USDF branch question

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

USDF branch question

Postby Nash » Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:03 am

Hey I've been a little left behind with this new USDF stuff. Is the work being done to the USDF branch for the purpose of eventually allowing modders to create Strife conversations without having to precompile anything?
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Gez » Wed Aug 18, 2010 2:13 am

Exactly.

Well, that, and extending the capabilities of conversations greatly.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Nash » Wed Aug 18, 2010 5:51 am

Cool. Will it be able to reference ACS variables/global variables, like SBARINFO can? The whole "use dummy quest items to check for conditions" system has always bothered me.

How about expressions? For example, a dialog that displays something to the effect of

Code: Select allExpand view
"You have ", $gold, " coins. What would you like to buy?"


Bad example of syntax, but what $gold is - for example - a variable/global variable, or maybe the amount of a certain inventory item... or something.

And how about dynamic strings?

Code: Select allExpand view
"Hello ", $name, ". How are you?"
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:31 am

Nash wrote:Cool. Will it be able to reference ACS variables/global variables, like SBARINFO can? The whole "use dummy quest items to check for conditions" system has always bothered me.



No. The condition stuff is mostly unchanged. The reason for this is that I added a Thing_SetConversation action special that allows moving the condition checking to a place that's better suited for it, namely the ACS scripts themselves.

Nash wrote:And how about dynamic strings?

Code: Select allExpand view
"Hello ", $name, ". How are you?"


Not yet, maybe later.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Nash » Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:20 am

So this has been merged into the main trunk now which means it's already usable, correct? Any documentation?
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Blzut3 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 4:08 am

Here's the base spec, and here's the spec for ZDoom's enhancements.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Nash » Sat Aug 21, 2010 7:25 am

Not sure if I'm still getting it... so all I have to do is create a text lump named DIALOG01 for MAP01, DIALOG02 for MAP02... etc?

EDIT: Another question. What is include meant to be used for? Would it allow - for example - the same conversations to be reused across several maps? For example, let's say I want to reuse all of the conversations of MAP01 in MAP02 as well. Instead of creating the same copy for MAP02, I can just include MAP01's conversations in MAP02. If I edit the conversations in MAP01, MAP02 will be affected as well. Is this the intended usage?
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Blzut3 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 12:27 pm

Yes you can use the include parameter for that. The binary format automatically included SCRIPT00, USDF only does it if you explicitly tell it to.

USDF should be placed in DIALOGxy if you are using Hexen or Doom format maps, otherwise it should go into the DIALOGUE lump for a UDMF map.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: USDF branch question

Postby CodeImp » Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:19 pm

I think I'm going to make a plugin for DB to support this as soon as ZDoom has this. Maybe even sooner :P
User avatar
CodeImp
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2003
Location: Netherlands

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Nash » Sat Aug 21, 2010 1:43 pm

Thanks for your response, Blzut. Will there be visual editors for USDF? I don't mind typing out the UDSF scripts manually but sooner or later, as things get larger, it's going to get kinda difficult to manage...
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Nash » Sat Aug 21, 2010 5:59 pm

This doesn't seem to work. D: I'm using ZDoom r2562. What have I done wrong here?
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Ceeb » Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:14 pm

I'll check it out. GIve me a few, Nash.

Edit:

Hey this isn't compiled.
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Nash » Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:20 pm

That's the whole point of r2561, right? No more compiling necessary.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Ceeb » Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:21 pm

I dunno. I'm using gzdoom r901 and the zombieman can't be spoken with...
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: USDF branch question

Postby Nash » Sat Aug 21, 2010 6:28 pm

Pretty sure the reason the USDF parser was integrated into ZDoom is so that you don't have to compile anything anymore. Either I'm not putting the DIALOGUE lump in the correct position in the WAD, or the parser isn't really functional yet. I'll just wait for Graf's response.
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Next

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests