Ultimate Doom Builder

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Tormentor667 » Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:49 am

If I understood, I simply have to wait for the fix but there is no need to fix something myself?
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby ZZYZX » Wed Jan 01, 2020 4:24 pm

Kappes Buur wrote:
ZZYZX wrote:It's not a problem with the texture ...


The thing is though, that the included texture is 128x768.
Would that not make a difference?

No, because the issue is with horizontal align, and width of 128 is perfectly normal and expected/valid.

Tormentor667 wrote:If I understood, I simply have to wait for the fix but there is no need to fix something myself?

You can wait for the fix, or you can move the texture a bit and it will start aligning ;)
This is not top priority it seems (by looking at other things that surfaced recently)

To reword: there is a bug in the editor, but you can change your map to fix it faster.

edit: it seems there was also an issue with Y alignment, see boris' post below...
Last edited by ZZYZX on Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby boris » Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:09 pm

Tormentor667 wrote:If I understood, I simply have to wait for the fix but there is no need to fix something myself?

One question: which alignment do you mean? X or Y? I suspect Y, because there is indeed a bug with the negative scale of the texture, and that orange stuff at the top (which is actually at the bottom because the -1 Y scale) is not supposed to be seen there, right?
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Tormentor667 » Thu Jan 02, 2020 4:09 am

Exactly boris, that is my problem :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby boris » Thu Jan 02, 2020 5:56 am

Ok, that's fixed.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kappes Buur » Thu Jan 02, 2020 12:27 pm

ZZYZX wrote:This functionality has been dropped. Forever. Due to causing numerous issues while trying to support it, and being massively incomplete (only MaxED was interested in finishing this 4 years ago).
Sorry. Please use SLADE to edit resources. Also, it's a good idea to keep your resources inside a directory during development (same structure as PK3)

"still open" is a bug :roll: should not be open


I used that feature a lot. But if it cannot be fixed ...
Now I have to get used to running UDB from Slade3. :cry:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby ZZYZX » Thu Jan 02, 2020 1:34 pm

There was a temporary issue with silent editor crash to desktop if anyone updated to R3327. Should be fixed in R3329.
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby SanyaWaffles » Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:54 pm

Is there a way to fix a bug involving the map being locked. I can't zip up the PK3 unless the map is closed during zipping using 7zip from the command line.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Wouldn't be an epic gamer if I didn't commit a few war crimes.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby ZZYZX » Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:58 pm

Map being locked won't be fixed (this is required for editor's functionality)
(maybe it will be fixed later though, not sure what exactly is the issue)

RESOURCES being locked though, can be fixed by choosing "open map resources in read-only mode". If this doesn't work — that's a bug.
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Tormentor667 » Fri Jan 03, 2020 2:18 am

boris wrote:Ok, that's fixed.

Perfect, thanks!
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Darkcrafter » Fri Jan 03, 2020 11:32 am

Wow, thank you for your work! This thing works really well, even better than GZDoom Builder. Good job!
User avatar
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: South Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby DavidN » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:16 pm

SanyaWaffles wrote:Is there a way to fix a bug involving the map being locked. I can't zip up the PK3 unless the map is closed during zipping using 7zip from the command line.


If it helps, I keep my maps in a separate folder from the PK3 and use a little batch file to copy them in and then 7zip them whenever needed - you don’t need a lock to copy a file, so there’s no need to close the editor. I lay my projects out so that there's a "mapwork" folder for the maps, and a "pk3" folder that contains all the resources that will be zipped into the final PK3.

Code: Select allExpand view
@echo off
::::::::::::::
:: Variables
::::::::::::::
SET ziptool=c:\Program Files\7-Zip\7z.exe
SET finalpk3=.\keeper3.pk3
SET projectfolder=.\pk3\
SET acc=c:\doomwork\acc\acc

::::::::::::::
:: Delete the final file if it exists already (careful now)
::::::::::::::
echo Removing old file...
del "%finalpk3%"

:::::::::::::::
:: Prepares everything to go into this build of the PK3
:::::::::::::::
echo Compiling ACC
"%acc%" "%projectfolder%\acssource\acglobal_source.txt" "%projectfolder%\acs\acglobal.o"
echo Copying maps
xcopy .\mapwork\*.wad .\%projectfolder%\maps /y /q
echo Adding files from project
"%ziptool%" a -tzip "%finalpk3%" "%projectfolder%\*"
:::::::::::::::

echo Created %finalpk3%
pause
Last edited by DavidN on Sat Jan 04, 2020 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
DavidN
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2015

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Jan 04, 2020 12:44 pm

Request :
To increase the number of backups to 10 or higher (maybe 25), if at all possible.
It would be great if it were selectable with a slider in F5, same as recent files.
That would make life so much easier.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Benjogami » Tue Jan 07, 2020 9:04 pm

Excited to use Doom Builder in Linux, but I'm running into some problems:

1. When I try to go into Tools -> Preferences, UDB hangs.

2. It seems like alt key is stuck or something: when I press "s" to enter Sectors mode, for example, the Sectors menu opens instead. Similarly, when I press "e" to go forward in Visual mode, the Edit menu opens.

3. When using the mouse in Visual mode, I can only turn 90 degress left and right, and when I turn all the way right, the undo/redo history thing pops up. Seems like the pointer is still active or something.

4. The map-selection dialog only shows the last 5 maps, and when I select them they actually open the first 5 maps.

I'm pretty new to Linux and WINE, so if I'm slow to understand the steps to fix/workaround, I apologize. :D

Thanks!
User avatar
Benjogami
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2020
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby ZZYZX » Thu Jan 09, 2020 2:11 am

ew. Looks like all winforms issues. Version of WINE? Version of UDB? (are you using x86 one?)
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest