GZDoom Builder 2.3

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

GZDoom Builder 2.3

Post by MaxED »

Image

GZDoom Builder 2.3. Based on Doom Builder 2 SVN rev. 1604.
GZDoom Builder is a fork of Doom Builder 2, started in march 2012. The aim of this project is to support more features from modern-day doom engines (namely, ZDoom, GZDoom and Zandronum) and add more editing tools to make map creation faster and simpler.

Features:
Spoiler:
Changelog:
See Changelog.txt in the program directory.

Required software:
Notice: these components are installed automatically when using GZDoom Builder installer.
Notice: alternatively, you can grab them as a single archive from DRD Team.
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86) (required only by the Nodes Viewer plugin).
Microsoft .Net Framework 3.5. Notice: if you already have .Net Framework 4.0 or later installed, you'll still need to install 3.5 version, because newer versions are not backwards compatible with it!
DirectX 9.0 Runtime. Notice: required even if you already have DirectX 10, 11 or 12 installed.

System requirements:
• 2.4 GHz CPU or faster (multi-core recommended).
• Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 or 10.
• Graphics card with Pixel Shader model 2.0 support.

If the manual doesn't work (Windows Vista / 7 / 8 / 10):
Spoiler:
Known issues:
Incorrect UV-mapping on some of MD2 models.

Other stuff which may interest you:
TEXTURES Creator
Simple Quake Launcher - a ZDL-inspired map launcher for Quake.

Download:
Download GZDoom Builder 2.3 Installer (includes required prerequisites)
Download the latest SVN build from DRD Team

Source:
GZDoom Builder at GitHub
Last edited by MaxED on Tue Dec 27, 2016 2:27 am, edited 125 times in total.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17326
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Nash »

HOLY CRAP DOWNLOADING

EDIT:

is it safe for me to just dump this into my current Doom Builder 2 r1489 folder and start using it right away? Or is there anything I need to be aware of?
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by MaxED »

Well, original Builder.exe will be overwritten with mine and game configurations (especially "Includes" folder) may be messed up. Other than that it should be fine :)
User avatar
Xtyfe
Posts: 1470
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:29 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Xtyfe »

Instead of making a fork, why not help codeimp improve his gzdoom plugin?
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by MaxED »

Xtyfe wrote:Instead of making a fork, why not help codeimp improve his gzdoom plugin?
That was my first thought. But after looking through code, I did't find a way to do that in a plugin (because I don't think Doom Builder's core classes like Render2D/3D or WorldVertex, or shader related ones can be changed/overriden by plugin).
Besides, there isn't much activity in Doom Builder 2 development now.
User avatar
Xtyfe
Posts: 1470
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:29 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Xtyfe »

MaxED wrote:
Xtyfe wrote:Instead of making a fork, why not help codeimp improve his gzdoom plugin?
That was my first thought. But after looking through code, I did't find a way to do that in a plugin (because I don't think Doom Builder's core classes like Render2D/3D or WorldVertex, or shader related ones can be changed/overriden by plugin).
Besides, there isn't much activity in Doom Builder 2 development now.
I see, well i'm happy either way that you have taken this over :wub:
User avatar
Sergeant_Mark_IV
Posts: 812
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:44 pm
Location: United Communist Nazi Republic Dictactorship of Banana Land (Brazil)

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Sergeant_Mark_IV »

Can it render 3D floors and slopes in 3D view mode?
Blue Shadow
Posts: 4908
Joined: Sun Nov 14, 2010 12:59 am
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Blue Shadow »

Sergeant_Mark_IV wrote:Can it render 3D floors and slopes in 3D view mode?
The official Doom Builder 2 already can do that with its GZDoom Visual Mode plugin.
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by MaxED »

Sergeant_Mark_IV wrote:Can it render 3D floors and slopes in 3D view mode?
It uses the same GZDoom Visual mode plugin as Doom Builder 2, so yes, it can. Currently 3D floors aren't affected by dynamic lights though.
User avatar
Agentbromsnor
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:27 am

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Agentbromsnor »

Dude, if this works the way I hope it does I f'ing love it! :D Downloading ASAP!

I've always thought it would be awesome to implement Worldcraft-like features into Doom Builder.

Edit: never mind, the program crashes immediately at startup. :C ("GZDoom Builder has stopped working") Glad I didn't overwrite my old Doom Builder for this. :P
User avatar
Mikk-
Posts: 2272
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Mikk- »

Have you downloaded the .NET & SlimDX frameworks? [I can't remember which ones, though]
User avatar
Agentbromsnor
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:27 am

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Agentbromsnor »

I think I have .NET installed, not sure though. Can you provide me with a link? I still have GZBuilder on my desktop so I can try again.
User avatar
MaxED
Posts: 2246
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by MaxED »

Agentbromsnor wrote:I think I have .NET installed, not sure though. Can you provide me with a link? I still have GZBuilder on my desktop so I can try again.
There are setup files for .Net Framework 3.5 and SlimDX 2.0 in "GZDoomBuilder 1.0\Setup\" folder
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17326
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Nash »

Works great so far, and I was about to report that the dynamic lights don't work on 3-d floor sectors, but it looks like you are aware of the issue. Hope this gets fixed.

Also looking forward to dynamic lights from DECORATE actors/GLDEFS.

Any plans for coloured fog support?

This editor is amazing. Thumbs up. :D
User avatar
Agentbromsnor
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Mar 28, 2012 2:27 am

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Post by Agentbromsnor »

MaxED wrote:
Agentbromsnor wrote:I think I have .NET installed, not sure though. Can you provide me with a link? I still have GZBuilder on my desktop so I can try again.
There are setup files for .Net Framework 3.5 and SlimDX 2.0 in "GZDoomBuilder 1.0\Setup\" folder
I installed both of them and its still crashing upon startup...

Return to “Abandoned/Dead Projects”