Page 8 of 45

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 2:49 pm
by Tormentor667
Good work Watson :) ...and excuses for the riddle, I forgot that there is a redundant part of the map that I didn’t delete before.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 3:57 pm
by axredneck
Tormentor667 wrote:...

Commander Keen 3D ?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:24 pm
by NaturalTvventy
Wow, this is awesome. Thank you so much for doing this. I recently got a new computer and GZDoomBuilder wouldn't work on it. This one does! I'm no longer stuck dealing with the old Doom Builder. You are my hero.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Mon Dec 30, 2019 10:29 pm
by necros
hi there, I hope this is the correct place to ask questions...

In GZDoomBuilder, in the script editor, there was a side panel that let you look at all the text files in the wad you had open, so if you had a decorate file and a sndinfo, for example, you could open them up.

This seems missing in UDB? There's still a decorate file open in the wad I had been editing in GZDB, but I see no way of opening the other text files? Is there a hotkey I'm missing?

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:49 am
by ZZYZX
This functionality has been dropped. Forever. Due to causing numerous issues while trying to support it, and being massively incomplete (only MaxED was interested in finishing this 4 years ago).
Sorry. Please use SLADE to edit resources. Also, it's a good idea to keep your resources inside a directory during development (same structure as PK3)

"still open" is a bug :roll: should not be open

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:44 am
by Tormentor667
ZZYZX wrote:Will fix!

Just updated to R3317, the bug is still existant - just as a small info

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 9:38 am
by ZZYZX
Tormentor667 wrote:
ZZYZX wrote:Will fix!

Just updated to R3317, the bug is still existant - just as a small info

Not as in "right now" but in few days... Today I worked mostly on the script editor and sprite loading from PK3s. Which I should say is finally fixed. (this error)

For instant fix for now, try moving the wall's offset one pixel left or right (of the middle linedef in the corner)
Image

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:08 pm
by necros
ZZYZX wrote:This functionality has been dropped. Forever. Due to causing numerous issues while trying to support it, and being massively incomplete (only MaxED was interested in finishing this 4 years ago).
Sorry. Please use SLADE to edit resources. Also, it's a good idea to keep your resources inside a directory during development (same structure as PK3)

"still open" is a bug :roll: should not be open


Cool, thanks for confirming! Thanks for continuing support on this great editor!

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 4:16 pm
by Stormwalker
Quick question: What does "Better Linux compatibility" mean? The OP says it requires Windows as well as Microsoft .Net framework. Do you mean that it runs better in WINE? Just curious.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 4:18 pm
by ZZYZX
Stormwalker wrote:Do you mean that it runs better in WINE?

Yes. Due to using OpenGL, it does not anymore require weird winetricks hacks to make 2D/3D mode work.
Pretty much the only non-crossplatform requirement left is .NET 4.7.x, which is way easier to get working compared to D3D9.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 4:34 pm
by Stormwalker
ZZYZX wrote:Yes. Due to using OpenGL, it does not anymore require weird winetricks hacks to make 2D/3D mode work.
Pretty much the only non-crossplatform requirement left is .NET 4.7.x, which is way easier to get working compared to D3D9.


Very cool, thanks for the info!

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 5:52 pm
by axredneck
Stormwalker wrote:Quick question: What does "Better Linux compatibility" mean? The OP says it requires Windows as well as Microsoft .Net framework. Do you mean that it runs better in WINE? Just curious.

Works for me with Wine+Mono

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:14 am
by Kappes Buur
Tormentor667 wrote:I am running into a strange problem. "Autoalign" in visual mode doesn't work with the attached texture in the attacked map, but it works with other textures, so I guess it's not a problem of the geometry or sectors.


Well, I don't know, but to me it looks like that there is something wrong with the texture itself.
Maybe something with offsets?

When I use a different texture, then the auto-align feature (Ctrl+A) works perfectly, as you mentioned.


Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 6:34 am
by ZZYZX
It's not a problem with the texture. I wrote above what's the issue — it's because border of the texture matches one of the line's vertices (two lines are aligned, all other lines aren't)
Probably when you use a different texture it's no longer aligned (different size from 64x64 or 128x128)

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2020 7:02 am
by Kappes Buur
ZZYZX wrote:It's not a problem with the texture ...


The thing is though, that the included texture is 128x768.
Would that not make a difference?