Ultimate Doom Builder

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here. For example: Ultimate Doom Builder 2, Slade, WadSmoosh, etc.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby NeuralStunner » Wed Jan 22, 2020 3:25 pm

Enjay wrote:Have you tried this?

ZZYZX wrote:Map being locked won't be fixed (this is required for editor's functionality)
(maybe it will be fixed later though, not sure what exactly is the issue)
RESOURCES being locked though, can be fixed by choosing "open map resources in read-only mode". If this doesn't work — that's a bug.
I'll try it.

Hadn't considered the editor doing anything but, I'll be honest. There's no "remove unused textures" feature (and those are questionable to begin with, nevermind a Big No™ for external packages), and the Tools->Reload * functions are otherwise useless. Oh, and non-map text lump editing is already gone. Shouldn't this be the default behavior? :wink:
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Not "Neutral"
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Ghost Prototype » Wed Jan 22, 2020 8:35 pm

'open map resources in read-only mode' isn't working. SLADE is saying "Unable to open file for saving. Make sure it isn't in use by another program."
User avatar
Ghost Prototype
Be the problems you want to see in the world
 
Joined: 19 May 2013
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Jaska » Thu Jan 23, 2020 6:54 am

Just wondering.

On builder everything looks fine.
https://i.imgur.com/KrV3hha.png

When in game:
https://i.imgur.com/LKGH20T.png

So I've adjusted the roll of the sprites to 15. So why it Works on editor but not in game?

I've also wondered why models roll or pitch doesn't do anything in editor or in game.
Jaska
 
Joined: 17 Dec 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Jaska » Thu Jan 23, 2020 7:30 am

Ghost Prototype wrote:'open map resources in read-only mode' isn't working. SLADE is saying "Unable to open file for saving. Make sure it isn't in use by another program."


Yeah, that is annoying.
Jaska
 
Joined: 17 Dec 2019
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Apprentice » Sat Jan 25, 2020 1:26 pm

My anti-virus (Panda) went haywire with this, you may want to check that out . . .
User avatar
Apprentice
 
Joined: 01 Nov 2019
Location: Coruscant
Discord: Apprentice#7105

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby wildweasel » Sat Jan 25, 2020 2:06 pm

Apprentice wrote:My anti-virus (Panda) went haywire with this, you may want to check that out . . .

It's possible it's a false-positive - if you can, try directing VirusTotal.com to the file and see if anything else picks it up.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby skdursh » Sat Jan 25, 2020 3:47 pm

Apprentice wrote:My anti-virus (Panda) went haywire with this, you may want to check that out . . .


My anti-virus had problems with nearly every release of gzdb-bugfix, which is the precursor to this. I imagine it's because of the update feature, but I can't say for sure without actually looking into it, but it is almost certainly is a false-positive.
skdursh
 
Joined: 03 Jul 2019

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Apprentice » Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:15 pm

I already figured that it was a false positive, had it with many others. VirusTotal says it's clean but it has to come from *somewhere* . . .
User avatar
Apprentice
 
Joined: 01 Nov 2019
Location: Coruscant
Discord: Apprentice#7105

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby boris » Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:26 pm

I've seen scanners complain about the updater quite a few times. I guess they don't like that the updater downloads stuff.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Enjay » Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:51 pm

Some AV software even triggers for no better reason than "I've never heard of this program".
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby NickZ » Sun Jan 26, 2020 3:42 pm

Thanks so much for adding OpenGL support. Now it runs great in Linux without any major problems.

I made a Lutris installer for it that makes installing Wine and the dependencies a snap, you can find it here (select the R3352-x86 version, which is under the "show unpublished installers" link.)
NickZ
 
Joined: 30 Dec 2019
Discord: NickZ
Github ID: NickZ
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby axredneck » Mon Jan 27, 2020 1:33 pm

NickZ wrote:I made a Lutris installer for it that makes installing Wine and the dependencies a snap, you can find it here (select the R3352-x86 version, which is under the "show unpublished installers" link.)

Is dotnet472 really needed? Doesn't UDB work better with Mono under Wine?
User avatar
axredneck
excuse me for my bad English
 
Joined: 11 Dec 2017
Location: Russia
Github ID: axredneck
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby 22alpha22 » Tue Jan 28, 2020 6:29 pm

Any chance of adding support for thing sizes that are of Double/Float? Currently any Class/Actor defined in ZScript/Decorate with a Radius/Height that includes a decimal results in the Thing's bounding box falling back to the default size in Ultimate Doom Builder rather than the actual size. Since GZDoom supports Classes/Actors with Double/Float sizes, it would be nice to be able to see the correct sizes in the editor.

Another thing I've noticed is that most MD2 models defined through MODELDEF with an added ZOffset value appear much higher in the Editor than in game.
User avatar
22alpha22
So lonely...
 
Joined: 21 Feb 2014
Location: Montana, USA
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby YukiRaven » Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:35 am

This is a funky one... and it's kinda crossing areas, so bear with me if this isn't the exact appropriate thread for this. It looks like UDMF isn't following the UDMF spec, but GZDoom doesn't seem to follow the spec exactly, either.

I had a very basic map that was in vanilla format (hardly anything was done in it - just some boring sectors and a handful of things) that I converted to UDMF using UDB. I did this by opening it, then going into Map Options, then choosing a profile that uses UDMF. This seemed to work, because GZDoom loaded the level just fine.

I have a few custom tools I've written that have UDMF parsers. One of them found that some of the identifiers being generated are invalid. Specifically, these, which appeared in a thing {} block:

Code: Select allExpand view
1 = true;
2 = true;
4 = true;


The UDMF spec states that identifiers have this format:
Code: Select allExpand view
identifier := [A-Za-z_]+[A-Za-z0-9_]*


Thus, identifiers can't start with a number, according to the spec.

So... is the spec wrong? Or did UDB generate bad UDMF data and GZDoom is just lax about it?

Like I said, I wasn't sure if this should be considered a UDB bug or what.
User avatar
YukiRaven
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Location: Colorado, United States
Discord: YukiRaven#6258
Twitch ID: Yuki_the_Cat
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jan 29, 2020 3:35 am

GZDoom's parser is written for speed and assumes that the data is correct, i.e. it never validates unknown key names and just ignores them. In this case the spec is the rule book and any deviation is invalid.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Creation, Conversion, and Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests