The "How do I..." Thread

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby worldendDominator » Thu Nov 09, 2017 1:56 am

1) You can A_JumpIfInventory("MagazineAmmoType",1,...) and do different reloading sequences depending on that - one for empty magazine, one for not empty. You can look into Complex Doom, it has several weapons that work this way. I'm sure other mods also do.
2) This one's harder. Ammo pickups can contain a specific ammo amount, but they either have to be dropped by a monster, or you might need to make a different ammo drop for each amount (and check case-by-case when you're reloading). This may be easier with ACS, but I can't help there.
User avatar
worldendDominator
 
Joined: 17 May 2015

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Apeirogon » Thu Nov 09, 2017 4:50 am

NeoTerraNova wrote:Hello, again, everyone. Thank you in advance for any help you can offer me. I've got an issue that I can't seem to wrap my head around.

Is it possible to easily (with Decorate or simple ACS) perform the following actions:

-When reloading a magazine-fed weapon, retain a single round (the chambered round), then add the value of one full magazine?
EXAMPLE: A Handgun with a magazine capacity of 20 rounds. Player executes a mid-mag (tactical) reload. Player should have 21 rounds available.
I know that setting the maximum capacity of the weapon's magazine (Inventory.MaxAmount for the designated "magazine" ACTOR) to 21 would allow a potential capacity of 21 (say, if picking up loose pistol ammo, in this case), but is there a way to check and see if the magazine has at least one round in it, and retain that round?

-Also when reloading a magazine-fed weapon, how would one go about checking for the exact amount of remaining ammunition in a magazine, then somehow dumping loose bullet items on the ground?
EXAMPLE: Building from the first, say the Handgun has 14 rounds left. How would one go about dumping 13 of those rounds on the ground, and retaining one, then adding the 20 for the full magazine?

I have managed to create a working handgun, and it does reload both mid-mag, and when the weapon is empty, using the built-in reload function instead of the Action_Reload work-around. I already have loose ammo as an item, as well as specific ammo and magazines for the handgun. I'm comfortable with doing some ACS work if that's necessary - however or whatever method might work best.

Thanks again.


This
http://www.moddb.com/mods/brutal-doom/a ... -reloading
have what you want in -Also string. Just a litle magick with it and you get what you want.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby NeoTerraNova » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:12 pm

Thank you both. I had no idea these WADs existed. I'll mess around with this, it seems to be something I can work with.
User avatar
NeoTerraNova
 
Joined: 14 Mar 2017
Location: Western North Southlandia (East Side)

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby BigProjectAlone » Thu Nov 09, 2017 4:11 pm

Hello, i try doing some killable decors but when they go into their death state its like if the flags were removed automatically ..
I have some monsters hanging from ceiling using +spawnceiling +nogravity and +float.
But when i kill them they fall on the ground and i dont want that to happen.. i want them to stay at the height they are, not moving at all.
What can i do to prevent that ?

Thank you in advance for any help.

Here is the actor code if it can help:
Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR ******* 7042
{
  scale 0.6
  Radius 15
  Height 90
  mass 150
  health 1
  +SOLID
  +shootable
  +float
  +nogravity
  +spawnceiling
  +FORCEYBILLBOARD
  States
  {
  Spawn:
   **** AB 25
    Loop
  Death:
    **** C -1
   stop
  }
}
User avatar
BigProjectAlone
Boss
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Location: canada

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Blue Shadow » Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:02 pm

Try setting the DONTFALL flag.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby BigProjectAlone » Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:07 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:Try setting the DONTFALL flag.


Thanks my friend!! problem solved :)
User avatar
BigProjectAlone
Boss
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Location: canada

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Lex Safonov » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:44 am

Zandronum 3.0 has the support of interactive portal?
User avatar
Lex Safonov
 
Joined: 28 Apr 2014
Location: Russian Federation

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Zan » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:11 am

Anyone knows how I can make an autoload that uses the loading screen of the pk3 rather than the iwad's one? I think it's related to the order in which stuff gets loaded.

So far I'm using the .ini's autoload

[Global.Autoload]
Path=$PROGDIR/Hedon_0-3-a.pk3

I tried setting the default IWAD="freedoom.wad" in GAMEINFO but it doesn't seem to change anything. Also, if I use LOAD="Hedon_0-3-a.pk3" and remove the entry from the ini file's autoload, it just starts Freedoom.

Any idea? :D
User avatar
Zan
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2016
Location: The depths of Hedon.
Discord: Zan#0149

Quick Railgun Question

Postby heehoo » Sat Nov 11, 2017 10:17 am

Is there any way to make an A_CustomRailgun attack that doesn't produce blood upon hitting its target? I only ask because I'm using it to make a laser sight kinda thing, so it's weird that it just makes blood spew out of whatever it's aiming at.
heehoo
 
Joined: 06 Nov 2017

Re: Quick Railgun Question

Postby Apeirogon » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:40 am

heehoo wrote:Is there any way to make an A_CustomRailgun attack that doesn't produce blood upon hitting its target? I only ask because I'm using it to make a laser sight kinda thing, so it's weird that it just makes blood spew out of whatever it's aiming at.


Change puff type of it. But first create new puff.
Or look at project bratality LMG.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Quick Railgun Question

Postby heehoo » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:42 am

Apeirogon wrote:
heehoo wrote:Is there any way to make an A_CustomRailgun attack that doesn't produce blood upon hitting its target? I only ask because I'm using it to make a laser sight kinda thing, so it's weird that it just makes blood spew out of whatever it's aiming at.


Change puff type of it. But first create new puff.
Or look at project bratality LMG.


Thanks m8 :D
heehoo
 
Joined: 06 Nov 2017

Re: Quick Railgun Question

Postby heehoo » Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:46 pm

Apeirogon wrote:
heehoo wrote:Is there any way to make an A_CustomRailgun attack that doesn't produce blood upon hitting its target? I only ask because I'm using it to make a laser sight kinda thing, so it's weird that it just makes blood spew out of whatever it's aiming at.


Change puff type of it. But first create new puff.
Or look at project bratality LMG.


Actually, this doesn't seem to work. I believe the puff is only ever actually used it it hits a wall or dormant actor. Giving the actor that fires the shot the +BLOODLESSIMPACT property doesn't seem to work either. I dunno if I'm doing something wrong or there's an issue with railgun attacks or that no-blood property.
heehoo
 
Joined: 06 Nov 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Apeirogon » Sat Nov 11, 2017 4:58 pm

Did you look at project brutality LMG? Because there are laser pointer.
Or you need visible ray, not simple dot on something?
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby heehoo » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:05 pm

Apeirogon wrote:Did you look at project brutality LMG? Because there are laser pointer.
Or you need visible ray, not simple dot on something?


I did have a quick peek at that, but it's not exactly what I'm after. A visible ray is what I need (it comes from a monster), which is why I went for the A_CustomRailGun route. What I do have works fine, save for making other monsters flinch and spraying blood on contact.
heehoo
 
Joined: 06 Nov 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby cortlong50 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 1:22 am

is there any way to use (and include) brightmaps in a .wad without having to save the entire thing as a .PK3 (i hate gzdoom builder and dont want to us it...it crashes too often for me).

if so....how?
User avatar
cortlong50
editing my comments ad nauseam
 
Joined: 24 Jun 2013
Location: UT-WA

PreviousNext

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests