Vulkan CTD when opening automap

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Vulkan CTD when opening automap

Postby Jarewill » Tue Jun 16, 2020 2:12 pm

Tested with g4.5pre-44-g486e07300

This happened to me with two different mods:
Rain and this project of mine.
Steps to reproduce:
Spoiler: With Rain

Spoiler: With my mod

In both scenarios it should crash GZDoom.

I think this might have something to do with sprites/textures, because when I tried to make my file smaller and I deleted the sprites, the crash didn't happen.
It only happened with those sprites.
The crash also didn't happen in OpenGL.

Sidenote: My project was not meant to be uploaded anywhere on the internet. I am just uploading it here as a way to reproduce the crash.
The project uses ripped sprites from an old game and it will be removed once this is either fixed, or flagged as user error.
I can't remove the sprites from the project, as they are needed to reproduce the crash.
If necessary, I'll remove this link and send this project in a PM to a developer.

Edit: It seems this might be a duplicate.
I deeply apologize for not checking the forums thoroughly.
Jarewill
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2019

Re: Vulkan CTD when opening automap

Postby Rachael » Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:35 pm

Jarewill wrote:Edit: It seems this might be a duplicate.
I deeply apologize for not checking the forums thoroughly.

Please don't feel bad about that. It's always better to get a dupe than no report at all. There's also always that chance it's not a dupe.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Vulkan CTD when opening automap

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Sep 26, 2020 8:21 am

The problem here is actually that the command buffer of the Vulkan renderer is too small and has zero abilities to deal with an overflow, e.g. flushing it out to restart from the beginning.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Vulkan CTD when opening automap

Postby dpJudas » Sat Sep 26, 2020 8:49 am

That's not correct. There is code in place that makes it flush the command buffer and restart from the beginning.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Vulkan CTD when opening automap

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Sep 26, 2020 9:11 am

Which buffer was it then? There's one that causes a crash when it's full. And a very large automap is the primary cause of such overflows.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Vulkan CTD when opening automap

Postby dpJudas » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:02 am

VulkanFrameBuffer::WaitForCommands(false) can be called at any time to have it wait for all work to be completed and make it safe to recreate/resize/reuse any buffers.

VKBuffer::Resize is one example of when it does that. To my knowledge there aren't other places where it suddenly runs out of buffer space so that's the only place. Vulkan command buffers themselves can't be overflowed. Naturally there must be something more to it since it still crashes, but my point here is mainly just that the feature for flushing and waiting is in place.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016


Return to Vulkan Renderer Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests