The "How do I..." Thread

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby DoomKrakken » Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:37 pm

BigProjectAlone wrote:Nobody have an idea of what i could do to fix my problem ? =/

Patience is the key to happiness...
Code: Select allExpand view
TNT1 A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("InventoryItem", 1, "ItemState"//[DoomKrakken]: If the caller has at least one "InventoryItem" in his inventory, then it jumps to "ItemState"
Goto NoItemState //[DoomKrakken]: If not, then it goes to this other state. 
User avatar
DoomKrakken
All but inactive here on the forums. Contact me on Discord for quicker replies.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2014
Location: Plahnit Urff
Discord: DoomKrakken#2719

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby BigProjectAlone » Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:48 pm

I just asked, i did'nt meant to be disturbing.. =/
Thank you for the answer i will work with that and try fixing.
User avatar
BigProjectAlone
Boss
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Location: canada

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby DoomKrakken » Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:03 pm

No problem. :)
User avatar
DoomKrakken
All but inactive here on the forums. Contact me on Discord for quicker replies.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2014
Location: Plahnit Urff
Discord: DoomKrakken#2719

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby BigProjectAlone » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:07 pm

DoomKrakken wrote:No problem. :)


Problem solved btw !! thank you very much :D i don't know why i did'nt think about that.. it was so simple to fix.
User avatar
BigProjectAlone
Boss
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Location: canada

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby SoundOfDarkness » Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:06 am

I'm trying again...

I have 2 questions.

1. How to make it that a point blank kill with the super shotgun always gibs the enemy?

2. More or less the same for quad damage. I want enemies to gib when killed while quad damage is active. I already realized that adding +EXTREMEDEATH to the powerup doesn't work.
User avatar
SoundOfDarkness
Offering translation help for Wolfenstein based mods
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2017
Location: at home

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby wardust » Fri Oct 27, 2017 1:29 am

Hi!
I'm doing a pack of HD textures for Heretic. I think everything it's ok but when i play in a custom map, with some custom textures (Ex: Curse of disparil) the extra textures in the wad don't recognice the HD ones in the pk3.

It's there something special to do?

here some pics. In the first you can se the water flag without changes. in the second the water texture changed.
http://i65.tinypic.com/b3suog.jpg
http://i67.tinypic.com/2qv4dhv.jpg
I can't fix missing effects on items models but the monsters are fine (they have no effects)
http://i67.tinypic.com/2hpkl0y.jpg
http://i67.tinypic.com/fqkg4.jpg

Thanks in advance!
wardust
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Apeirogon » Fri Oct 27, 2017 5:37 am

SoundOfDarkness wrote:I'm trying again...

I have 2 questions.

1. How to make it that a point blank kill with the super shotgun always gibs the enemy?

2. More or less the same for quad damage. I want enemies to gib when killed while quad damage is active. I already realized that adding +EXTREMEDEATH to the powerup doesn't work.


Telepaths on vacation. What enemy and what shotgun?
Monster with tier higher than pinky, baron/revenant/knight/cyberdemon/bruiser/afrit/etc, do not have extreme death sprite/state.

For projectile shotgun tou can use something like
Spoiler:


For "quacks" damage in custom monster code
Spoiler:

or in projectile state
Spoiler:
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Apeirogon » Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:46 pm

Why every time i update gzdoom, decorate code that work perfectly at previous version start glitch and break apart?

Script error, "weapon.pk3:code/lasergun.dec" line 52:
Unsafe state call in state sci-fi_weapon.21 which accesses user variables, reached by sci-fi_weapon.Fire.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Gutawer » Fri Oct 27, 2017 2:03 pm

Can you post your code?
User avatar
Gutawer
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Discord: Gutawer#3431

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Apeirogon » Sat Oct 28, 2017 12:24 am

Spoiler:


And i define "user_" at player.

