Heightmap

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Postby farlowj » Mon Dec 27, 2004 10:48 pm

Is there a way to randomly assign a height to a thing via ACS before level startup, then the terrain would be completely random every time the map is loaded. I just wondered...
farlowj
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Location: Michigan

Postby MasterOFDeath » Mon Dec 27, 2004 10:50 pm

Best I can think of is using spawnspot or Thing_Spawn and making the Z height random or something.
User avatar
MasterOFDeath
professional lurking witch
... in loving memory ...
 
Joined: 03 Apr 2004

Postby Bio Hazard » Mon Dec 27, 2004 10:55 pm

but slopes are calculated at runtime so it probably wouldnt work
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby BetaSword » Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:33 pm

Nice, I must say. My opinion? Smaller triangles, so that the hills are more smooth. Other than that... I like it.
User avatar
BetaSword
Riding my Colossus
 
Joined: 02 Jul 2004
Location: Doing some stuff.

Postby farlowj » Mon Dec 27, 2004 11:45 pm

Updated map, go get it on page 2. I cleaned up, a lot. Now you can copy/paste real easy. I made 4 areas to copy paste, anymore, and you have to add some. Be careful adding too many, as you might run out of lineID numbers. (It only goes to 255, right?) Anyway, with all four areas it takes 197 lineID numbers. Enjoy.
farlowj
If at first you don't succeed, skydiving is not for you.
 
Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Location: Michigan

Postby killingblair » Tue Dec 28, 2004 12:31 am

MasterOFDeath wrote:Hey... is this ZDoom 1.23 compatable? If it is, I can use this in MoDDM3! ;) :D
zdaemon and zdoom are not far apart, i mean HELLZ YEAH!!!
killingblair
 
Joined: 04 Oct 2004

Postby TheDarkArchon » Tue Dec 28, 2004 5:35 am

Not too far? dude they are MILES apart. ZDaemon is based on an ancient version of ZDoom and so it misses out on DECORATE, the new texture system, Strife support, Heretic support, Hexen support, many ACS additions.....
User avatar
TheDarkArchon
OUT!
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2004
Location: Some cold place

Postby killingblair » Tue Dec 28, 2004 11:36 am

I take back what i said, but the height map works
killingblair
 
Joined: 04 Oct 2004

Postby David Ferstat » Tue Dec 28, 2004 1:25 pm

I've just loaded up the revised sample map on page 2, and I'm seriously impressed. That's some really good looking terrain there.
User avatar
David Ferstat
Oh dear, I think you'll find reality is on the blink again.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Postby killingblair » Tue Dec 28, 2004 2:39 pm

I agree, and it looks like hard work went into it, good job farlowj :)
killingblair
 
Joined: 04 Oct 2004

Postby HotWax » Tue Dec 28, 2004 6:36 pm

Erm... I thought 1.23 didn't have slopes... how could this possibly work with ZDaemon??
User avatar
HotWax
Do what you must, and pay the price later.
 
Joined: 18 Jul 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Postby Bio Hazard » Tue Dec 28, 2004 7:40 pm

1.23 does have slopes. just no slope things
User avatar
Bio Hazard
Lord of the Lord of Nitpicking.
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2003
Location: ferret ~/C/ZDL $

Postby Agent ME » Wed Dec 29, 2004 11:42 pm

farlowj wrote:Is there a way to randomly assign a height to a thing via ACS before level startup, then the terrain would be completely random every time the map is loaded. I just wondered...

That gives me an idea....

To the general section for a [Feature Request]!
User avatar
Agent ME
Title Not Found
 
Joined: 22 Mar 2004
Location: California, USA
Discord: Macil#5633
Twitch ID: macil_tech
Github ID: Macil

Postby Tormentor667 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:47 pm

Heightmap? Can someone explain to me what it is?!
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Giest118 » Sun Jan 02, 2005 1:59 pm

farlowj, two pages back, wrote:As far as I know, a heightmap takes a grayscale bitmap and makes a 3d like model of it. White is higher areas, black is lower. So you don't have true 3d (which is why I'm asking if it can be done in ZDoom) but you have the map split into triangles to make hills and stuff. If you have played any new games, they have heightmaps. FarCry, probably Doom3 in the outdoor parts, UT2004, and others. It makes it easier to make realistic outdoor environements without drawing every triangle by hand.
User avatar
Giest118
I don't trust people who trust me. Because they're stoned.
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2003

PreviousNext

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests