Can you change the jump height?

Discuss all aspects of editing for ZDoom.
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Can you change the jump height?

Postby Electronic Samurai » Wed May 10, 2006 4:07 am

A quick, dumb question:

How can you change the height that the player jumps? Is it as simple as changing the player thing's mass?

For a WAD I'm designing, I'd like the player to be able to jump at least four times higher than normal - but I'd like to leave the global gravity alone.
User avatar
Electronic Samurai
 
Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Location: Wandering the open plains

Postby Cutmanmike » Wed May 10, 2006 4:28 am

You could in the unofficial version, I don't know if this has been added in the official release though.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
A little bit dead?
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed May 10, 2006 4:45 am

It has been added for the upcoming version, but not for 2.0.98
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Postby Zippy » Wed May 10, 2006 9:36 pm

In GZDoom you can use SetActorProperty to change the height the player can jump. Just put in your enter script:
Code: Select allExpand view
SetActorProperty( 0, APROP_JUMPZ, X.0 );  // Replace X with some number

I believe 8.0 is the default player jump height, but I'm not sure how the scale goes, so 32.0 may or may not be four times as high. In the wad I'm making I give the player 11.0, which isn't much higher than the default but still allows for some better jumps.
User avatar
Zippy
Your Golden Boy
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Discord: Zurock#4834

Postby The Ultimate DooMer » Fri May 12, 2006 5:38 pm

The default for DooM is 7.0 (56 units), for Hexen it's 8.0 (64 units) Each 1.0 is worth 8 units.
User avatar
The Ultimate DooMer
Will you start the fans please!
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Industrial Zone

Postby PaganRaven » Fri May 12, 2006 6:08 pm

What the freak?! I asked the same question like 4 times and I never got such a simple answer! :x Do you guys have it out for me?

EDIT: OH MY GAWD it FREAKIN' WORKED! I don't believe it, but I just saw it with my own eyes!
Last edited by PaganRaven on Fri May 12, 2006 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
PaganRaven
Viking Warrior
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2005

Postby Siggi » Fri May 12, 2006 6:16 pm

It's the Hamtaro avatar :wink:
User avatar
Siggi
 
Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Location: South Africa


Return to Editing (Archive)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 4 guests