And how make actor, which prevent monsters from see/shooting at player/another monster? Try to make smoke grenade.
I try all flag related to attack-defence-physics, no one hide me.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Wiw » Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:28 pm

Is there a way to make a skybox that moves relative to the player position other than stacked portals?
User avatar
Wiw
Frequently puts foot in mouth
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2015
Location: Everywhere and nowhere.
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Gutawer » Mon Oct 30, 2017 2:34 pm

You can move the skybox in the game world relative to a point in the playing space, and a subsequent point in the skybox space, but any method to do that is unfortunately going to be non-multiplayer friendly, due to the everything-must-sync nature of the netcode.
User avatar
Gutawer
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Discord: Gutawer#3431

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby DoomKrakken » Mon Oct 30, 2017 11:28 pm

SoundOfDarkness wrote:I'm trying again...

I have 2 questions.

1. How to make it that a point blank kill with the super shotgun always gibs the enemy?

2. More or less the same for quad damage. I want enemies to gib when killed while quad damage is active. I already realized that adding +EXTREMEDEATH to the powerup doesn't work.

1. Use A_JumpIfCloser to set the desired distance and have the bullet attack that's launched from the jumped-to state use puffs that have DamageType "Extreme" or have the EXTREMEDEATH flag.

2. Have the weapon jump to a state (when Quad Damage is active) where it fires special puffs that have DamageType "Extreme" or have the EXTREMEDEATH flag.

Your code could look like this:
Code: Select allExpand view
Fire:
    SSGF A 0 A_JumpIfCloser(50, "ExtremeFire")
    SSGF A 0 A_JumpIfInventory("PowerQuadDamage", 1, "ExtremeFire")
    SSGF A 0 A_FireBullets(10, 5, 20, 5, "BulletPuff")
FireAnim:
    SSGF ABCDEFGHI 3
    Goto Ready
ExtremeFire
:
    SSGF A 0 A_FireBullets(10, 5, 20, 5, "ExtremeBulletPuff")
    Goto FireAnim

Code: Select allExpand view
ACTOR ExtremeBulletPuff : BulletPuff
{
    +EXTREMEDEATH
}
User avatar
DoomKrakken
All but inactive here on the forums. Contact me on Discord for quicker replies.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2014
Location: Plahnit Urff
Discord: DoomKrakken#2719

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby Apeirogon » Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:36 am

I try make arachnotron with hitbox only in the area of brain, just because I can.
Spoiler:

But I face some problem

1.A_killmaster and a_damagemaster dont work on "master" without +shootable flag, but cheat "kill monsters" still kill such monster.
Is there are anything that I can do with this, except deal with it?

2. Projectile attack at hitbox actor dont deal any damage. Even ripper projectile enter to death state without applying any damage.
Only projectile with damage more than 150 start deal 5-6 damage. But explosive and hitscan damage as expected.
Whats wrong? "Shootable" and "solid" flag works apart, I checked it out on another actors. Why then in this situation, "shootable nonsolid actor inside solid nonshootable actor", it start glitch?

I even record video, so I'm concerned about this problem
https://youtu.be/YUPps9BOlaA
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Postby NachtIntellect » Wed Nov 01, 2017 2:01 am

I am not really keen to asking people this especially on Doom forums since I have a pretty bad experience but, I would like to know if there's anyway to store a variable based on where the player spawns, okay so here's the scenario, I have Randomplayerstarts defined in mapinfo for 1 map I have player starts I need to utilise ACS in order to A. At the start of the game store a variable that tells it which spawn the player has spawned B. Use that variable with an if statement to determine if it should remove certain line blocking

I actually only need that A part, everything is smooth sailing from there but I just can't seem to wrap my head around how to do it even though it should be 100% possible.
User avatar
NachtIntellect
Eisennacht Headmaster
 
Joined: 29 Feb 2012
Location: Bienenstock, Germany
Discord: NachtIntellect#9270

PreviousNext

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests