Heightmap

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed May 18, 2005 3:04 pm

I uploaded a revised tutorial with a heightmap which is way simpler.

In the previous tutorial I included some transition areas to climb from one tier to the next of a small mountain.
And these transition areas made the heightmap look rather cluttered, therefore the revision.

http://rapidshare.de/files/1839315/heightmap.zip

If you used this tutorial, please, let me know if you found it helpful.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Postby ReX » Wed May 18, 2005 3:37 pm

Lexus Alyus wrote:From what i've seen, the terrain generator is very impressive.

:twisted:

Agreed.

Initially I had some problems because neither my map editor nor ZenNode would build the nodes. Nigel pointed me to DeepSea's node builder. I used deepbsp from DeepSea v12.06 and it built the nodes in a snap.

Kappes Buur wrote:I uploaded a revised tutorial with a heightmap which is way simpler..... If you used this tutorial, please, let me know if you found it helpful.

Thanks for the revision. Feedback shall follow.
User avatar
ReX
Title? I don't need no steenkin' title!
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2003
Location: Quatto's Palace

Postby Your Name Is » Wed May 18, 2005 3:46 pm

Isn't this what the ZTerrain is for?

EDIT: Nevermind, beaten to the punch
User avatar
Your Name Is
Wake up and smell the ashes.
 
Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: Heightmap

Postby WARCHILD_89 » Tue Oct 27, 2015 5:41 am

so there are two ways, the simple one would be to have a version of Zterrain that runs on newer Windows versions (Windows 7 and newer), or the other ways would be to collect a zip file of useful standard prefabs for Doombuilder...
User avatar
WARCHILD_89
DOOM NEMESIS / 3D MODELS / RESOURCE BACKUPS
 
Joined: 17 Nov 2013
Location: MIA between doomed dimensions

Re: Heightmap

Postby Kappes Buur » Tue Oct 27, 2015 12:51 pm

As far as I know, Grubber's ZTerrain is the only way to construct maps incorporating heightmaps.
They can look okay depending on the image for the heightmap used http://imgur.com/a/JruU9

In combination with the View Height plugin it is relatively easy to find flat areas
Spoiler:

to place monsters, weapons, etc.

There had been an attempt by bagheadspidey to develop a Terrain editor, but, alas, it
never was finished.

Using GZDoom and GZDoom BUilder there is now a better alternative to build terrain with Blender
when exported as wavefront objects
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=32392&p=799815#p799815
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Heightmap

Postby Nash » Tue Oct 27, 2015 3:30 pm

ZTerrain is super obsolete by now. You can make heightmapped terrain inside Blender and the OBJ importer in GZDoom Builder uses vertex heights in UDMF which is the latest and best way to do sloped terrain in ZDoom.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Heightmap

Postby Kappes Buur » Tue Oct 27, 2015 5:11 pm

Knowing that there is a better way than ZTerrain is one thing, and knowing how to do it in Blender is another.
While I have Blender sitting on my harddrive and have done some minimal stuff, I am still struggling to do something useful. :(

Could somebody do a tutorial, or point to a tutorial, how the terrain is done in Blender and then exported/imported into
GZDoom (UDMF) with GZDoom Builder?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Heightmap

Postby Zanieon » Tue Oct 27, 2015 5:16 pm

You actually don't even need use Blender to do heightmaps, Nem's Terrain Generator can do the trick and export the terrain as obj.

As for GZDB terrain import/export, i didn't used it yet to know how it works.
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177
Twitch ID: Zanieon
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Heightmap

Postby Apothem » Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:22 pm

I've seen this implemented previous a long long time ago back when I first joined here. Someone had made a conversion program to do this for a way older version of ZDoom. May need to search the forums for a bit. I tried with no luck, but I know I've seen this done before.
User avatar
Apothem
ACS scripting makes my head go BooM!
 
Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Location: Performing open heart surgery on an ACS compiler.

Previous

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests