Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Postby Becc » Fri Sep 01, 2017 12:51 pm

I'm trying to replace the sky textures from vanilla Doom with ones I've put together, but I'm having trouble getting my first sky texture to work - it looks like it's squished to half its resolution.
Image

I've tried higher and lower res versions, tweaked the rendering settings and messed around with the texture lump file. I'm completely stumped. I'll post the images.

Spoiler:
User avatar
Becc
 
Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Location: Maine, USA
Discord: Rebecca #8513

Re: Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Postby ReX » Fri Sep 01, 2017 7:01 pm

I presume you're using RSKYx replacements, and not a skybox. ZDooM normally requires a 240-unit high sky to prevent unnecessary stretching. Are your skies at least that tall?
User avatar
ReX
Title? I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Postby Becc » Fri Sep 01, 2017 9:36 pm

My textures are 512px high, if that's what you're asking. Should I downsize them a bit?
User avatar
Becc
 
Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Location: Maine, USA
Discord: Rebecca #8513

Re: Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Postby ReX » Sat Sep 02, 2017 6:07 am

In the Options menu turn "Stretch Skies" off and see if it helps.

Another option is to use those graphics to create a sky-box. This ought to reduce the stretching.

Nice skies, btw.
User avatar
ReX
Title? I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Postby Becc » Sat Sep 02, 2017 1:54 pm

ReX wrote:In the Options menu turn "Stretch Skies" off and see if it helps.

Another option is to use those graphics to create a sky-box. This ought to reduce the stretching.

Nice skies, btw.


Thanks. I've tried switching Stretch Skies on and off several times and nothing changed, so I don't think that'll help. I'll see about making a custom skybox - would I be able to use the skybox as a replacement for the skies in premade Doom maps, or would the maps need to be edited to use it?
User avatar
Becc
 
Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Location: Maine, USA
Discord: Rebecca #8513

Re: Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Postby ReX » Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:12 am

Becc wrote:I'll see about making a custom skybox - would I be able to use the skybox as a replacement for the skies in premade Doom maps, or would the maps need to be edited to use it?

When you mention "premade DooM maps" are you referring to maps made by authors other than yourself? In other words, you want to be able to use the new skies with existing maps. In that case, no, you will not need to edit the existing maps. Simply create your skybox in a separate wad (or pk3), and run this file along with your map file(s).

For a skybox you will need to have the following:

1. Graphics for the 6 sides that constitute the skybox cube
2. A MAPINFO lump that identifies the map with the sky to be replaced
3. A GLDEFS lump that defines your skybox

Item 1 is usually the most challenging to create. You have created what can constitute the 4 sides of the cube. You'll still need a top and a bottom. The top can be a starry black sky. The bottom will need to be the same type of rock you currently have on the planet's surface.

If I have the time, I'll try to construct a skybox for you, based on the graphics you've provided.
User avatar
ReX
Title? I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Postby Becc » Sun Sep 03, 2017 11:39 am

I managed to do it myself!

Spoiler:


Thanks for the help (and the links) :D
User avatar
Becc
 
Joined: 21 Aug 2017
Location: Maine, USA
Discord: Rebecca #8513

Re: Replacing Doom's skies - need some help

Postby ReX » Sun Sep 03, 2017 8:33 pm

Looks beautiful (and unstretched).

I had gotten around to doing the graphic rework & was planning to do the MAPINFO & GLDEFS coding tomorrow. But I'm glad you worked things out yourself.
User avatar
ReX
Title? I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Location: Quatto's Palace


Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest