GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Tormentor667 » Sat Feb 24, 2018 6:55 am

Found a bug with "String" style named scripts, this is what happens or how you can reproduce it:

  • Open a UDMF map
  • Mark a line that has the line special 80 and the "String" box checked
  • Mark a second line without a special or the "String" box checked
  • Open the "Edit" dialogue, check/uncheck any flag in the editing dialogue and hit "Ok"
  • Edit the line with the line special 80 again, the "String" is unchecked and the script name has switched to "Script number 0"
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Pedro vc » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:09 pm

Hello, sorry if this is the wrong thread.
I have this shootable switch and marked it as "On projectile impact" and "switch height check" (UDMF format). But if you shoot below it, it still activates. Is there a way to correct this?
Image
User avatar
Pedro vc
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2008

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Glaice » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:32 pm

I haven't been able to update since R2994, why is that?
User avatar
Glaice
Maps of Chaos/RDND/DVV Overseer
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Location: North Babylon, NY
Discord: Glaice#8512
Github ID: GlaiceOldSchoolRTS
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Gez » Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:05 pm

Pedro vc wrote:Hello, sorry if this is the wrong thread.
I have this shootable switch and marked it as "On projectile impact" and "switch height check" (UDMF format). But if you shoot below it, it still activates. Is there a way to correct this?
Image

At the moment, the height check applies only to "player use" switches.

The workaround is to make a shoootable object behind your switch, but it would be a good idea to make a feature suggestion for implementing height check for impact switches, because you're not the first person with that problem.

(And yes the editor thread isn't the appropriate place for this.)
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Pedro vc » Sun Feb 25, 2018 11:00 am

Gez wrote:
Pedro vc wrote:Hello, sorry if this is the wrong thread.
I have this shootable switch and marked it as "On projectile impact" and "switch height check" (UDMF format). But if you shoot below it, it still activates. Is there a way to correct this?
Image

At the moment, the height check applies only to "player use" switches.

The workaround is to make a shoootable object behind your switch, but it would be a good idea to make a feature suggestion for implementing height check for impact switches, because you're not the first person with that problem.

(And yes the editor thread isn't the appropriate place for this.)


Ok then. Thanks
User avatar
Pedro vc
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2008

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Ravick » Sun Feb 25, 2018 12:06 pm

Pedro vc wrote:
Gez wrote:
Pedro vc wrote:Hello, sorry if this is the wrong thread.
I have this shootable switch and marked it as "On projectile impact" and "switch height check" (UDMF format). But if you shoot below it, it still activates. Is there a way to correct this?
Image

At the moment, the height check applies only to "player use" switches.

The workaround is to make a shoootable object behind your switch, but it would be a good idea to make a feature suggestion for implementing height check for impact switches, because you're not the first person with that problem.

(And yes the editor thread isn't the appropriate place for this.)


Ok then. Thanks


Pedro, I'd make a small sector in front of the switch, use ThingCountSector to check when there is at least on puff one that sector, and GetActorZ to check if said puff is at the correct height. The switch itself would be only "decorative", as the real trigger would be the script that constantly checks the presence of puffs at he sector.
User avatar
Ravick
Do what thou wilt, since you don't bug the hell out of me!
 
Joined: 22 Aug 2010
Location: Tubarão, Brasil

GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby GENTEK » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:28 am

Ok guys I really need help on that nothing appear in GZDB-BugFix and since that seem work for some people I would like to know how to fix that for me! :D

EDIT:
FIXED!!!
Last edited by GENTEK on Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:16 pm, edited 8 times in total.
GENTEK
 
Joined: 05 Aug 2013

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby VGA » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:56 am

I can't seem to update through the program or through running the updater. I also overwrote the updater with the newest from here and still nothing, why? It can't seem to be able to connect.
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/doombuilder2-gzdb/

I mean, I could update manually but ... why isn't it working?
User avatar
VGA
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2011

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby ZZYZX » Mon Feb 26, 2018 11:51 am

GENTEK wrote:Ok guys I really need help on that nothing appear in GZDB-BugFix and since that seem work for some people I would like to know how to fix that for me! :D

Full code please (i.e. a minimal pk3 with this code, that has the bug reproduced).
Also: are there any errors in GZDB?

VGA wrote:I can't seem to update through the program or through running the updater. I also overwrote the updater with the newest from here and still nothing, why? It can't seem to be able to connect.
https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/doombuilder2-gzdb/

I mean, I could update manually but ... why isn't it working?

It might be blocking certain useragents. Then again, I have no idea why it breaks, can be any other reason. Seems to work for me now.
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Tormentor667 » Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:41 pm

Same problem, was working in the past:
Image
Worked before 2.3.0.2994
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Silentdarkness12 » Mon Feb 26, 2018 8:06 pm

Seems that GZDoom Builder Bugfix has a problem if you try to tag resources in one resource, that are inheriting off another resource, regardless of whether you're loading both of these or not.

I went and started working on a custom map pack for Hideous Destructor. The mod utterly lacks Doom Ed Nums, so I used decorate stubs to add the numbers to the classes, figuring that would be clever. However, not only does GZDB-B throw an error, failing to find the inheriting classes, it also fails to find the sprites from Hideous Destructor I was using to make tag sprites, and therefore renders the things as mystery spheres instead of the sprites that are very much clearly there, in the Hideous Destructor resource files. Unsure what to do to fix this, other than shoving redundant code in.....

File attatched. Load order is Doom 2.wad, GZDoom.pk3, Hideous Destructor and Desperate Halberd pk3, in the Editor.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/tc4wa3b0t ... alberd.zip
User avatar
Silentdarkness12
Level 7: ZScript Victim
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2013
Location: Plains of Pride

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Nash » Thu Mar 01, 2018 5:32 am

Feature request: add this new MODELDEF flag into GZDB: [ https://github.com/coelckers/gzdoom/pull/429/files ]. Never knew how much I needed this for decorative objects until this got added! Rotating models around the "feet" is annoying...
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Fused » Fri Mar 02, 2018 9:23 am

Hi, would it be possible to add an editor key to not list an actor in GZdoombuilder's decorate list when added? I do not use Doom 2 monsters in my mod for example and would like to fully get rid of them without having to configure my own gzdoombuilder configuration. Replacing them in any way still makes them exist, and will fill up the list either way.
User avatar
Fused
 
Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Discord: FusedQyou#0357

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Gez » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:09 am

I believe GZDB-BF has a full MAPINFO parser, so if you redefine the corresponding doomednums to "None" then they should disappear I think. You can find the list of all standard editor numbers on the wiki.
Last edited by Gez on Sun Mar 04, 2018 9:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Silentdarkness12 » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:29 am

I hope my report about how the thing parser isn't working right for ZScripted Classes got noticed, and will be worked on. It's sort of ruining ZScripted assets for maps.
User avatar
Silentdarkness12
Level 7: ZScript Victim
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2013
Location: Plains of Pride

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest