Slade MAPInfo Problem

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
XASSASSINX
Posts: 361
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:53 pm
Location: MURICAA BROTHER! Just kidding, Brazil.

Slade MAPInfo Problem

Post by XASSASSINX »

Hello everyone. I didn't find this problem, so i'm posting it here. Anyways, i'm using Slade and i'm editing a mod that i found. I wanna give it custom skills. But for some reason, i keep getting this error:

Code: Select all

Script error, "Doom of the Dead.pk3:resources.wad:SKILLS" line 3:
Expected '{', got 'skill'.
I have no idea why. Here's the start of the skills code.

Code: Select all

clearskills

skill SUPEREASY 
{
 ACSReturn = 0
 TextColor = "Blue"
 DamageFactor = 0.5
 MonsterHealth = 0.3
(Cutted the rest because it's has nothing to do)
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: Slade MAPInfo Problem

Post by Nevander »

XASSASSINX wrote:(Cutted the rest because it's has nothing to do)
You'd be surprised. From the code you posted I don't see a problem (assuming the closing bracket is present later on). The only thing I can suggest is to put SUPEREASY in quotes but I don't know if that matters. If you want the best possible help, you should post the entire code.
XASSASSINX
Posts: 361
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:53 pm
Location: MURICAA BROTHER! Just kidding, Brazil.

Re: Slade MAPInfo Problem

Post by XASSASSINX »

Nevander wrote:
XASSASSINX wrote:(Cutted the rest because it's has nothing to do)
You'd be surprised. From the code you posted I don't see a problem (assuming the closing bracket is present later on). The only thing I can suggest is to put SUPEREASY in quotes but I don't know if that matters. If you want the best possible help, you should post the entire code.
Alright.

(I"m gonna post the whole entry)

Code: Select all

clearskills

skill SUPEREASY 
{
 ACSReturn = 0
 TextColor = "Blue"
 DamageFactor = 0.5
 MonsterHealth = 0.3
 EasyBossBrain
 SpawnFilter = Easy
 Name = "Super Easy"
 MustConfirm = "If you are planing to have a gameplay with no challenge involved. Go ahead."
 Key = "B"
}

skill EASY
{
 ACSReturn = 1
 Textcolor = "Red"
 DamageFactor = 0.8
 MonsterHealth = 0.5
 EasyBossBrain
 SpawnFilter = Easy
 MustConfirm = "The zombies aren't determined. Wanna continue?"
 Name = "Jelly zombies"
 Key = "J"
}

skill Medium
{
 ACSReturn = 2
 TextColor = "Red"
 DamageFactor = 1
 MonsterHealth = 0.7
 SpawnFilter = Normal
 Name = "Call 911!"
 DefaultSkill
 Key = "C"
 MustConfirm = "Be scared. Be armed with a shotgun. Wanna continue?"
}

skill Hard
{
 ACSReturn = 3
 Textcolor = "Red"
 DamageFactor = 1.5
 SpawnFilter = Hard
 Aggressiveness = 0.25
 Name = "Run for your brain!"
 Key = "R"
 MustConfirm = "From this point beyond, zombies are not more zombies. They are mutants. Wanna continue?" 
}

skill SuperHard
{
 ACSReturn = 4
 TextColor = "Black"
 DamageFactor = 2
 SpawnFilter = Nightmare
 Aggressiveness = 0.50
 MonsterHealth = 1.25
 Name = "World army necessary"
 Key = "W"
 MustConfirm = "Your weapons won't do anything. Wanna continue?"
}

skill SECRET //Hey, What you're looking at? Get out >:(
{
 ACSReturn = 5
 TextColor = "White"
 DamageFactor = 2.5
 SpawnFilter = Nightmare
 Aggressiveness = 2
 Monsterhealth = 1.50
 Name = "Hopeless" 
 key = "H"
 MustConfirm = "Just give up. Wanna continue?"
}
(Ignore the skills names, i'm just trying to make custom skills)

EDIT: I think i have an idea. There's already a "MAPINFO" Entry. I tried to make a decorate one that includes this one called "SKILLS". Maybe that has do to with something?

EDIT 2: Well, Changed it and put in the MAPINFO, It look like this now:

Code: Select all

clearepisodes
episode A1M4
name "City of the Dead"
key c

episode A1M3
name "Night of the Dead"
key n

episode A1M1
name "Mall of the Dead"
key m

episode A1M2
name "Dead downtown"
key m

map A1M2 "Day of the dead"
levelnum 1
cluster 1
music D_STALKS

map A1M3 "Night of the living Dead"
levelnum 2
cluster 1
music D_COUNTD

map A1M1 "Dawn of the dead"
levelnum 3
cluster 1
music D_BETWEE

map A1M4 "Land of the dead"
levelnum 4
cluster 1
music D_DOOM

map TITLEMAP "You shouldn't be here"
music D_STALKS

clearskills

 skill SUPEREASY 
{
 ACSReturn = 0
 TextColor = "Blue"
 DamageFactor = 0.5
 MonsterHealth = 0.3
 EasyBossBrain
 SpawnFilter = Easy
 Name = "Super Easy"
 MustConfirm = "If you are planing to have a gameplay with no challenge involved. Go ahead."
 Key = "B"
}

skill EASY
{
 ACSReturn = 1
 Textcolor = "Red"
 DamageFactor = 0.8
 MonsterHealth = 0.5
 EasyBossBrain
 SpawnFilter = Easy
 MustConfirm = "The zombies aren't determined. Wanna continue?"
 Name = "Jelly zombies"
 Key = "J"
}

skill Medium
{
 ACSReturn = 2
 TextColor = "Red"
 DamageFactor = 1
 MonsterHealth = 0.7
 SpawnFilter = Normal
 Name = "Call 911!"
 DefaultSkill
 Key = "C"
 MustConfirm = "Be scared. Be armed with a shotgun. Wanna continue?"
}

skill Hard
{
 ACSReturn = 3
 Textcolor = "Red"
 DamageFactor = 1.5
 SpawnFilter = Hard
 Aggressiveness = 0.25
 Name = "Run for your brain!"
 Key = "R"
 MustConfirm = "From this point beyond, zombies are not more zombies. They are mutants. Wanna continue?" 
}

skill SuperHard
{
 ACSReturn = 4
 TextColor = "Black"
 DamageFactor = 2
 SpawnFilter = Nightmare
 Aggressiveness = 0.50
 MonsterHealth = 1.25
 Name = "World army necessary"
 Key = "W"
 MustConfirm = "Your weapons won't do anything. Wanna continue?"
}

skill SECRET //Hey, What you're looking at? Get out >:(
{
 ACSReturn = 5
 TextColor = "White"
 DamageFactor = 2.5
 SpawnFilter = Nightmare
 Aggressiveness = 2
 Monsterhealth = 1.50
 Name = "Hopeless" 
 key = "H"
 MustConfirm = "Just give up. Wanna continue?"
}
BUT NOW I get this error:

Code: Select all

Script error, "Doom of the Dead.pk3:resources.wad:MAPINFO" line 44:
{: Unknown top level keyword
Nevander
Posts: 2254
Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:32 pm

Re: Slade MAPInfo Problem

Post by Nevander »

Looks like another case of syntax mixing. Your episodes and maps are in the old syntax while skills are part of the new syntax. You can't have both or you get errors. Convert to the new syntax and all should work.

New syntax is like this:

Code: Select all

episode A1M4
{
   name = "City of the Dead"
   key = "c"
}

...

map A1M2 "Day of the Dead"
{
   levelnum = 1
   cluster = 1
   music = "D_STALKS"
}
Skills and maps/episodes should all be in one MAPINFO lump.
XASSASSINX
Posts: 361
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:53 pm
Location: MURICAA BROTHER! Just kidding, Brazil.

Re: Slade MAPInfo Problem

Post by XASSASSINX »

Nevander wrote:Looks like another case of syntax mixing. Your episodes and maps are in the old syntax while skills are part of the new syntax. You can't have both or you get errors. Convert to the new syntax and all should work.
Ohhhhhh... That's explain all. This mod is old. I found some time ago and decided do to some modifications. Alright, I will try to convert.

EDIT: Alright, converted everthing, now it's working. Thank you!

Code: Select all

clearepisodes

episode A1M4
{
 name = "City of the Dead"
 key = "C"
}

episode A1M3
{
 name = "Night of the Dead"
 key = "N"
}

episode A1M1
{
 name = "Mall of the Dead"
 key = "M"
}

episode A1M2
{
name = "Dead downtown"
key = "D"
}

map A1M2 "Day of the dead"
{
levelnum = 1
cluster = 1
music = "D_STALKS"
}

map A1M3 "Night of the living Dead"
{
levelnum = 2
cluster = 1
music = "D_COUNTD"
}

map A1M1 "Dawn of the dead"
{
levelnum = 3
cluster = 1
music = "D_BETWEE"
}

map A1M4 "Land of the dead"
{
levelnum = 4
cluster = 1
music = "D_DOOM"
}
map TITLEMAP "You shouldn't be here"
{
music = "D_STALKS"
}

Return to “Editing (Archive)”