Page 24 of 34

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Mon Jul 06, 2020 3:47 pm
by Darkcrafter
I still stick to GZDoomBuilder BugFix because of 3 things I noticed it does better:

1) Correct transparency handling for things.
2) If I move sectors with slopes then it becomes mess, I can select them and by using mousewheel easily restore the heights.
3) It doesn't prevent my resource pk3 and wads from changes which I always edit with editor on.

Please fix :(

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:09 am
by TheSpartan94
Wonder if there will ever be a Linux release :(

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:44 am
by dpJudas
We got UDB ported over to Linux, but unfortunately there's too many outstanding issues for an official release. It really needs an active Linux developer that runs the platform daily and is willing to put in the work required. It also doesn't help that the Mac version of Mono's Winforms is unmaintained and broken with no sign of it ever improving. So even if work was invested here it would still mean no Mac version. :(

Honestly at this point it would probably require migrating away from Winforms completely for such a thing to become reality.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 10:50 am
by axredneck
I used UDB with Wine but now copy&paste doesn't work. I don't know if it's a regression in UDB, Wine or Mono. I reported it to Github.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2020 11:16 am
by boris
axredneck wrote:I used UDB with Wine but now copy&paste doesn't work. I don't know if it's a regression in UDB, Wine or Mono. I reported it to Github.

Are you seriously suggesting that copy'n'paste broke in UDB and nobody noticed?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2020 7:05 am
by axredneck
boris wrote:
axredneck wrote:I used UDB with Wine but now copy&paste doesn't work. I don't know if it's a regression in UDB, Wine or Mono. I reported it to Github.

Are you seriously suggesting that copy'n'paste broke in UDB and nobody noticed?

At least it broke in UDB+Wine for me.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 7:40 am
by GreenDoomguy1999
Don't know is it counts as bug,but for some reason decorate actors appears as unknown

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2020 9:43 am
by Kappes Buur
GreenDoomguy1999 wrote:Don't know is it counts as bug,but for some reason decorate actors appears as unknown


viewtopic.php?f=2&t=56209

As much as we want to, showing us a screenshot with no further information does not help us to solve your problem. We need to know what you did and how. A simple pwad revealing the symptom/s will do.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 10:15 am
by StalkerBlade
How are colors defined for spotlights in the editor? They don't take RGB values like dynamic lights do, so I'm not really sure what that long value in the box actually represents.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 11:47 am
by Kappes Buur
StalkerBlade wrote:How are colors defined for spotlights in the editor? They don't take RGB values like dynamic lights do, so I'm not really sure what that long value in the box actually represents.


Spoiler:


Spoiler:


Also: viewtopic.php?f=123&t=68084&p=1145221#p1145072

If you are good with ZSCRIPT, then you could use these parameters
https://zdoom.org/wiki/Controlling_dynamic_lights

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:50 pm
by SuaveSteve
I'm just spitballing here. :idea:

Sloped sectors that are targets of Sector_Set3dFloor can be a big pain if you are using slopes. After moving, you have to ensure the model aligns with how you want the target to look.

Would it be the responsibility of the editor to automatically adjust the model when I move a target?

Or, how about a function that copies the plane from the model to the target, adjusting the model in the process?

Or, make it GZDoom's problem: Sector_Set3dFloor gets a flag that makes each target use it's own center for the slope (copy the plane).

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2020 11:50 am
by boris
SuaveSteve wrote:I'm just spitballing here. :idea:

Sloped sectors that are targets of Sector_Set3dFloor can be a big pain if you are using slopes. After moving, you have to ensure the model aligns with how you want the target to look.

Would it be the responsibility of the editor to automatically adjust the model when I move a target?

Or, how about a function that copies the plane from the model to the target, adjusting the model in the process?

Or, make it GZDoom's problem: Sector_Set3dFloor gets a flag that makes each target use it's own center for the slope (copy the plane).


Just use visual sloping (which makes use of plane equation slopes), then UDB will take care of any slope moving/rotating when you move/rotate the target sectors.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Mon Aug 03, 2020 4:28 pm
by Mav3r1ck
Is D64's colored lighting feature capable of Add blending yet? or is it yet to be implemented?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2020 10:20 pm
by NaturalTvventy
Okay, I'm dying here. I just got a very fancy new machine but both GZDoom Builder and Ultimate DOOM builder won't run on it. Do I have any hope?

Here's me trying to create a new map:
Capture.PNG


Here's the error:
Capture2.PNG


Full errors:
Spoiler:


Thanks in advance :)

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Sat Aug 08, 2020 10:40 pm
by FireSeraphim
GreenDoomguy1999 wrote:Don't know is it counts as bug,but for some reason decorate actors appears as unknown


I can verify this bug is happening on my end as well and this is after me just updating Ultimate Doom Builder.

Also I get this, despite the fact that I know everything in TEOTPC is set up correctly

Spoiler: mother of all incorrect loading errors