GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Wed Nov 07, 2018 4:41 pm

Does GZDB write anything in errors list? (bottom right of the window, with exclamation icon)
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby X-DOOM » Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:28 am

ZZYZX wrote:Does GZDB write anything in errors list? (bottom right of the window, with exclamation icon)


Yes it did and since i have fixed few errors, the models started to appear. But i now have a tons of error with textures not defined and sprites not founds.

I believe there is a mess with my decorate file that i may have to properly fix.

On another hand i have problem with the editor when i double cluck on an error in the log, it open the file in the script editor where the error is. That is cool but if i want to open the same file (a decorate file for exemple) in notepad, every text format is all screwed into a single line. I have to open the same file in wordpad to get the text format how its supposed to be.
User avatar
X-DOOM
Imp monger
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:30 am

This is because Windows Notepad is very limited and doesn't understand non-Windows line endings (i.e. it requires lines to end with \r\n instead of just \n which is more or less the unofficial crossplatform standard).
I suggest using Notepad++, AkelPad or something like that.
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Darkcrafter » Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:41 pm

Would be absolutely awesome to have a built-in little 3d-editor which would generate md3 out of fake sectors outside of the map and place them into desired place to replicate 3d brushes. Add your md3 collision code to it and it's going to be sick.
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: Russia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby FishyClockwork » Sat Nov 10, 2018 8:58 am

For some reason if you define some enum options for arg 0 they won't show up if you hover your mouse over a thing in Things Mode or look at it in Visual Mode. Thankfully it works if you select it and view the "Action / Tag / Misc" tab.
This is peculiar because this issue doesn't happen with the other args.

Here's a test wad with a map and a test actor (zscript) using enums, use GZDB-BF to open it and make sure to load gzdoom.pk3 as a resource so it loads the zscript class. Tested with R3039.
Again, hover your mouse over TestThing and notice how arg 0 just shows '0' while arg 1 and 2 show their enum names.
Attachments
GZDB-BF enums test.wad
Choose "GZDoom: Doom 2 (UDMF)"
(2.01 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
User avatar
FishyClockwork
 
Joined: 23 Feb 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Martix10 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 9:49 am

Sudenly I can't open GzDoomBuilder anymore, there's no errors .. I click on it and nothing happens. The last version that I can open is the R3012. Could this be a Windows 10 error ?
User avatar
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Clay » Tue Nov 20, 2018 7:29 am

I have again encountered a problem that I have with both GZDB and GZDB bugfix. They wont save map changes sometimes. I thought maybe use error but I now have a habit of saving multiple times as a result of this. Unfortunately this is not something anyone I have spoken to has dealt with and I cannot say how to reproduce it as all I do it map then save. When opening my progress is sometimes gone.

I used to be able to get around it by deleting the wad and renaming the first backup file. But that no longer works. I have little expectation this will be solved but Had to put it out there so it was known.

If there is any info I can provide, please let me know and how to get that info. Thanks.
User avatar
Clay
Join my model specific Dicord! https://discord.gg/hQD9Va
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Location: That one secret you always miss.
Discord: SomeOtherDoomGuy#7217

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Martix10 » Wed Nov 21, 2018 6:34 pm

I found this error in the windows event logs:

Spoiler:


It was working fine, sudenly stoped :(
User avatar
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Fri Nov 23, 2018 1:11 pm

Did you update recently? (Martix)
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Martix10 » Sat Nov 24, 2018 7:03 am

Yep, windows auto updated to 1809 (win 10).
User avatar
Martix10
 
Joined: 30 Jul 2014

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Mon Nov 26, 2018 8:31 pm

Martix10 wrote:Yep, windows auto updated to 1809 (win 10).

Check out viewtopic.php?f=12&t=62195

Install all DOOM_Stuff (editors, utils, etc) in a dedicated folder, eg

    Drive:\Editors\GZDB-BF_3039x64
    Drive:\Editors\SLADE_3.1.2
    Drive:\Editors\BHS_Font_generator
and NOT in C:\Programs
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Cherno » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:07 pm

The bugfix fork seems to read the SurfaceSkin path of model textures in a way that forces the user to always have the textures in a folder hierarchy starting from the model's directory. It is therefore not possible for models to share textures.

Example:

Code: Select allExpand view
Path "models/creatures/zombiechicken1"
Model 0 "zombiechicken1.md3"
SurfaceSkin 0 0 "models/PAL1.png"//the actual path is read as "models/creatures/zombiechicken1/models/PAL1.png", which it shouldn't since the texture is in the models directory that is a main folder of hte pk3 file.


This causes tons of "unable to load skin" errors. to appear.
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Nash » Sun Dec 09, 2018 8:41 pm

When copy and pasting sectors, flats are auto-assigned something even when they were deliberately set to "-" (empty texture). I swear GZDB didn't do this before. Please add option to disable this behaviour, or tell me if it can be adjusted by myself.
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby zrrion the insect » Mon Dec 10, 2018 12:31 am

In the editing "bar" or whatever it is on the right there are a few check boxes that should be able to toggle that behavior on and off
User avatar
zrrion the insect
Like a fish in a child's hands.
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2009
Location: Time Station 1: Moon of Glendale

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Nash » Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:33 pm



Despite all of those checkboxes being OFF, I am STILL getting forced texture applications when I press Enter to confirm the edit.

I have my stuff set to "-" for a reason.

Again, it didn't use to do this. I don't know when it started doing this.

EDIT: to make things worse, it is doing this retroactively to opened maps that previously have the empty textures. I'm opening some other maps which I haven't touched in a while and suddenly and magically all textures that were intentionally set to "-" now have a texture applied, without my control!
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests