Weapon sprite offsets for statusbar

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
Locked
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Weapon sprite offsets for statusbar

Post by NightFright »

For a fullscreen statusbar, I am trying to realign all weapon sprites so they are not hidden behind the statusbar image so much.

I am currently trying to achieve this via textures lump and redefining all weapon sprites with offset values. Needless to say, this is quite bothersome since it needs to be done for each and every weapon sprite. Besides that, it is not very mod friendly since whenever sprites with different names or measurements are used, the whole patch won't work.

Is there a general way to tell (G)ZDoom to draw weapon sprites higher?
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Weapon sprite offsets for statusbar

Post by ramon.dexter »

You need this: Weapon.YAdjust in weapon's properties. Read the reference on zdoom wiki.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Weapon sprite offsets for statusbar

Post by NightFright »

Ahaaaa! So the way to go is decorate, working with actor copies and this command, I guess?
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Weapon sprite offsets for statusbar

Post by ramon.dexter »

Well, read about inheritancies, if you want to mod stock weapons.

What are you trying to achieve?
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Weapon sprite offsets for statusbar

Post by NightFright »

Basically a transparent fullscreen statusbar with the weapons having the same offsets as the ones for the standard statusbar. I already found that for Doom, the sprites have to be moved up by 11 pixels in fullscreen mode to stay in the same position.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
Posts: 1529
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:50 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia

Re: Weapon sprite offsets for statusbar

Post by ramon.dexter »

Dont do it,because there would be empty space under the weapon.. You know, the stock statusbar is not transparent.
User avatar
NightFright
Spotlight Team
Posts: 1343
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 12:29 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Weapon sprite offsets for statusbar

Post by NightFright »

I am actually aware of this problem. However, I am doing this for Doom stock weapons. Revenant100's Sprite Fixing Project adds support for this function, and I am specifically designing it for that. What I want to create wouldn't be something you would want to place into autoload, anyway.

Anyway, I put code like this into DECORATE and it doesn't show any effect ingame:

Code: Select all

ACTOR PistolOffset : Pistol replaces Pistol
{
	Weapon.YAdjust -11
}
Does it need to be done differently?
Locked

Return to “Editing (Archive)”