Slade being a bitch again.

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Slade being a bitch again.

Postby Graaicko » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:41 pm

Im fed up with slade, but I will not switch to another program while I'm almost done this wad. The problem at hand is I put made a animdef file and put it in my wad, but then I removed it because it had bad code in it. Now I cant even playtest my wad in doom builder because it says "Script error, "SE5.wad:ANIMDEFS" line 8:
Unknown texture PORTM2". This was a texture that was in the code for the animdef and whenever I add this texture to it and repeats the same error only saying that theres another unknown texture and this goes on after I added about 10 texture to try to not get this error. I removed the animdef from my wad so I have no idea why its still giving me this error..... so pissed.
Last edited by Graaicko on Fri Sep 01, 2017 3:25 pm, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Graaicko
I don't take requests, don't ask.
 
Joined: 18 Jun 2014
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Slade being a bitch again.

Postby Hellser » Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:26 pm

Well, before you throw Slade out the window and throw a hissy fit. Take a moment and analyze the ANIMDEFS file. It's a plain text file according to ZDoom wiki and you should be able to read it. A lot of times, the cause for these sort of problems is human error.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Slade being a bitch again.

Postby Kappes Buur » Tue Aug 29, 2017 12:12 am

Are you posting this just to vent or do you want some help?
If the latter, more info would be advisable.

Which version of Slade3 are you using?
Did you have the map open in both, Slade3 and GZDB-BF (GZDB, DB2), at the same time and saved out of order?
Uploading the map for perusal would be best. etc.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Slade being a bitch again.

Postby Graaicko » Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:56 am

Thats the thing Hellser, there was no animdef file in the wad, I deleted it after it was giving me those errors. After deleting the animdef it would still give me these errors. Its like the animdef has false texture data in it in the wad and it was permanently stuck in the wad regardless of it not being there. I had to import 89 addition textures to make it work, then I deleted the textures and now it works. Thanks for the help though. Damn this is tedious.
User avatar
Graaicko
I don't take requests, don't ask.
 
Joined: 18 Jun 2014
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Slade being a bitch again.

Postby Amuscaria » Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:05 pm

What's your wad file called? Doom builder saves a profile for every wad it edits as a .dbs, as youwadfile.dbs (where "youwadfile" is the name of the wad). If you've changed something about the wad that doesn't match the config, it can give errors and won't let you open it. For example, if you change the location of the resource files. Try deleting the .dbs file associated with your file and open the wad again in Doombuilder.
User avatar
Amuscaria
The Sentient Mushroom
 
Joined: 26 Jul 2004
Location: Growing from mycelium near you.

Re: Slade being a bitch again.

Postby Graaicko » Fri Sep 01, 2017 1:51 pm

SE5.wad. I fixed it though.
User avatar
Graaicko
I don't take requests, don't ask.
 
Joined: 18 Jun 2014
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)


Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests