Page 34 of 47

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 1:08 pm
by boris
UDB doesn't run ACS scripts. How would that even work and what'd be the point of it.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 7:22 am
by Misery
Then what does? If I'm designing a level in UDB and ACS isn't functioning properly, where or how would I investigate it? Where are its resources located?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 9:18 am
by Enjay
Just a quick configuration file question - I expect that the answer will be "can't be done" but no harm in asking. It's not that big a deal anyway.

I have several actors that can change their appearance depending on how I set their arguments in the editor. As a simple example, here's a chair:

Code: Select allExpand view
//4 legs, metal frame
Actor Chair
{
   Radius 16
   Height 16
   +FLOORCLIP
   
   States
   {
      Spawn:
      TNT1 A 0
      BRS1 A 0 A_JumpIf(args[0] == 0, "WeAreBrown")
      BRS1 A 0 A_JumpIf(args[0] == 1, "WeAreRed")
      BRS1 A 0 A_JumpIf(args[0] == 2, "WeAreGreen")
      BRS1 A 0 A_JumpIf(args[0] == 3, "WeAreBlue")
      BRS1 A 0 A_JumpIf(args[0] == 4, "WeAreGrey")
      BRS1 A 0 A_JumpIf(args[0] == 5, "WeAreCyan")
      BRS1 A 0 A_JumpIf(args[0] == 6, "WeAreOrange")
      
      WeAreBrown:
      BRS1 A -1
      Stop

      WeAreRed:
      POSS A -1
      Stop
      
      WeAreGreen:
      POSS B -1
      Stop
      
      WeAreBlue:
      POSS C -1
      Stop
      
      WeAreGrey:
      POSS D -1
      Stop
      
      WeAreCyan:
      POSS E -1
      Stop
      
      WeAreOrange:
      POSS F -1
      Stop
   }
}


The actor uses a model and, in MODELDEF, different sprites are mapped to different skins. So depending on how the args are set in the editor, the chair appears different colours.

I've set up the actor with its own config in my UDB project files:

Code: Select allExpand view
81
{
   title = "Chair: Metal";
   sprite = "BRS1A0";
   width = 16;
   height = 16;
   class = "Chair";
   blocking = 0;
   arg0
   {
      title = "Colour";
      type = 11;
      enum
      {
         0 = "Brown";
         1 = "Red";
         2 = "Green";
         3 = "Blue";
         4 = "Grey";
         5 = "Cyan";
         6 = "Orange";
      }
   }
}


And that allows me to easily set the parameters in UDB.



However, the one minor problem here is that such a setup always uses the same sprite for UDB's reference to the actor, and so the model always appears as a brown chair in 3D mode, regardless of how the parameter is set.

UDB


Game


I know that UDB is not doing anything wrong here, so this is not a complaint or a bug report. It's not even a feature request - if it can't be done then so be it - but I was wondering if there was any way to set up my UDB things file so that the parameter choices resulted in the different skins of the model being shown in UDB (presumably by having different sprites showing for the different parameters)?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 11:23 am
by boris
Misery Theatre wrote:Then what does? If I'm designing a level in UDB and ACS isn't functioning properly, where or how would I investigate it? Where are its resources located?

You said it worked in GZDoom. What else do you want? What are you trying to do? Sounds more like a thing for viewforum.php?f=123 or viewforum.php?f=122

Enjay wrote:Just a quick configuration file question - I expect that the answer will be "can't be done" but no harm in asking. It's not that big a deal anyway.

Can't be done. Also I think you can use the //$ArgN and //$ArgNEnum editor keys in your DECORATE/ZScript, that way you don't need to define them in an extra config file.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2020 3:02 pm
by Enjay
OK, as expected. Thanks for confirming, and for the tip.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 7:18 am
by Misery
I want to be able to test the map in Ultimate Doom Builder. I don't want to have to update the Wad in Slade every time I make a minor change. I want to fix my UDB. I don't understand why so far everyone here questions why I want help. Something doesn't work and I seeking assistance.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 8:50 am
by boris
Because it's not an UDB issue if the script doesn't do what you expect it to do.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 11:59 am
by Misery
If the script works in GZDoom but not UDB, how is it not UDB? If I test the map in UDB, nothing spawns. If I save it in a pk3 and play it on GZDoom, the monsters spawn. I'd say it's UDB.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 2:57 pm
by axredneck
Misery Theatre wrote:If I test the map in UDB...

How do you test the map in UDB?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 7:09 pm
by Enjay
Just a wild guess - in UDB with your map loaded, hit F6 and then look at the "Testing" tab. Look at the parameters and skill settings to see if there is anything there that might be causing a problem (like running with -nomonsters, for example).

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 7:39 pm
by Misery
That was the first thing I checked. The application execution, perimeters, they were all good.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2020 3:15 am
by Gez
It's important to be precise. What you're actually saying is that your script does not run in GZDoom when you test the level from UDB; and that you need to use SLADE to update the script instead so it works. Right? Then I suppose there can be two possible reasons for that:

The first is if your script is a library. Then nothing to be done. It's conceptually separate from the map so it's not a map editor's jurisdiction.

The second is if your script is a map script, but for some reason UDB fails to get it compiled. This case is where there is a problem that can be solved.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2020 10:06 am
by Misery
I just decided to reinstall UDB and it works now. I don't know what was wrong, but thanks for the info. It's always useful to know more about the programs work.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2020 8:51 pm
by SanyaWaffles
is there a way Doom 64 and glow properties can be copy/pasted like light/fade/desaturations are?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2020 11:07 pm
by Kinsie
Hey there, I've got a model which works fine in GZDoom but crashes UDB on load. Any ideas?

Spoiler: