The "How do I..." Thread

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Starcatcher Xero » Sun May 24, 2009 10:59 pm

I'm messing around with the max health the player can have during the game. The problem is that the face sprites on the status bar are changing with the max health percentage. For example, I want the player's max health to be, say, 400%. So, when you start the game with 100% health, the sprite on the status bar shows the face representing 25% or less. How do I keep the face sprites from changing their scale when I change the max health parameter?
User avatar
Starcatcher Xero
Bankorok, Santak, Xel'lotath
 
Joined: 05 May 2009
Location: Prometheus, F-Ring, Saturn, Solar System, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Henderick » Sun May 31, 2009 9:49 pm

Is it possible to increase the Painchance of a monster during the game? (For example Painchance was 1 and if 200 Health left it should increase to 256)
Henderick
Hmm......
 
Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Location: Germany

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby FuzzballFox » Thu Jun 04, 2009 9:59 am

I wish to make a door that opens quickly, however by using the Generic_Door no matter how fast you set the door to open (I have it set to 55) it still uses the default sounds for a slower door...how would I set the door to use the quicker opening sounds?
User avatar
FuzzballFox
アシレーヌ!! (´▽`)ノ♪
 
Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Location: Hampshire UK

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Remmirath » Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:48 am

Set the speed to 64.
User avatar
Remmirath
Slowest mapper on Earth
 
Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Location: My house
Discord: Remmirath#0424
Twitch ID: TheRemmirath
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Xim » Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:11 pm

Henderick wrote:Is it possible to increase the Painchance of a monster during the game? (For example Painchance was 1 and if 200 Health left it should increase to 256)


Probably have the actor have 200 less health you want it have with pain chance 1. Then in the death state only have it spawn a new actor identical actor but with 200 health and 256 pain chance.
User avatar
Xim
 
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
Location: Somewhere with trees

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby FuzzballFox » Thu Jun 04, 2009 12:19 pm

Morpheus wrote:Set the speed to 64.

That's all? D:>
D'oh...XD Thanks
User avatar
FuzzballFox
アシレーヌ!! (´▽`)ノ♪
 
Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Location: Hampshire UK

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Henderick » Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:04 am

Probably have the actor have 200 less health you want it have with pain chance 1. Then in the death state only have it spawn a new actor identical actor but with 200 health and 256 pain chance.


Hmm, kay this is a way, thanks.
But I wish I could use the wound state for it, sadly it doesn't looking for enemies after their current targets are dead, except players.
Henderick
Hmm......
 
Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Location: Germany

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby theDooMguy47 » Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:37 pm

Starcatcher Xero wrote:I'm messing around with the max health the player can have during the game. The problem is that the face sprites on the status bar are changing with the max health percentage. For example, I want the player's max health to be, say, 400%. So, when you start the game with 100% health, the sprite on the status bar shows the face representing 25% or less. How do I keep the face sprites from changing their scale when I change the max health parameter?

I believe I remember playing a wad on zdaemon that let you have up to 999 health, but the status bar faces remained at the normal values. Given this, it should work if you change the player's health via dehacked.
Hmm. Guess dehacked does have a purpose every now and then :P
User avatar
theDooMguy47
Are you threatening me!?
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2009
Location: Lake Titicaca, Nicaragua

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Starcatcher Xero » Fri Jun 12, 2009 3:11 pm

theDooMguy47 wrote:it should work if you change the player's health via dehacked.

D'oh! I already do. Observe, the miscellaneous block:

Code: Select allExpand view
Misc 0
Initial Bullets = 96
Max Health = 500
Max Armor = 500
Blue Armor Class = 5
Max Soulsphere = 500
Soulsphere Health = 50
IDFA Armor = 500
IDFA Armor Class = 5
IDKFA Armor = 500
IDKFA Armor Class = 5
BFG Cells/Shot = 50


Now what? :(
User avatar
Starcatcher Xero
Bankorok, Santak, Xel'lotath
 
Joined: 05 May 2009
Location: Prometheus, F-Ring, Saturn, Solar System, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby udderdude » Sun Jun 14, 2009 12:40 pm

Had an idea for a zDoom monster that eats other, lesser enemy corpse and becomes stronger by doing so. Is this at all possible?
User avatar
udderdude
Resident Wonk
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2003
Location: Toronto, ON

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Ryan Cordell » Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:09 pm

If I'm not mistaken in regards to monsters being able to use inventory items themselves (or that they can store them, like armor), then I think it would be. Try it out.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Xaser » Sun Jun 14, 2009 11:37 pm

udderdude wrote:Had an idea for a zDoom monster that eats other, lesser enemy corpse and becomes stronger by doing so. Is this at all possible?


Hmm, you'd have to control this very carefully (i.e. don't let it around normal monsters because it would revive them) but here's a setup I have in mind for doing this:

Have the hungry monster use A_VileChase (or A_Chase with flag 8 set) and use the Heal states for the eating animation (in which an inventory item is given to the monster which triggers its more powerful state). Meanwhile, the corpses to be eaten have their Raise states set to a custom "being eaten" animation, after which the actor is removed (Stop). That's a simple way of doing it, in a limited environment.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby ztrack » Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:53 pm

I'm trying to spawn a random Heretic artifact in a Heretic environment using Thing_Spawn. I was thinking of making an array of thingids, one for each item, making a random variable the size of the array, then calling a function that selects from the array during the Thing_Spawn activation. In practice, it just spawns an Undead Warrior at the MapSpot. Is there a better way to accomplish this?

Code: Select allExpand view
 int id[15] = {14, 18, 24, 25, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 72, 73, 133, 134, 135, 136};
 function int RandomDrop (void)
 {
  int x = Random(1, 15);
  return id[x];
 }

 script 5 (void)
 {
  int y = RandomDrop();
  Thing_Spawn(const:9, "y", 128, 128);
 }


Also, I'm having an issue compiling a StrifeDialog script: A F_GetPath error saying the path is invalid. Does anyone have any advice for this as well?
Last edited by ztrack on Mon Jun 22, 2009 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ztrack
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2009

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Henderick » Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:49 pm

How do I make more gibs?
Henderick
Hmm......
 
Joined: 08 Mar 2009
Location: Germany

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Recurracy » Mon Jun 22, 2009 7:40 am

I asked this on skulltag yesterday but the mods disapproved of this because 'it was causing drama'. Can't stand that freakin' "we have to approve your goddamn posts before they can fucking read it" thing.

If I'm making an alias or a keybind or whatever, how could I make it that the " symbol doesn't mean the end of an alias but as a part of the command? Like in the same fashion of \\c.
User avatar
Recurracy
Break out the buttah
 
Joined: 19 Dec 2008

PreviousNext

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests