Page 11 of 14

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 3:02 pm
by Necromage
Okay, I have just about tried everything I can think of. I created the bmp to be 33x33 and I saved it as a 256 bmp (I used paint to make it). I then tried to drag the bitmap over the exe but it just ran like it would without any parameters so I tried using the run (windows 98) thing in the start menu and used this as the comand line:
Code: Select allExpand view
"C:\Program Files\DOOM Collector's Edition\zterrain\ZTerrain.exe" "C:\Program Files\DOOM Collector's Edition\zterrain\mike-test1.bmp"
I do not know if I need to add more info but it does not sound like I do. I cannot figure out what I am doing wrong.

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 3:05 pm
by TheDarkArchon
It needs to be a Greyscale bitmap.

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 3:12 pm
by Necromage
How do you get it to be grayscaled in paint (I tried monochromo bmp but that did not work either)?

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 3:32 pm
by Necromage
I figured it out but I still cannot get the program to make the wad file.

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 4:40 pm
by killingblair
Drag and drop :)

Progress on the Random Heightmap Generater: 30%

PostPosted: Fri May 27, 2005 11:54 pm
by Grubber
Read the help, section command line options, especially -floor and -ceiling. The usage has been changed a little bit since last version.

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:08 am
by Skunk
Hey Grubber... can this thing be set to square off special areas? For example, you want mountainus terrain surrounding a building...

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 12:58 am
by Grubber
You can delete any triangles from map yourself and then make a building in the empty space.

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 9:36 am
by Skunk
Yeah, but that's a lot of work. :P

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 9:41 am
by NiGHTMARE
Doesn't seem like that much work to me:

1) Click and drag the select tool in the area you want the building, then release the mouse button.

2) Press the delete key, and confirm.

3) Insert the linedefs that make up the walls of your building.

4) Move vertexes of the terrain triangles where neccessary.

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 9:50 am
by Skunk
Yeah, but then theres broken sectors to have to fix. :P Those are a pain.

I might use this in the near future.

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 6:31 pm
by Necromage
You can always us it as a sky box if you do not want people to be able to walk on the terrain (drag n drop still is not working).

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 7:07 pm
by Necromage
Here is the link to my height map: http://img273.echo.cx/my.php?image=openctf12sk.png I think image shack my have changed the file type. If someone can take a look it and possibly convert it for me or tell me what the hell I am doing wrong I would be much abliged.

Edit: it might also be useful to know that when I do
Code: Select allExpand view
"c:\blah blah\zterrain.exe" - help
It just immediatly closes after running.

Edit 2: it might also also be useful to know that i cannot even get the test.bmp to that ships with it to convert

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 7:36 pm
by Shadelight
Nmn wrote:Oh my God.


I suggest Codeimp adds this as a part of Doom Builder along with the next release of DB.


yeah that would be really awesome!
if this was in DB that editor could kill anything that stands b4 it (except XWE).
db and xwe are the god doom editors.

p.s. SAY WINTEX TO ME AND YOU WILL GET DEATHMATCHED!!

PostPosted: Sat May 28, 2005 9:29 pm
by Skunk
Wintex