Page 14 of 14

Re: [Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 1:04 am
by wildweasel
enderkevin13 wrote:Sorry for bumping this, but it won't run for some reason. How do I use it too?

What are you trying to do with it? If you're only double-clicking on it, then of course it won't "run" - it needs command line arguments from a CMD window.

Re: [Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 1:05 am
by enderkevin13
wildweasel wrote:
enderkevin13 wrote:Sorry for bumping this, but it won't run for some reason. How do I use it too?

What are you trying to do with it? If you're only double-clicking on it, then of course it won't "run" - it needs command line arguments from a CMD window.

Ahh okay.

Re: [Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 1:43 am
by Kappes Buur
enderkevin13 wrote:Sorry for bumping this, but it won't run for some reason. How do I use it too?


For a more modern approach to terrain see this viewtopic.php?f=3&t=50827#p884605

But to answers your question.
ZTerrain is used with small 8 bit greyscale graphics files, not larger then 64x64, in either bmp or pcx format. I usually have used bmp.
This file represents a heightmap, whites are peaks and blacks are depths.

For example:
for the floor Image and for the ceiling Image

From the ZTerrain_Help.txt file you can set up a batch file with appropriate settings

Code: Select allExpand view
zterrain -size 128 -height 2 -floor f2s.bmp -floortex FLAT5_8 -ceiling c1s.bmp -ceilingz 784 -ceilingtex FLOOR3_3 -lighttype 1 -light 128 -light1 255 -surface 1 -surfacez 128


which creates somewhat of a cave

Image

In GZDoom Builder it looks like this

Image

Insert some monsters on the flat part and you get this in GZDoom

Image

And some more images
Spoiler:

Re: [Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2016 2:36 am
by Graf Zahl
... and I think the editor screenshot perfectly shows the problem with this tool. It uses an old and horribly outdated method of defining slopes that completely lacks the necessary precision.

Re: [Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

PostPosted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 9:09 am
by Deybar_TECH
Wow that's great. :shock:
It seems I found what I needed.
I'll test if this works on the island.

EDIT:
But what a mistake. :oops:
I had to inform myself more about the subject.

Re: ZDoom Terrain Generator in Windows 7? wrote:by Nash ยป Thu May 22, 2014 9:25 pm

On a separate note, ZTerrain is very outdated and uses old techniques (involving slope things) to create slopes. I wouldn't recommend it.

A modern way to create terrain for ZDoom maps is to model the terrain in a 3D program (like Blender), export it as an OBJ and use GZDoom Builder's "import terrain" feature. The resulting map will actually use vertex coordinates to define the slope (modern) VS slope things (outdated).

Re: [Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:30 pm
by Kappes Buur
I had used Grubber's Terrain Generator extensively in the past. It is great for making the terrain but very difficult to edit in additional features like buildings.

Nowadays you are much better off using vertex height things. They are far more versatile.

If I knew how to use obj models I would use that. I tried but never had any success at it.

Re: [Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

PostPosted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 2:57 pm
by Enjay
Kappes Buur wrote:Nowadays you are much better off using vertex height things. They are far more versatile.

Is that better than giving the vertex a height directly (in UDMF)? If so, how?

Re: [Util] ZDoom Terrain Generator

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2019 7:09 am
by Graf Zahl
They do exactly the same thing,so with UDMF the direct properties make more sense because they add less overhead to the map data.