ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Discuss all aspects of editing for ZDoom.
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby Ceeb » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:00 pm

I'd like to point out that now, when I jump, Doomguy goes "unf", even when jumping on level ground. His own jumping wasn't enough to make him grunt in previous versions. I dunno, though. :roll:
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby Enjay » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:03 pm

Can't say that I'm getting that. I tried jumping at the map01 player start in all of the recent official and SVN builds.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby Project Dark Fox » Wed Mar 18, 2009 1:48 am

Ceeb wrote:I'd like to point out that now, when I jump, Doomguy goes "unf", even when jumping on level ground. His own jumping wasn't enough to make him grunt in previous versions. I dunno, though. :roll:

Fixed in 2.3.1 but my original problem is still there.
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Mar 18, 2009 3:42 am

... and you will have to wait a few more days until I can take a look.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby randi » Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:36 pm

Enjay wrote:In Zdoom, if your centre point has passed off the edge of a platform, you cannot jump but you haven't actually fallen off the platform yet.

Cannot confirm. I can still jump even when hanging off the ledge at the start of MAP01 like this:
Screenshot_Doom_20090413_202837.png
Screenshot_Doom_20090413_202837.png (6.62 KiB) Viewed 216 times
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2003

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby Project Dark Fox » Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:00 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:... and you will have to wait a few more days until I can take a look.

My flight script has been recoded with DoomRater's help and is now working.
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby Enjay » Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:09 pm

randi wrote:Cannot confirm. I can still jump even when hanging off the ledge at the start of MAP01 like this:

Hmmm... so can I. My assumption of what was going on must be wrong. What I do know is that it seems much easier to simply run off the edge of a cliff rather than jump right at the edge of the cliff in Zdoom compared to other games and Doom ports that I have played. Unfortunately, now I have no idea why. :?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby XutaWoo » Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:24 pm

Perhaps the jump is delayed and checks if it you're on the ground after that delay? That's the only thing I can think of.
User avatar
XutaWoo
one day when going to see the rabbit, there was a previous visitor ...
 
Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Location: beautiful hills of those who are friends

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Tue Apr 14, 2009 4:54 pm

I think it has to be some kind of area where it changes elevation in order for this problem to occur. This problem probably shows when you are running down hill and trying to jump to another location, while you're running.
Perhaps, that may be it?

EDIT: I don't think this occurs going uphill, but I could be wrong.
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

Re: ARGH (ZDoom gravity fix broke my flight script)

Postby Enjay » Tue Apr 14, 2009 6:17 pm

Good point. When going down a slope (particularly when going on to the slope at the top from a horizontal sector) or a flight of stairs, it can be almost impossible to jump. Perhaps that may give some clue as to where the problem lies?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Previous

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest