Ultimate Doom Builder

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder 2, Slade, WadSmoosh, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Mikk- » Sun Jan 03, 2021 7:56 pm

I've noticed that float/double user variables can't have a //$UserDefaultValue set. The field always shows up blank when placing a new thing.
User avatar
Mikk-
yooooooooooo
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa
Discord: Mikk0451#3922

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby boris » Mon Jan 04, 2021 6:30 am

Another remnant of the conversion to double. The values specified with that editor key were still interpreted as single precision, while the rest of the code requires double precision. Fixed.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Misery » Tue Jan 12, 2021 5:03 pm

Does Doom Builder completely prevent modification of official IWADs? I would prefer to fix the bugs in the original IWADs (such as bugged secrets, missing textures, etc) instead of creating an almost identical PWAD, but I was hoping it isn't impossible to change them.
User avatar
Misery
 
Joined: 04 Nov 2018

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby zrrion the insect » Tue Jan 12, 2021 6:38 pm

for that you would honestly be better off making a separate wad and auto-loading it rather than editing the pwad
User avatar
zrrion the insect
Like a fish in a child's hands.
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2009
Location: Time Station 1: Moon of Glendale

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Mikk- » Tue Jan 12, 2021 7:45 pm

Even better, you can use LevelPostProcessor to modify that sort of stuff instead of modified iwad maps.
User avatar
Mikk-
yooooooooooo
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Location: Somewhere off Kanagawa
Discord: Mikk0451#3922

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Misery » Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:27 pm

Mikk- wrote:Even better, you can use LevelPostProcessor to modify that sort of stuff instead of modified iwad maps.


What is it? It looks like a lot of internal programming that I'm not near advanced enough to understand. Does it allow modification of the maps? That's all I am wantin' to do.
User avatar
Misery
 
Joined: 04 Nov 2018

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby zrrion the insect » Tue Jan 12, 2021 8:29 pm

levelpostprocessor would be better, yeah. Pretty sure you can use that and some checksum checks to selectively apply alterations based on the map if you want. Unsure how involved it gets though as it isn't something that have messed with.
User avatar
zrrion the insect
Like a fish in a child's hands.
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2009
Location: Time Station 1: Moon of Glendale

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Gustavo6046 » Fri Jan 22, 2021 1:50 pm

Misery wrote:internal programming


Mate, please. It's called software design.
User avatar
Gustavo6046
A faceful of C, and a tailful of wallaby.
 
Joined: 13 May 2017
Location: Brazil
Discord: Gustavo6046#9009
Twitch ID: gustavo6046
Github ID: Gustavo6046
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Mav3r1ck » Mon Jan 25, 2021 5:30 pm

How do you clamp the d64 lighting effects like on the game itself?
User avatar
Mav3r1ck
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2015

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Jan 25, 2021 11:03 pm

Mav3r1ck wrote:How do you clamp the d64 lighting effects like on the game itself?


I assume you mean the D64 sector colours. Those are available only in UDMF

Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Mav3r1ck » Tue Jan 26, 2021 8:44 am

What I meant was, in UDMF the D64 colors stretch the whole sector height instead of clamping down against neighboring sectors like in the actual game. I was wondering if there was an ingame or console option to do this.
User avatar
Mav3r1ck
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2015

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kappes Buur » Tue Jan 26, 2021 2:51 pm

As far as I know the D64 color arrangements are supported in UDB UDMF.

Mav3r1ck wrote:What I meant was, in UDMF the D64 colors stretch the whole sector height instead of clamping down against neighboring sectors like in the actual game. I was wondering if there was an ingame or console option to do this.


What do you mean by "clamping down against neighboring sectors"?
Clamping in what way?

Maybe a screenshot would help to explain what you are looking for.

Spoiler:


Something like this?
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Sun Jan 31, 2021 2:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Mav3r1ck » Wed Jan 27, 2021 5:48 pm

I'm not sure how to explain it exactly.

For example, on The Bleeding, there or cube-like structures surrounding the player start building. Now when you look at them you'll notice the colored lighting effects are compressed to match the height of the cube-like structures instead of stretching the whole sector height.
User avatar
Mav3r1ck
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2015

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Warden » Wed Jan 27, 2021 8:57 pm

Speaking of Doom 64, the UDMF config is missing a definition for sector special 89 GLSector_NoSkyDraw (this mimics D64's fake 3d floor hack). Right now it doesn't show up as an option.
Warden
 
Joined: 24 May 2020

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Talon1024 » Thu Jan 28, 2021 10:06 pm

Mav3r1ck wrote:I'm not sure how to explain it exactly.

For example, on The Bleeding, there or cube-like structures surrounding the player start building. Now when you look at them you'll notice the colored lighting effects are compressed to match the height of the cube-like structures instead of stretching the whole sector height.


GZDoom has sidedef flags for that.

Warden wrote:Speaking of Doom 64, the UDMF config is missing a definition for sector special 89 GLSector_NoSkyDraw (this mimics D64's fake 3d floor hack). Right now it doesn't show up as an option.


Indeed, and there's also the "NoSkyWalls" and "DrawFullHeight" linedef flags for that, added by yours truly.
Talon1024
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Github ID: Talon1024
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to Creation, Conversion, and Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests