GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Rachael » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:46 am

Zan wrote:I basically want a nice slope terrain-like on the sides of the cave tunnel. If someone could point me to any up to date tutorials I'd be grateful.

I don't know if I can point you to any tutorials but I can tell you what I do.

If I am working in UDMF mode, I just create a bunch of triangles and then go into 3D mode. You will see little blue boxes that you can click on, and when you shift your mouse wheel up and down they move in that direction - creating slopes.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Accensus » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:47 am

If triangles don't appear, smash Tab (GZDoom effects). (Gently pressing it could also do the trick.)
User avatar
Accensus
Vector, locked in.
 
Joined: 11 Feb 2016
Location: Somalia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Zan » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:47 am

Eruanna wrote:
Zan wrote:I basically want a nice slope terrain-like on the sides of the cave tunnel. If someone could point me to any up to date tutorials I'd be grateful.

I don't know if I can point you to any tutorials but I can tell you what I do.

If I am working in UDMF mode, I just create a bunch of triangles and then go into 3D mode. You will see little blue boxes that you can click on, and when you shift your mouse wheel up and down they move in that direction - creating slopes.

Holy sh-
Thanks!
User avatar
Zan
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2016
Location: The depths of Hedon.
Discord: Zan#0149

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Rachael » Mon Dec 26, 2016 9:53 am

Zan wrote:Holy sh-
Thanks!

You're welcome. :)
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby camaxide » Mon Dec 26, 2016 10:13 am

I'm still sticking with the "old" editor before the texture browser change as it works perfect for me. But also check the new versions coming out.
I have a comment on the newest version:
before - the used textures would still show in the "full" pack where as now it removes the texture from the full list and places it only at the top.
So if you have used "metal1" and "metal4" then those are found on top while when browsing through all the textures you will find "metal2", "metal3" and "metal5" in the list when scrolling down with the used textures "missing" as they are not "copied" to the top used list - but rather moved there instead. Is this intended?
The regular behaviour was that "metal1" and "metal4" would be placed at top, but all the metal1-5 would still be found down in the texture browser weather they were used or not.
User avatar
camaxide
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2015

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby MaxED » Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:24 am

camaxide wrote:Is this intended?
Yes.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Nevander » Mon Dec 26, 2016 11:29 am

MaxED wrote:
camaxide wrote:Is this intended?
Yes.

I suppose it makes sense. Why would you need to see them twice, if you could just move the texture to the used list and not have to relist it again? I also suppose it could potentially get confusing when you're looking for a texture at the bottom of the list and can't find it, forgetting it was used already.
Nevander
Self-Banned User
 
Joined: 07 Jan 2014

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby printz » Mon Dec 26, 2016 1:04 pm

MaxED wrote:Meanwhile, this happened.

Thanks a lot for that! So glad it happened. What I'm gonna push for: cross-platform code (to help making it work on Mac and such) and Eternity stuff (my favourite port :) ). Srsly, with Microsoft's newly discovered affinity for cross-platform, I'm hopeful.
User avatar
printz
Eternity and AutoDoom programmer
 
Joined: 26 Oct 2006
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Github ID: ioan-chera
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:14 pm

Lately I am seeing quite a few errors.
For example, I load map10 of Stronghold:

Spoiler:

and get 189 errors

Spoiler:


What's up with that?
Am I doing something wrong or missing something ?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby MaxED » Mon Dec 26, 2016 3:33 pm

1. Git builds of GZDoom no longer contain DECORATE actor definitions.
2. ZScript parsing is not yet added to GZDB.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Dec 26, 2016 4:09 pm

MaxED wrote:1. Git builds of GZDoom no longer contain DECORATE actor definitions.
2. ZScript parsing is not yet added to GZDB.


Oh, reverting to older build.
Thank you.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Nash » Mon Dec 26, 2016 5:41 pm

MaxED wrote:Meanwhile, this happened.


Thank you Max for your continuous amazing work! =D This will finally give me the push to learn C# for real...

(Oh, you should put a bit fat link to the Github in the OP)
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Talon1024 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:23 am

MaxED wrote:1. Git builds of GZDoom no longer contain DECORATE actor definitions.
2. ZScript parsing is not yet added to GZDB.

In the meantime, here's a temporary workaround. I got the files by checking out the wadsrc/static directory from an old GZDoom commit. Load gzdecorate.pk3 before or after gzdoom.pk3.
Talon1024
 
 
 
Joined: 28 Jun 2016
Github ID: Talon1024
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby MaxED » Tue Dec 27, 2016 8:11 am

Xaser wrote:Being able to snap vertices to 1/2 or 1/4 of a unit would probably save my bacon here.
Your bacon is probably safe now.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 2.3

Postby Kappes Buur » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:44 am

Talon1024 wrote:
MaxED wrote:1. Git builds of GZDoom no longer contain DECORATE actor definitions.
2. ZScript parsing is not yet added to GZDB.

In the meantime, here's a temporary workaround. I got the files by checking out the wadsrc/static directory from an old GZDoom commit. Load gzdecorate.pk3 before or after gzdoom.pk3.


I've just been using this with the latest GZDoom, works like a charm.
Thank you.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest