ZDooM 64

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.

ZDooM 64

Postby Roack16 » Wed Mar 21, 2007 4:39 pm

Hello I am new this way and I mean to them on a project that eh taken during a small ZDooM time 64 This TC I am doing it so that Doom 64 was my first game FPS, and my N64 no longer worked and the Absolution does not work to me in the PC, I was decided to create this TC that does not occupy many requirements, until now has like 22 finished maps and all the arms, so you see some with a small error, the maps them volume with the Absolution and also sprites and sounds. It is the game with installer and a configuration for Doombuilder that will be in the folder of

The game version proves of the game

http://www.badongo.net/file/2522948

note: not to be spoken the English very well
Espero sus comentarios
User avatar
Roack16
I'm don't speak very much english
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2007
Location: USA

Postby ZDUser » Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:14 pm

Link doesn't seem to work for me. Anyone get a chance to see what this is?
User avatar
ZDUser
 
Joined: 21 Jan 2006

Postby dljosef » Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:42 pm

The link works fine for me.

I'll be sure to leave feedback after I try it.
User avatar
dljosef
Brutal Doom? Nope, I don't care.
 
Joined: 12 Aug 2005
Location: Deep underground

Postby hnsolo77 » Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:46 pm

Ive always hated playing absolution due to the poor joystick compatibility, i will be checking it out later, so ill have an opinion on it for you later
User avatar
hnsolo77
if your life had a face Kim would punch it.
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Location: the mythical land of Toronto Canada. (not really)

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:02 pm

I like it, but the monsters still need some fixing.

Problems/Opinions:
-No nightmare imps present in maps. They seem to be labeled as <!>.
-The Hellknight, the Baronofhell, the Cacodemon, and the NightmareCacodemon movements are a llittle 'wiggly'. They move more than they need to move.
-The Mancubus fires a bit fast (unless you did it on purpose, then I'm fine with that). The alignment when he's firing is a little off. The fireballs/comets/meteors comes from his belly and starts spreading rather the fireballs coming from his arm-like cannons.
-The Arachnotron looks kind of wierd when firing two bolts at a time, then stopping, then firing. I prefer it to fire 8 bolts. 2 bolts comes out 4 times consecutively without stopping. Note: This is not much a problem, more like an opinion.
-The Motherdemon seems gigantic unless you intend it to be. A problem occurs, when the motherdemon fights with other monsters. Once she kills them, she keeps firing at the monster's dead corpse repeatedly as in nonstop.
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

Postby Roack16 » Fri Mar 23, 2007 7:55 pm

Ok… I am seeing the errors that you say, thanks to warn to me

It will take into account the opinions
User avatar
Roack16
I'm don't speak very much english
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2007
Location: USA

Postby PhAyzoN » Fri Mar 23, 2007 8:34 pm

In addition to Assassin's points, the Plasma Rifle needs its idle animation and sound effect, and it also fires way to fast and (I belive) the time from when you stop firing and are able to fire again is a bit off. The Super Shotgun still has Doom2's reloading sounds, the Laser/Unmaker/New weapon fires too fast before having the 3 powerups to it (It fires at full power speed with no powerups). Also the BFG seems a bit too fast too.
PhAyzoN
 
Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Location: Deimos

Postby hnsolo77 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:46 pm

aside from the above comments i noticed the sprites are scaled down and the colors seem to be off, my suggestion is to not use a Wad file like that and make a PK3 or 4 file with the resources, just rip them straight from the current Doom 64 TC, and for something like this i suggest just using GZDoom so you dont have to mess with mis-colored sprites

also you should make it required to use a regular Doom 2 IWAD to play this instead of it being standalone, that would probably cause ID to be a little pissed off if you don't

that and the Cyberdemon should shoot the rocket from his launcher not from in between his feet, and the aracnatron is too tiny, his firing is too low so its easy to dodge

also all the weapons except for the BFG seem to fire from the player's knee's, when aiming up at monsters i need to back up a bit to actually hit some of them, this is annoying as all hell to me

you do need to fix level one's floating metal thingies since there is a HOM effect there and there is repairing needs for a lot of the other maps as well but mostly minor

other than that its pretty cool, i hope to see this finished eventually
User avatar
hnsolo77
if your life had a face Kim would punch it.
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Location: the mythical land of Toronto Canada. (not really)

Postby Doomguy0505 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:29 pm

It would be more convenient if there was no installer and just the wad. And some of the sprites have black spots.
User avatar
Doomguy0505
sudo rm -rf /
 
Joined: 29 Mar 2005

Postby The NUtcracker » Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:30 pm

Doomguy0505 wrote:It would be more convenient if there was no installer and just the wad.


100% seconded
User avatar
The NUtcracker
I refuse to create a custom title.
 
Joined: 14 Jan 2007
Location: South Dakota

Postby hnsolo77 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 7:34 pm

The NUtcracker wrote:
Doomguy0505 wrote:It would be more convenient if there was no installer and just the wad.


100% seconded
thirded, and also use RAR format to store it
User avatar
hnsolo77
if your life had a face Kim would punch it.
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Location: the mythical land of Toronto Canada. (not really)

Postby Doomguy0505 » Sat Mar 24, 2007 8:11 pm

Actually 7-zip would be even better. He's already using rar.
User avatar
Doomguy0505
sudo rm -rf /
 
Joined: 29 Mar 2005

Postby Roack16 » Sun Mar 25, 2007 4:09 pm

I am thought to change of ZDoom skull tag (nothing else so that bots is but intelligent), if somebody knows of bots that they kick the ass to you for ZDoom that says please to me.

but since I made it with the ZDoom say it here and in some other place.

Note: all the errors mentioned here I am keeping them in notes
User avatar
Roack16
I'm don't speak very much english
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2007
Location: USA

Postby hnsolo77 » Mon Mar 26, 2007 3:05 pm

Roack16 wrote:I am thought to change of ZDoom skull tag (nothing else so that bots is but intelligent), if somebody knows of bots that they kick the ass to you for ZDoom that says please to me.

but since I made it with the ZDoom say it here and in some other place.

Note: all the errors mentioned here I am keeping them in notes
trust me, bots are not worth it at all
User avatar
hnsolo77
if your life had a face Kim would punch it.
 
Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Location: the mythical land of Toronto Canada. (not really)

Postby Roack16 » Wed Mar 28, 2007 5:57 pm

The bad thing of skulltag is that it gives to much lag and then could throw it to lose if it change.
User avatar
Roack16
I'm don't speak very much english
 
Joined: 21 Mar 2007
Location: USA

Next

Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests