[BETA] Blender MD3 exporter rewrite

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [BETA] Blender MD3 exporter rewrite

Postby CBM » Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:13 am

I just downloaded the bleeding edge from https://github.com/nashmuhandes/io_export_gzdoom_md3/

I'm using Blender v.2.82 but get this screen:

Image

and no matter how many times I restart blender, I get no new options for importing or exporting

Image

what am I doing wrong?

newest blender version is 2.9

do I need an older version?

I have another PC with v.2.77 installed because it has a plugin installed (does not support animations in mdx files) that requires that particular version

Image

I do notice something different though, if I try to install the warcraft 3 plugin meant for v.2.77 in to v.2.82, then blender does not complain but the warcraft 3 plugin is not shown at all in the list of plugins... so whatever is wrong with the gzdoom plugin, it must be something different


I eventually gave up but since it seems that nashs plugin is not dead then I hope you guys can help me. I hope to be able to help expand the functionality of the plugin at some point
User avatar
CBM
Imp Slayer
 
Joined: 09 Oct 2019
Location: The Shores of Hell
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [BETA] Blender MD3 exporter rewrite

Postby axredneck » Sun Oct 18, 2020 12:55 pm

@CBM, Blenders 2.7x and 2.8x+ have slightly different APIs
User avatar
axredneck
excuse me for my bad English
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2017
Location: Russia
Github ID: axredneck
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [BETA] Blender MD3 exporter rewrite

Postby CBM » Sun Oct 18, 2020 1:00 pm

axredneck wrote:@CBM, Blenders 2.7x and 2.8x+ have slightly different APIs

thanks and yes... that explains why the warcraft 3 mdx plugin only works in 2.7

But I was fully aware of that...

what I wanted to know was...

why the GZDoom MD3 export plugin does not work in either 2.7, 2.8 OR 2.9 ?

especially when the plugin seems to not show up in the export menu but still INSTALLS and make the plugin LIST in v.2.8

but claim it needs v.2.8 in the plugin list (please refer to my screenshots)

I should have ... according to the INSTALLED GZDoom plugin... an option in file>export called GZDoom model (.md3)

...but I don't

:?:

EDIT ... UPDATE

it DOES actually work in version 2.7.. (if using the automatic install feature) Imagine that...

Image
User avatar
CBM
Imp Slayer
 
Joined: 09 Oct 2019
Location: The Shores of Hell
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [BETA] Blender MD3 exporter rewrite

Postby Talon1024 » Sun Oct 25, 2020 12:41 pm

The current version of this plugin is made to work with Blender 2.7x. It won't work with Blender 2.8x or 2.9x due to significant differences between the Blender 2.7x and 2.8/2.9x Python APIs.

Regarding automatic generation of MODELDEF/DECORATE code... I suppose I could try to do it, but you would most likely have to edit the MODELDEF/DECORATE code yourself afterwards.
Talon1024
 
 
 
Joined: 28 Jun 2016
Github ID: Talon1024
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [BETA] Blender MD3 exporter rewrite

Postby CBM » Mon Oct 26, 2020 1:37 am

ok but it might still make the process quicker for modders
User avatar
CBM
Imp Slayer
 
Joined: 09 Oct 2019
Location: The Shores of Hell
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Previous

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests