Ultimate Doom Builder

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Jaska » Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:36 am

Hmm, kinda back on editing more nowadays so again stumbling to this problem where UDB locks resources. So even if I load my resources with "read only" ticked they still will be locked. There was one version of UDB which didn't? I missed to download it. And it was like months ago so isn't that outdated already? Or does it receive still all other updates also?


[edit] Now I'm not even 100% sure but does every update overwrite gameconfigs?


As I have different viewheight on my mod so I've put
cameraflooroffset = 50;
to
F:\***\editors\UDB\Configurations\GZDoom_DoomUDMF
So it seems to reset after every update. Is there way to avoid that? Would there be a need to customize this on UI (I don't know how many mods change the viewheight)?
Jaska
 
Joined: 17 Dec 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Batandy » Wed Sep 16, 2020 2:36 am

I am getting really janky/stuttery mouse movements in visual mode since last version for some reason. As in, sometimes the movements yanks back and forth slightly.
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby NeuralStunner » Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:17 pm

Where are the program textures (crosshair, placeholders) being loaded from now? I've been replacing them with something more tolerable, and now that no longer works.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
I'll Get By
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby zVOITTO » Fri Sep 18, 2020 2:01 am

Saving a linedef color preset with an activation type only doesn't seem to work, it always tics the "use flags" box as well after leaving the menu or changing to differet color preset
User avatar
zVOITTO
 
Joined: 31 Jul 2019
Location: Winland
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Dravencour » Fri Sep 18, 2020 11:23 pm

OK. I don't know what the hell is going on with my toolbars in UDB.

This is what I'm seeing when I try to use the Curve Linedefs tool (though this happens with any tool I try to use):

[imgur]https://imgur.com/a/A5wsZfr[/imgur]

As you can see, the toolbar looks wonky and I can't access everything I need to, like in this other pic using GZDoom Builder:

[imgur]https://imgur.com/a/cM07HkW[/imgur]

I don't know what caused it, but I do know I want to fix this (or have it fixed, if this is a bug), and would like to know how.
Dravencour
 
Joined: 19 Sep 2020
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby boris » Sat Sep 19, 2020 2:33 am

It's already fixed.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby boris » Sat Sep 19, 2020 12:54 pm

Intel iGPU users rejoice! With the help of therektafire acting as a guinea pig dpJudas fixed the GL_FRAMEBUFFER_COMPLETE issues that afflicted you!
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Sep 19, 2020 4:27 pm

This is driving me around the bend ...

smeghammer published a pwad, over on Doomworld, with lots of 156 line actions (purple), and no event lines show up linking them. I just cannot figure out why not. In other pwads they do show up.

Does someone more familiar with portals than myself have an explanation for this?

And before the question comes up if Event Lines is enabled, yes it is.
Last edited by Kappes Buur on Sat Sep 19, 2020 5:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby boris » Sat Sep 19, 2020 4:52 pm

Kappes Buur wrote:Does someone more familiar with portals than myself have an explanation for this?

It's Hexen format.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Sep 19, 2020 5:17 pm

boris wrote:It's Hexen format.

I converted the pwad to UDMF and event lines for 156 still do not show up.

[edit]
it's a moot point now, looking more closely at how he did this I figured it out.
The conversion did not set an id tag for the linedef.

The path is straight and narrow again. :D
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kirr » Sat Sep 19, 2020 11:20 pm

boris wrote:Intel iGPU users rejoice! With the help of therektafire acting as a guinea pig dpJudas fixed the GL_FRAMEBUFFER_COMPLETE issues that afflicted you!

Outstanding!!! Can't wait to try it.

https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/ultimatedoombuilder/ does not open for me, is there a Windows binary available somewhere?

Thanks a ton to everyone!!

EDIT: devbuilds seems recovered.
Kirr
 
Joined: 20 Sep 2020

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby MartinHowe » Sun Sep 20, 2020 3:08 am

Are there any instructions anywhere for building and installing UDB on Linux? If I clone from Git and make, I get a native library compiled with GCC but a Builder.exe that file says is a Windows program:

Code: Select allExpand view
PE32+ executable (GUI) x86-64 Mono/.Net assembly, for MS Windows

Surely it should be for Mono on Linux? And is there mean to be an install script for Linux somewhere?

Some guidance would be appreciated, thanks!
User avatar
MartinHowe
In space, no-one can hear you KILL an ALIEN
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby dpJudas » Sun Sep 20, 2020 3:28 am

'file' is wrong - it is indeed a .net assembly, but it isn't for MS Windows. To run it type 'mono Builder.exe'.

About 15 years ago on Linux using 'chmod +x Builder.exe' also worked. I think I tried it sometime last year myself and this time it didn't work (ask the mono guys why that was dropped if it doesn't). If the execute bit does work then you can just rename it to something without the .exe extension.

Edit: I pushed a shell script that the makefile puts into the Build folder. That way it should be more obvious to Linux users that aren't used to launching mono executables.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby MartinHowe » Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:49 am

@dpJudas - Thanks :)

EDIT:

OK, I had a look - adding x permission to Builder.exe doesn't work, using mono ./Builder.exe does.

(BTW, for anyone who may have been wondering, it seems UDB on Linux puts config files in ~/.local/share/Doom Builder, note the space in the file name).
User avatar
MartinHowe
In space, no-one can hear you KILL an ALIEN
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Cethy » Thu Sep 24, 2020 5:01 am

Is there a way to add custom code snippets to the script editor?
Cethy
 
Joined: 24 Apr 2016

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests