called MAPINFO, not ZMAPINFO. Slade treated the actual wad as an archive, but I think that was my rather sledgehammer use of 7zip to bust the file open and make changes without much concern for integrity. At any rate, after adding file extensions and renaming the MAPINFO, everything works fine. The corrected version is added as an attachment below.

Let me know when you have it so I can remove it, iirc attachments sit on the site server taking up space.

Your problem, as far as I can tell, was the misnamed MAPINFO, after adding my definitions, and lack of file extensions.

Edit - also, remember that a pk3 is just a renamed zip file, so you can just drag and drop the attachment on your engine flavor (G(ZDoom))

Edit2 - Attachment removed, I assume OP got it.

Re: My custom map won't run in my PK3

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:22 pm
by phantombeta
@Nero
As far as I know, ZDoom does accept "ZMAPINFO", as there's old-style Hexen MAPINFO, and the ZDoom-specific MAPINFO.
Anyway, this shouldn't matter.

@vAethor
What version of SLADE are you using?
And what OS?

Edit: The only problem was the lack of .WAD extension in the MAP01 WAD...

Re: My custom map won't run in my PK3

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:24 pm
by Graf Zahl
Nero wrote:Yep WW was right, needed to see the whole mod. Something's a weird here.

First off, the file should be called MAPINFO, not ZMAPINFO.


Actually, no. ZMAPINFO is the preferred name these days.

The only thing that was wrong here was to remove the .WAD extension from the map itself. The map loader only accepts files with a .wad extension.
Putting it into the root did not work because the extension-less file was not recognized as a sub-archive.

Re: My custom map won't run in my PK3

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:26 pm
by phantombeta
Graf Zahl wrote:The map loader only accepts files with a .wad extension.

Why is it like that? Doesn't GZDoom recognize WADs by the FourCC, anyway?

Re: My custom map won't run in my PK3

Posted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 4:33 pm
by vAethor
Great news guys, I renamed the MAP01 WAD "MAP01.wad" and it works now!

Changing ZMapinfo to Mapinfo didn't seem to be necessary.

That explains why my older project worked: MAP01 still had the .wad extension on it.