Ultimate Doom Builder
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!
Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.
Please read the full rules for more details.
-
- Posts: 262
- Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 11:09 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
I'm using a custom resource that rearranges existing patches into new patched textures (new doors, new wall textures, etc) using my DOOM2.wad but they are being shown incorrectly in UDB but are shown correct during gameplay/testing of WIP maps I'm working on. How can I fix this?
For example, I created a 16 x 128 metal bar that uses the patches RW26_1 and M1_1 for hell themed levels but it renders as PLAT2_1 using the 16 x 128 dimensions for some reason but renders correctly during gameplay/testing.
For example, I created a 16 x 128 metal bar that uses the patches RW26_1 and M1_1 for hell themed levels but it renders as PLAT2_1 using the 16 x 128 dimensions for some reason but renders correctly during gameplay/testing.
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:55 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
This weekend I've been experimenting with 16-angle sprites (as described here https://zdoom.org/wiki/Sprite#Angles), and I've just discovered that Ultimate Doom Builder doesn't like them. It refuses to load the sprite and comes up with the error message: "Expected sprite angle in [1..8] range"
I'm guessing this is an oversight in the error checking code. I don't need UDB to load and render all 16 angles (I don't know how hard that would be), but it should at least be tolerant of the fact that there may be 16 angles (1-G) per sprite.
I'm currently using UDB 3.0.0.3763 (f8e836a)
The offending code is in ThingTypeInfo.cs, SetupSpriteFrame(), around line 767.
I'd post a bug in github myself, but I don't have an account. Thanks in advance to anyone who can chase this up.
I'm guessing this is an oversight in the error checking code. I don't need UDB to load and render all 16 angles (I don't know how hard that would be), but it should at least be tolerant of the fact that there may be 16 angles (1-G) per sprite.
I'm currently using UDB 3.0.0.3763 (f8e836a)
The offending code is in ThingTypeInfo.cs, SetupSpriteFrame(), around line 767.
Code: Select all
// More sanity checks
if(targetangle < 1 || targetangle > 8)
{
General.ErrorLogger.Add(ErrorType.Error, "Error in actor \"" + title + "\":" + index + ", sprite \"" + s + "\". Expected sprite angle in [1..8] range");
return false;
}
-
- Posts: 751
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
What's the complete error message?
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:55 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
The complete error messages (two of them) in the Errors and Warnings window are:boris wrote:What's the complete error message?
Code: Select all
Error in actor "TestReference":15000, sprite "T000A9". Expected sprite angle in [1..8] range
Unable to find sprite lump "T000A" used by actor "TestReference":15000. Forgot to include required resources?
----
You got me thinking... I tried commenting out the extra sprite declarations ("T000A9" to "T000AG") in TEXTURES temporarily, and it seemed to load fine without error. It also appears that only the first animation frame matters to UDB, as I didn't need to do the same for frame B etc.
With that in mind, I can work around the problem with a //$Sprite editor key in DECORATE, along with a special set of Sprite declarations in TEXTURES specifically for UDB.
Still, would be good if this could be fixed in UDB.
-
- Posts: 751
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
can you provide a minimal example showing the problem?
-
- Posts: 4
- Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 10:55 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
Try this. DOOM II, MAP01.boris wrote:can you provide a minimal example showing the problem?
It's a simple room with a thing ("TestRotations") at the center with 16 rotations for frame "A". As you will see, it works fine in (G)ZDoom, but if you load it in UDB you will get the error messages.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
-
- Posts: 751
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
Yes, UDB handled sprites with 16 rotations defined in TEXTURES incorrectly. Will be fixed in the next version. Still not being displayed with 16 rotations, though.
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2019 7:49 am
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
First time run report.
In an experiment I wanted to try something that combines classic level layout with 3D floors. Unfortunately test map is bit more complex. Classic 2D editor won't do, because layout is becoming unreadable.
My OS of choice is linux. My editor used to be SLADE3. Well ... "used" ..., I am now convinced that besides being somewhat good for spriting, it's basically useless.
I waited quite a few years for SLADE to grow sane slopes support (unfortunately, triangular vertex slope editing is still fucked, even several years after it was added ... broken). Similarly 3D sector support is stuck in limbo too. It seems eevee did some great work on it and almost got it fully working, but this patchset did not get in ... yet(?).
Instead of getting that in, if I am reading the commits properly, SLADE team decided to start yet another internal refactoring. I don't know, but instead of progress, it seems that SLADE got stuck in an eternal refactoring loop now. Reminds me of gnome and other eternally broken linux software. Being based on wxWidgets does not help either (bitch to compile). I do understand desire to make a good editor, but after a decade I would like to finally use (easily!) features all major sourceports support. This is sad, as SLADE is probably single native editor for linux.
Anyway, today my piss-off level reached all time maximum high, so I made small container, and after some spelunking with mono and opengl, I got UDB running (it turns out while UDB works flawlessly on musl based distro - nvidia libs, which I am sadly locked into, don't, so I had to build glibc based one).
Result: everything works .. flawlesly!
Frankly, I could not believe my eyes at first. Build process was easy (compiling SLADE is more involved). Every crazy shit including 3D sectors and slopes works as advertised, no hiccups. I will be trying models next. This is insane.
Amazing job team!
Info for weird linux distro rando nerds like myself:
In an experiment I wanted to try something that combines classic level layout with 3D floors. Unfortunately test map is bit more complex. Classic 2D editor won't do, because layout is becoming unreadable.
My OS of choice is linux. My editor used to be SLADE3. Well ... "used" ..., I am now convinced that besides being somewhat good for spriting, it's basically useless.
I waited quite a few years for SLADE to grow sane slopes support (unfortunately, triangular vertex slope editing is still fucked, even several years after it was added ... broken). Similarly 3D sector support is stuck in limbo too. It seems eevee did some great work on it and almost got it fully working, but this patchset did not get in ... yet(?).
Instead of getting that in, if I am reading the commits properly, SLADE team decided to start yet another internal refactoring. I don't know, but instead of progress, it seems that SLADE got stuck in an eternal refactoring loop now. Reminds me of gnome and other eternally broken linux software. Being based on wxWidgets does not help either (bitch to compile). I do understand desire to make a good editor, but after a decade I would like to finally use (easily!) features all major sourceports support. This is sad, as SLADE is probably single native editor for linux.
Anyway, today my piss-off level reached all time maximum high, so I made small container, and after some spelunking with mono and opengl, I got UDB running (it turns out while UDB works flawlessly on musl based distro - nvidia libs, which I am sadly locked into, don't, so I had to build glibc based one).
Result: everything works .. flawlesly!
Frankly, I could not believe my eyes at first. Build process was easy (compiling SLADE is more involved). Every crazy shit including 3D sectors and slopes works as advertised, no hiccups. I will be trying models next. This is insane.
Amazing job team!
Info for weird linux distro rando nerds like myself:
Code: Select all
: cat /etc/os-release
NAME="void"
ID="void"
DISTRIB_ID="void"
PRETTY_NAME="void"
: cat notes/ubd-install-minimal-working-package-set.execline
#!/usr/bin/execlineb -P
# don't forget, goes into chroot jail:
sudo ./xbps-install
-Syu
void-repo-nonfree # pulls-in repo with nvidia libs
xbps-triggers # packages break without proper triggers
busybox # just to move around in jail (don't forget to link-in applets)
execline # because I am madman
s6
shadow # user managemnt (pulls in PAM, don't forget force-remove that shit later)
base-files
# navigation and looks in jail
zsh
rxvt-unicode-terminfo
# for deving and troubleshooting
tree
file
the_silver_searcher
strace
# for building
make
gcc
# ms dotnet magic
mono-devel
msbuild-bin
# for gui forms to work
gtk+
libX11-devel
libgdiplus-devel
# for opengl native code to compile
libglvnd-devel
# for in-jail opengl troubleshooting
mesa-demos
glxinfo
: cat notes/ubd-install-nvidia-libs-2nd-pass.execline
#!/usr/bin/execlineb -P
# don't forget, goes into chroot jail:
sudo ./xbps-install
-Syu
# makes opengl work (don't forget to forward proper opengl devices into jail)
nvidia-gtklibs
nvidia-libs
-
- Posts: 33
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:18 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10 LTSC
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
(Sorry for my english, I am Russian) Hello! in these latter days UDB(Ultimate Doom Builder) does not find default doom entities for replace command(I include doom2.wad) and he say about dublicate of actor "cacosphere", But SLADE found only one actor with name "cacosphere" and in other resources SLADE not found this name of actor. But two-three days ago UDB behaved normally and found default doom entities.
Full log:
Full log:
Spoiler:
-
- Posts: 751
- Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:37 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
Try loading gzdoom.pk3 as a resource (but exclude it from testing).
[edit] Nevermind, it's probably because of this error:
DECORATE error in "CONTENT2 UDB.pk3\DECORATE", line 1836. Actor "CacoSphere" is double-defined.
[edit] Nevermind, it's probably because of this error:
DECORATE error in "CONTENT2 UDB.pk3\DECORATE", line 1836. Actor "CacoSphere" is double-defined.
-
-
- Posts: 375
- Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2016 7:26 pm
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
Glad to hear such high praise for the experimental Linux port of UDB. I'd be amazed if you didn't run into this issue, however. I really hope that can be fixed.3t0 wrote:First time run report.
In an experiment I wanted to try something that combines classic level layout with 3D floors. Unfortunately test map is bit more complex. Classic 2D editor won't do, because layout is becoming unreadable.
My OS of choice is linux. My editor used to be SLADE3. Well ... "used" ..., I am now convinced that besides being somewhat good for spriting, it's basically useless.
I waited quite a few years for SLADE to grow sane slopes support (unfortunately, triangular vertex slope editing is still fucked, even several years after it was added ... broken). Similarly 3D sector support is stuck in limbo too. It seems eevee did some great work on it and almost got it fully working, but this patchset did not get in ... yet(?).
Instead of getting that in, if I am reading the commits properly, SLADE team decided to start yet another internal refactoring. I don't know, but instead of progress, it seems that SLADE got stuck in an eternal refactoring loop now. Reminds me of gnome and other eternally broken linux software. Being based on wxWidgets does not help either (bitch to compile). I do understand desire to make a good editor, but after a decade I would like to finally use (easily!) features all major sourceports support. This is sad, as SLADE is probably single native editor for linux.
Anyway, today my piss-off level reached all time maximum high, so I made small container, and after some spelunking with mono and opengl, I got UDB running (it turns out while UDB works flawlessly on musl based distro - nvidia libs, which I am sadly locked into, don't, so I had to build glibc based one).
Result: everything works .. flawlesly!
Frankly, I could not believe my eyes at first. Build process was easy (compiling SLADE is more involved). Every crazy shit including 3D sectors and slopes works as advertised, no hiccups. I will be trying models next. This is insane.
Amazing job team!
Info for weird linux distro rando nerds like myself:Code: Select all
: cat /etc/os-release NAME="void" ID="void" DISTRIB_ID="void" PRETTY_NAME="void" : cat notes/ubd-install-minimal-working-package-set.execline #!/usr/bin/execlineb -P # don't forget, goes into chroot jail: sudo ./xbps-install -Syu void-repo-nonfree # pulls-in repo with nvidia libs xbps-triggers # packages break without proper triggers busybox # just to move around in jail (don't forget to link-in applets) execline # because I am madman s6 shadow # user managemnt (pulls in PAM, don't forget force-remove that shit later) base-files # navigation and looks in jail zsh rxvt-unicode-terminfo # for deving and troubleshooting tree file the_silver_searcher strace # for building make gcc # ms dotnet magic mono-devel msbuild-bin # for gui forms to work gtk+ libX11-devel libgdiplus-devel # for opengl native code to compile libglvnd-devel # for in-jail opengl troubleshooting mesa-demos glxinfo : cat notes/ubd-install-nvidia-libs-2nd-pass.execline #!/usr/bin/execlineb -P # don't forget, goes into chroot jail: sudo ./xbps-install -Syu # makes opengl work (don't forget to forward proper opengl devices into jail) nvidia-gtklibs nvidia-libs
-
-
- Posts: 3130
- Joined: Sat May 28, 2016 1:01 pm
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
I'm afraid this is most likely a bug in Mono WinForms. Maybe someone can find a workaround for it.Talon1024 wrote:Glad to hear such high praise for the experimental Linux port of UDB. I'd be amazed if you didn't run into this issue, however. I really hope that can be fixed.
If you think it could be a threading problem then maybe the Linux version could be changed to running everything on the main thread. That will of course be a bit worse performance whenever it needs resources, but a slower program is better than a broken program.
Edit: if you want test this, change the following two functions in DataManager.cs as follows:
Code: Select all
internal void QueueLoadImage(ImageData img)
{
if(img.ImageState == ImageLoadState.None)
{
img.ImageState = ImageLoadState.Loading;
img.PreviewState = ImageLoadState.Loading;
#if MONO
img?.BackgroundLoadImage();
#else
lock(syncobject) { imageque.Enqueue(img); Monitor.Pulse(syncobject); }
#endif
}
}
internal void QueueLoadPreview(ImageData img)
{
if (img.PreviewState == ImageLoadState.None)
{
img.PreviewState = ImageLoadState.Loading;
#if MONO
img?.BackgroundLoadImage();
#else
lock(syncobject) { imageque.Enqueue(img); Monitor.Pulse(syncobject); }
#endif
}
}
-
- Posts: 33
- Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2021 3:18 am
- Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
- Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10 LTSC
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
Is it possible in UDB enable the text lump editing for other text by dint of .cfg or windows registry? I just need ACS library, and i noticed in .../[udb folder]/scripting/ zdoom_decorate/mapinfo/zscript etc.cfg, and why these cfg if they are not used? So I think text lump editing is possible in UDB, But how?
-
-
- Posts: 4145
- Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 12:19 am
- Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)
- Location: British Columbia, Canada
Re: Ultimate Doom Builder
It is possible with GZDBBF but was taken out when the editor transitioned to UDB.[_ilystra_] wrote:Is it possible in UDB enable the text lump editing for other text by dint of .cfg or windows registry? I just need ACS library, and i noticed in .../[udb folder]/scripting/ zdoom_decorate/mapinfo/zscript etc.cfg, and why these cfg if they are not used? So I think text lump editing is possible in UDB, But how?
The reason given at the time was that ZZYZX was not familiar enough with the programming of a full-fledged text editor, and that Slade3 is better suited for the purpose.
See Un-features
I miss it too.