Page 36 of 46

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2020 1:21 pm
by Kappes Buur
Nmn wrote::( Guess it's Zdoom format then (or it's derivatives) if I want to edit 3d floors in the 3d view.

Use UDMF 3D Floor Mode if you want to make use of sloped 3D floors and edit them in Visual Mode
I do not believe that this would translate to the obscure ports.

Nmn wrote:.....
I'd just like to try mapping for Doom2 with the added benefit of 3d floors. Sure I could just map for zdoom with 3d floors :? But I thought I'd ask.

If you are loathe to map for G/ZDoom then try Eternity, for which UDB has config files.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2020 4:56 am
by Nmn
:mono:
Right...

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sat Dec 26, 2020 7:21 pm
by Mikk-
I've found an odd bug... It seems as if setting a user-defined bool to true in the custom properties tab locks it into being true forever. Whatever I may do, I cannot change the boolean value to false and have it stick. If I click off the tab or close the window, the value always resets to being true.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Mon Dec 28, 2020 1:23 pm
by boris
Mikk- wrote:I've found an odd bug... It seems as if setting a user-defined bool to true in the custom properties tab locks it into being true forever. Whatever I may do, I cannot change the boolean value to false and have it stick. If I click off the tab or close the window, the value always resets to being true.


Fixed. Interestingly this bug seem to have existed for years. I guess nobody wants to explicitly set bools to false since that's the default anyway.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 1:25 pm
by Enjay
Is there a way to create a thing filter for things that are in more than one category? Specifically, I would like to create a thing filter that only shows dynamic lights, map-placed light objects (tech-lamps etc) and any other light sources that might exist.

I can't see an obvious way. e.g. the filter setup drop-down menus only allow selecting one category at a time.

Image

So, if I want to have a filter for dynamic lights, I can, and I can also have a filter for map placed lamps but I don't see how to get them both showing at the same time because, unlike line colour highlights, I only seem to be able to have one filter active at any one time.

Can it be done?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 5:03 pm
by boris
I don't think that's possible.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 7:13 pm
by Misery
Is it possible to subcategorize actors in the config files, like you can with (//$Category Monster/Boss Monsters) in the actor's properties?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 8:22 pm
by Enjay
boris wrote:I don't think that's possible.

Thanks. At least it wasn't just me missing it.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Dec 30, 2020 6:01 am
by boris
Misery wrote:Is it possible to subcategorize actors in the config files, like you can with (//$Category Monster/Boss Monsters) in the actor's properties?


I don't think that's possible.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:50 am
by Enjay
Would it be possible to add a search for sector colour (presumably by seaching the hex number of the colour)? If so, I'll open an issue/request on Github.

Hand in hand with that, I guess sector fade should probably also be considered if colour can be done.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2021 5:10 am
by boris
I'm reluctant to adding new search options. This time it's light color and fade. Next time it's upper wall color... time after that glow height... there are like a dozen different properties for the colors alone.

If you want to change a specific light color in the whole map you can also use the "Select Similar..." menu item in the "Sectors" menu and only check the "Light color" item.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sat Jan 02, 2021 9:20 am
by Enjay
Fair enough - there are already a lot of search options (which is great BTW) but the "select similar" idea will probably work for me most of the time. Thanks.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2021 5:47 am
by guru
I have a problem with some self referencing sectors in my map. As soon as I move a vertex anywhere in the map, the self referencing linedefs are split into seperate individual sectors. Is there some config toggle I need to change? Or maybe some error in the way I set up my self referencing sectors? Any help would be great.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2021 10:00 am
by boris
Make sure you have "Merge Dragged Vertices Only" selected. It's in the menu bar and the "Edit" menu.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sun Jan 03, 2021 12:15 pm
by guru
That was it. Thanks boris!