Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
-
- Posts: 2178
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
- Location: Southern California
Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Anyone happen to have this on hand? I've been working on something for Strife, and one of the things that has come up is the need to replace the rewards given on MAP15 when you destroy the transmitter. Thing is, the uncompiled version of STRFHELP I was working from makes no mention of the transmitter.
-
- Posts: 2274
- Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Quick Github search returns this
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49204
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Some things in Strife are hard coded. You may have to take a look at thingstoblowup.txt in ZScript, not ACS. strfhelp is mostly more generic actions.
-
- Posts: 2178
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
- Location: Southern California
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Thanks to both of you for the help!
EDIT: It doesn't actually seem to be there. It defines the Piston (opens up Programmer's Castle), Computer (opens up path to Bishop's lair) and PowerCrystal (finishes Power Station mission), but there's no mention of the transmitter on MAP15.
Right. I'll have to give that a look.Graf Zahl wrote:You may have to take a look at thingstoblowup.txt in ZScript, not ACS.
EDIT: It doesn't actually seem to be there. It defines the Piston (opens up Programmer's Castle), Computer (opens up path to Bishop's lair) and PowerCrystal (finishes Power Station mission), but there's no mention of the transmitter on MAP15.
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49204
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
The only relevant thing on MAP15 is the computer. What precisely are you talking about? Can you give the coordinates of the item you mean or make a screenshot?
-
- Posts: 2178
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
- Location: Southern California
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Whoops; it was MAP14, not MAP15, that the transmitter is on.


-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49204
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
That transmitter is the most weirdly implemented thing in the entire game. There's a specific check for the texture and upon triggering it some quest item is being handed out in the GlassBreak action special. That part had to be hard coded because it's a one-off thing in the engine. You cannot change that.
-
- Posts: 2178
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
- Location: Southern California
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Ah. Well, that sucks. Thanks for the explanation, though!
-
- Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
- Posts: 49204
- Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
- Location: Germany
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
What you may be able to do is to change that linedef's action with a compatibility.txt lump and execute an ACS script that does what you need - but you'll also have to redefine the switch for that texture to not contain the quest special.
-
- Posts: 2178
- Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 4:05 pm
- Location: Southern California
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Is there an article on the wiki that explains how to edit one? I didn't see an article in the [wiki]special lumps[/wiki] list, and I've never needed to make one before.Graf Zahl wrote:...change that linedef's action with a compatibility.txt lump...
-
- Posts: 2274
- Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Re: Uncompiled STRFHELP ACS Lump
Just going off of a hunch here but you'll need several things - GzDOOM's compatibility.txt for reference, Strife MAP14's MD5 checksum, and the line number of the Transmitter.
now this isn't the exact code, and I'm not even sure it's correct - I'll need somone more versed on the subject to confirm whether my format is correct or not:
now this isn't the exact code, and I'm not even sure it's correct - I'll need somone more versed on the subject to confirm whether my format is correct or not:
Code: Select all
<insert checksum here> // strife.wad MAP14
{
setlinespecial <line> ACS_Execute <script> <map> <arg1> <arg2> <arg3>
}