The "How do I..." Thread

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
User avatar
Ryuhi
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:00 pm

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Ryuhi »

Doominer441 wrote:How do I make enemies stop hating a hatee? To give some context, I have a big battle between marines and demons. Among the demons are ghosts who resurrect corpses. I want the player to come into the battle and have to not only deal with demons but hostile marines as well. I used THING_HATE to make the enemies attack the friendly marines. It works, but when the ghosts resurrect the marines, I assume it keeps their thing ID, which causes the enemies to attack them, even though they're now friendly to the demons. Is there some way I could work around this?
have you tried having them get the flag NOTARGET or NEVERTARGET during their raise state? It should make other monsters ignore them almost entirely.
User avatar
Doominer441
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:04 pm

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Doominer441 »

According to the Wiki, A_CHANGEFLAG is depreciated. I don't want a few years later for my wad to suddenly stop working for people not running an outdated GZDoom version. Is there a way to change Thing ID in decorate?
User avatar
Vostyok
Posts: 1666
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:54 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Location: Discord: Vostyok#3164
Contact:

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Vostyok »

Doominer441 wrote:According to the Wiki, A_CHANGEFLAG is depreciated. I don't want a few years later for my wad to suddenly stop working for people not running an outdated GZDoom version. Is there a way to change Thing ID in decorate?
Only way I know of that has a reasonable chance of success is executing a script from the actor's state that calls Thing_ChangeTID. Flags can be switched on and off using anonymous functions i.e bFLAGNAME in decorate, but I don't think TID is covered by this.
User avatar
Doominer441
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:04 pm

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Doominer441 »

How would I execute an ACS script in decorate?
User avatar
Vostyok
Posts: 1666
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:54 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Location: Discord: Vostyok#3164
Contact:

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Vostyok »

Doominer441 wrote:How would I execute an ACS script in decorate?
https://zdoom.org/wiki/ACS_Execute
https://zdoom.org/wiki/ACS
https://zdoom.org/wiki/Thing_ChangeTID
These are what you need to look at. If you having trouble still building a script, pm me and I will try to help you later.
Marziano87
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:51 am

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Marziano87 »

I've installed the last updated version of GZdoom builder 2.3 and tryed to do something with problems:

- When I deploy an invisible thing bridge it lays on the floor but I can't raise it with my mouse wheel in 3dview. Why?

- I was trying to build a 3d floor following tutorials on youtube, but when I create a 3d sector it doesn't work because it doesn't seem to create a connection between the dumb sector and teh real 3d floor despite the tag is correct.

thanks for your help
User avatar
phantombeta
Posts: 2088
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 1:27 am
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Brazil

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by phantombeta »

Doominer441 wrote:According to the Wiki, A_CHANGEFLAG is depreciated. I don't want a few years later for my wad to suddenly stop working for people not running an outdated GZDoom version. Is there a way to change Thing ID in decorate?
Sigh.

A feature being deprecated does not mean that it's going to get removed or stop working. It means it won't get new features. Also, DECORATE itself is deprecated, so if features getting deprecated meant they'll get removed later, your wad (along with a huge chunk of all the mods for ZDoom) would break anyway.
Even deprecated features still get bugfixes and such. What it means is literally that you shouldn't use it because it's not the best way to do it and it won't get new features. And A_ChangeFlag is only deprecated for ZScript, it isn't deprecated for the (also deprecated) DECORATE, as there's no alternative for it there.
User avatar
Doominer441
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:04 pm

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Doominer441 »

phantombeta wrote:
Since I'm not going to use ZScript, might as well bite the bullet and do A_CHANGEFLAG. I'd like to have had the demons still be able to infight with the resurrected marines, but at least the marines will still be alive when the fight is over.
Vostyok wrote:
I already tried using THING_CHANGETID but the way I have it, the marines all have the same TID, 2. I made a THING_CHANGETID script and made it to execute when a marine dies (in the map builder, not in decorate). Thing is, when a marine dies, I guess it affects ALL the marines, causing all the demons who weren't shot to stop moving and start standing around like dipshits because they now have nothing to hate. Unless I make all the marines have unique TIDs, THING_CHANGETID won't work as far as I can understand.
User avatar
Vostyok
Posts: 1666
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2015 8:54 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Location: Discord: Vostyok#3164
Contact:

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Vostyok »

If you call a tid of 0, only the script activator should be affected.
User avatar
Doominer441
Posts: 198
Joined: Thu Oct 24, 2013 9:04 pm

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Doominer441 »

Vostyok wrote:
Alright, I think its working now.

EDIT: Well, it does work, sometimes. Its very sporadic, sometimes the resurrected marines work with the demons, sometimes the marines resurrect and the monsters immediately attack them. Actually, MOST of the time the demons are hostile to the marines. I think it has something to do with whether of not a demon was targeting a marine but wasn't the one to kill it before it was resurrected. Hm. You'd think after an actor kills another actor, it'd stop targeting it even after it's resurrected.
User avatar
Mav3r1ck
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:09 pm

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Mav3r1ck »

I want to use Doom 64's clouds for a custom made skybox but they won't appear right ingame. In Doom 64, the clouds look stretched and blurred. So how would I use the clouds properly?
User avatar
Cherno
Posts: 1311
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:25 am

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Cherno »

Is it possible to change a monster's rendering style when it is being hit/takes damage? So far, I can only make it work by increasing it's painchance to 255 and doing it in the Pain State, but it would cancel attacks etc. so that's not really what I''m after.
Kafelnikov
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 1:27 am

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Kafelnikov »

Newbie here with what seem to be a pretty trivial problem but it's driving me mad, I often have like linedeft with ''no substance'', it's like just a sort of ''ghost'' texture with one side and I don't know how to delete them because I can't target them in grid mode, I can only see them in visual mode, I tried pressing canc and backspace when targetting them in visual mode but nothing happens, how do I delete those sort of ''artifacts''? how are those created in the first place? I don't understand.
User avatar
Cherno
Posts: 1311
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 11:25 am

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by Cherno »

I think I know what you mean. You can eighter hit the DEL key when pointing at it in 3d mode, or in grid mode, in the linedef property window just right click on the texture so it gets erased. I think it happens when you select a bunch of linedefs to give them a texture but you also have the double-sided linedefs selected which also get the texture assigned (for their frontsides only).
User avatar
insightguy
Posts: 1730
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 11:54 pm

Re: The "How do I..." Thread

Post by insightguy »

Any Idea how to add what button is used in what control in the HUD?

Example, if R or T is my reload key, How can I display that on the HUD even when they switch it to something else?
Locked

Return to “Editing (Archive)”