GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12d: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Siberian Tiger » Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:46 am

MaxED wrote:Doom Builder 2 is written in C# (which is a programming language developed by Microsoft) and uses DirectX for 3D rendering (which happens to be also developed by Microsoft). I know about Mono, but I don't think porting Doom Builder 2 to Mono + OpenGL will be an easy task (waaay to many differences).


You are correct, but there is always possibilities! :)
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Siberian Tigers Rule All~!!!
 
Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Github ID: SibTiger
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12d: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:33 am

Siberian_Tiger wrote:You are correct, but there is always possibilities! :)

Surely there are. But it will require complete UI rewrite, among other things, because Mono UI components are based on GTK, and they can't be easily swapped with C# ones (and there's A LOT of UI classes in Doom Builder 2). And I don't have Mac OS or Linux and never used them. And I definitely don't want to maintain two quite different branches of GZDB.

In short words: it's doable, just not by me.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12d: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby smoke_th » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:28 am

MaxED wrote:
Siberian_Tiger wrote:You are correct, but there is always possibilities! :)

Surely there are. But it will require complete UI rewrite, among other things, because Mono UI components are based on GTK, and they can't be easily swapped with C# ones (and there's A LOT of UI classes in Doom Builder 2). And I don't have Mac OS or Linux and never used them. And I definitely don't want to maintain two quite different branches of GZDB.

In short words: it's doable, just not by me.

Or, you can just move it onto mono and opengl+gtk and start maintaining as it is basically Creating yourself 1 different branch of ZDB which multiplatform and ready to be launched on any system which can maintain gtk+mono+opengl. Detaching it onto cross-platform libraries will pay off, if you'll start taking donations to example.
But hey - its freeware from what i care, so technically its only your altruism fueling this good project at the moment.
I just wish you'll keep it up.
User avatar
smoke_th
 
Joined: 29 Jul 2011

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Tue Aug 14, 2012 10:42 am

I'd rather MXD just do what he does best and that is just maintaing whatever it is that's available now (GZDB for Windows), than forcing him to work on something he's not familiar with and risk him getting frustrated... :D
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Siberian Tiger » Tue Aug 14, 2012 2:58 pm

MaxED wrote:Surely there are. But it will require complete UI rewrite, among other things, because Mono UI components are based on GTK, and they can't be easily swapped with C# ones (and there's A LOT of UI classes in Doom Builder 2).


I can't deny that this wont be an easy task.

MaxED wrote:And I don't have Mac OS or Linux and never used them. And I definitely don't want to maintain two quite different branches of GZDB.

In short words: it's doable, just not by me.


I've never really said that you should build the new branch project; but, if someone is willing to get their hands dirty and get KDiCode - then great! I didn't really want my original comment to be a debate on who specifically should make this overhaul task, but merely a wish that someone would. I can't really stress this enough, Doom Builder 2 and even GZDoom Builder is one of the most powerful and frequently used level editors! It would be great to expand these powerful tools on multiple platforms instead of just one platform. ;)
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Siberian Tigers Rule All~!!!
 
Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Github ID: SibTiger
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12d: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Nash » Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:29 pm

MaxED wrote:
Nash wrote:Oh, if that is the case, then it's alright. I imagine it's not an easy fix?

Fixed in 1.12e.


This also fixed a bug where I used to not be able to align 3-d floor textures with my arrow keys... now I could do it easily. THANK YOU!!!
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Jimmy » Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:34 am

This basically my map editor of choice now. I'm using as many of the GZDoom features as I can with this thing and I'm loving it. :)

I'm also using it for Boom mapping, though - and a problem arises when trying to align sidedef textures. All linedefs are inevitably set to [0, 0] because this GZDB2 aligns textures by the offsets in their UDMF fields, which of course don't exist in Boom format.

Any chance this could be addressed?
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:43 am

Jimmy wrote:I'm also using it for Boom mapping, though - and a problem arises when trying to align sidedef textures. All linedefs are inevitably set to [0, 0] because this GZDB2 aligns textures by the offsets in their UDMF fields, which of course don't exist in Boom format.

Any chance this could be addressed?


Align them in Visual mode (W key by default), not in GZDoom Visual Mode (Q key by default)
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Jimmy » Wed Aug 15, 2012 11:46 am

Oh. That makes sense. :P (I've been using GZDoom visual mode for everything.)

Thanks. :D
User avatar
Jimmy
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby NeuralStunner » Wed Aug 15, 2012 12:49 pm

Just checking in on the current state of TEXTURES support. I'm glad /Textures are now valid as patches! Unfortunately TEXTURES composites are not yet usable as patches.

Just to check, will GZDB display \HiRes replacements? Another consideration. ;)

Also, full TEXTURES feature support might be tricky, but it would be very appreciated. In particular: Patch translucency (additive too), translation, rotation/flipping, and color blending.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Sergeant_Mark_IV » Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:54 pm

I'm having some random crashes in Linedef editing mode in my map. Sometimes after I draw something, the program just stops responding, and I am obligated to close it. After I open the map again, I can do the same function that crashed it previously without any problems, but after 5 minutes, it causes another random crash. Never happens on Visual Mode or Thing Editing mode.


Using 1.12 version.

My System specs:
Intel i3 2120, 4GB RAM DDR3.

Map Statistics:
Vertices 11167
Linedefs 13330
Sidedefs 24762
Sectors 2325
Things 1763

Map Analysis Mode returns no errors.
User avatar
Sergeant_Mark_IV
Worse than Hitler.
Banned User
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2011
Location: United Communist Nazi Republic Dictactorship of Banana Land (Brazil)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:20 am

Does this also happen in Doom Builder 2? And if it doesn't, can you send me your map for testing?..
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12e: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Sergeant_Mark_IV » Mon Aug 27, 2012 5:16 pm

No. The crash doesn't happens in DB2. I'm sending the map for you via PM.
User avatar
Sergeant_Mark_IV
Worse than Hitler.
Banned User
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2011
Location: United Communist Nazi Republic Dictactorship of Banana Land (Brazil)

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12f: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Sep 01, 2012 12:42 am

I would like to request a feature (button or hotkey) which allows the editing window, once it is set, to be locked in place, so that it cannot be resized or paned.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: GZDoom Builder 1.12f: GZDoom features in Doom Builder 2

Postby MaxED » Sat Sep 01, 2012 7:47 am

Can you describe a situation, when such feature will be usefull?
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

PreviousNext

Return to Abandoned/Dead Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 0 guests