Ultimate Doom Builder

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder 2, Slade, WadSmoosh, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Mikk-
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Discord: Mikk0451#3922
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Mikk- »

I've noticed that float/double user variables can't have a //$UserDefaultValue set. The field always shows up blank when placing a new thing.
boris
Posts: 698
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by boris »

Another remnant of the conversion to double. The values specified with that editor key were still interpreted as single precision, while the rest of the code requires double precision. Fixed.
User avatar
Misery
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Misery »

Does Doom Builder completely prevent modification of official IWADs? I would prefer to fix the bugs in the original IWADs (such as bugged secrets, missing textures, etc) instead of creating an almost identical PWAD, but I was hoping it isn't impossible to change them.
User avatar
zrrion the insect
Posts: 2397
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:58 pm
Location: Time Station 1: Moon of Glendale

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by zrrion the insect »

for that you would honestly be better off making a separate wad and auto-loading it rather than editing the pwad
User avatar
Mikk-
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:31 pm
Discord: Mikk0451#3922
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Mikk- »

Even better, you can use LevelPostProcessor to modify that sort of stuff instead of modified iwad maps.
User avatar
Misery
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:57 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Misery »

Mikk- wrote:Even better, you can use LevelPostProcessor to modify that sort of stuff instead of modified iwad maps.
What is it? It looks like a lot of internal programming that I'm not near advanced enough to understand. Does it allow modification of the maps? That's all I am wantin' to do.
User avatar
zrrion the insect
Posts: 2397
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:58 pm
Location: Time Station 1: Moon of Glendale

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by zrrion the insect »

levelpostprocessor would be better, yeah. Pretty sure you can use that and some checksum checks to selectively apply alterations based on the map if you want. Unsure how involved it gets though as it isn't something that have messed with.
User avatar
Gustavo6046
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat May 13, 2017 3:11 pm
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009
Twitch ID: gustavo6046
Github ID: Gustavo6046
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Location: Brazil

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Gustavo6046 »

Misery wrote:internal programming
Mate, please. It's called software design.
User avatar
Mav3r1ck
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:09 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Mav3r1ck »

How do you clamp the d64 lighting effects like on the game itself?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4007
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Kappes Buur »

Mav3r1ck wrote:How do you clamp the d64 lighting effects like on the game itself?
I assume you mean the D64 sector colours. Those are available only in UDMF
Spoiler:
User avatar
Mav3r1ck
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:09 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Mav3r1ck »

What I meant was, in UDMF the D64 colors stretch the whole sector height instead of clamping down against neighboring sectors like in the actual game. I was wondering if there was an ingame or console option to do this.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
Posts: 4007
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Kappes Buur »

As far as I know the D64 color arrangements are supported in UDB UDMF.
Mav3r1ck wrote:What I meant was, in UDMF the D64 colors stretch the whole sector height instead of clamping down against neighboring sectors like in the actual game. I was wondering if there was an ingame or console option to do this.
What do you mean by "clamping down against neighboring sectors"?
Clamping in what way?

Maybe a screenshot would help to explain what you are looking for.
Spoiler:
Something like this?
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Sun Jan 31, 2021 2:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Mav3r1ck
Posts: 262
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:09 pm

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Mav3r1ck »

I'm not sure how to explain it exactly.

For example, on The Bleeding, there or cube-like structures surrounding the player start building. Now when you look at them you'll notice the colored lighting effects are compressed to match the height of the cube-like structures instead of stretching the whole sector height.
Warden
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 11:06 am

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Warden »

Speaking of Doom 64, the UDMF config is missing a definition for sector special 89 GLSector_NoSkyDraw (this mimics D64's fake 3d floor hack). Right now it doesn't show up as an option.
Talon1024
 
 
Posts: 358
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:26 pm
Github ID: Talon1024
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Post by Talon1024 »

Mav3r1ck wrote:I'm not sure how to explain it exactly.

For example, on The Bleeding, there or cube-like structures surrounding the player start building. Now when you look at them you'll notice the colored lighting effects are compressed to match the height of the cube-like structures instead of stretching the whole sector height.
GZDoom has sidedef flags for that.
Warden wrote:Speaking of Doom 64, the UDMF config is missing a definition for sector special 89 GLSector_NoSkyDraw (this mimics D64's fake 3d floor hack). Right now it doesn't show up as an option.
Indeed, and there's also the "NoSkyWalls" and "DrawFullHeight" linedef flags for that, added by yours truly.

Return to “Creation, Conversion, and Editing”