GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Aug 31, 2019 7:30 am

GZDBBF issue #296

I did these steps for a new map in UDMF:

  • Open the script editor
  • select File - New
  • scroll down to ZDoom MAPINFO and select it
  • this opens a new tab called UNTITLED.txt
  • enter the appropriate info, for example

Code: Select allExpand view
map MAP01 "NEW MAP NAME"
{
sky1  = "SKY1", 0
next  = "MAP02"
music = "D_RUNNIN"
}


  • then File - Save As saves MAPINFO.txt as an external file
  • and renames UNTITLED.txt to MAPINFO.txt
  • then save the map
Doing all that and no MAPINFO lump is inserted into the map.

Is there something else I must do in order for a MAPINFO lump to appear in the lump structure, other than using Slade3?
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia Canada

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby GothicGold » Sun Sep 01, 2019 10:27 pm

This is gonna come off as a stupid question but I thought I'd ask anyways:

Where can I find a download ofGZDoomBuilder-Bugfix? Every link I've found just leads to a "500 Internal Server Error" and I can't seem to find anywhere with a working copy of the program.
User avatar
GothicGold
 
Joined: 01 May 2019
Location: Calgary, AB
Discord: ♡ Gothic Gold ♡#9843
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby boris » Sun Sep 01, 2019 11:09 pm

GothicGold wrote:This is gonna come off as a stupid question but I thought I'd ask anyways:

Where can I find a download ofGZDoomBuilder-Bugfix? Every link I've found just leads to a "500 Internal Server Error" and I can't seem to find anywhere with a working copy of the program.

It's in the first post: https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdbbf/
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby SanyaWaffles » Mon Sep 02, 2019 2:16 am

The site was down earlier, that's why you were having problems GothicGold.

---

I've noticed a substantial performance decrease with GZDB. I'm using standard ipk3/pk3 ZIP compression. I still can't do loose files because something keeps crashing the map editor. I suspect it has something to do with the DevIL library, which has been reported but not fixed.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Ice Bear Charges Extra
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby DnB-Freak » Wed Sep 04, 2019 7:56 am

May I have an feature suggestion for editing model dependent things :idea:

Scale X, Y and Z:
GZDBFIX22.PNG


IIRC in MODELDEF objects can be scaled in all 3 vector axis.
DnB-Freak
Drum and Bass in ya face
 
Joined: 19 May 2013

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby boris » Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:06 am

You have to take that feature suggestion here first: viewforum.php?f=15

The editor can't magically add features to the engine.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby DnB-Freak » Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:39 am

boris wrote:You have to take that feature suggestion here first: viewforum.php?f=15

The editor can't magically add features to the engine.


viewtopic.php?f=15&t=65800

How am I supposed to suggest features if they're ignored?
And did I tell you I believe in magic?

Now I'm asking if this feature can be done in the editor via MODELDEF not DECORATE.
The game engine supports Z scaling in MODELDEF not DECORATE.
DnB-Freak
Drum and Bass in ya face
 
Joined: 19 May 2013

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Gez » Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:07 am

The map editor allows to edit an individual object's own properties, while definitions in MODELDEF, DECORATE, etc. are about the default properties of the entire class. The map editor is not supposed to change the definitions of the objects, so it can't tweak MODELDEF or anything else.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Baysha » Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:05 pm

Hey, this won't launch for me at all. I don't even get an error message. And when I check my .net framework and DirectX versions, they're above the required versions. So how can I fix this problem?
Baysha
 
Joined: 24 Feb 2018

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:26 am

Baysha wrote:Hey, this won't launch for me at all. I don't even get an error message. And when I check my .net framework and DirectX versions, they're above the required versions. So how can I fix this problem?


Possibly my tutorial will help you.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia Canada

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby TheMafla » Fri Sep 06, 2019 11:21 pm

This, it may be something silly (since it would only be for my comfort I guess) but I can edit or change the sprite of the vertices? I mean, if I can change the image of the vertices you see in the 2D plane of the GZDoom Builder, I think I liked the vertices I saw in the first Doom Builder or even if possible I would like them to have a round shape.
User avatar
TheMafla
 
Joined: 20 Jun 2018
Discord: None
Twitch ID: None

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby boris » Sat Sep 07, 2019 2:12 am

No, that's not possible.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Kappes Buur » Sat Sep 07, 2019 6:45 am

TheMafla wrote:... I mean, if I can change the image of the vertices you see in the 2D plane of the GZDoom Builder, I think I liked the vertices I saw in the first Doom Builder or even if possible I would like them to have a round shape.


Square only, but you can change the colour and size.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia Canada

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby Ghost Prototype » Sat Sep 07, 2019 7:14 am

My GZdoomBuilder is super choppy in 3D view mode. Is this a usual problem with AMD cards or a windows 10 thing? My old card was a 750ti running on windows 7. Ran perfectly smooth then
User avatar
Ghost Prototype
Be the problems you want to see in the world
 
Joined: 19 May 2013
Location: Philadelphia

Re: GZDoomBuilder-Bugfix, a maintenance fork of GZDB

Postby MartinHowe » Mon Sep 09, 2019 1:07 pm

I'm not sure if this is a missing feature or a bug, but there are no configurations for mapping in UDMF and Doom 1. If one sets the main resource IWAD to, e.g., Ultimate Doom and comments out the DOOM 2 THINGS in the config file, it errors with something like "can't find monster XXXX to create sprites for XXXX_Stealth" from, where XXXX is CPOSA2A8 for example. One obviously can't do that as Doom 1 doesn't have chaingunner sprites, for example.

Since Doom is still a valid game is there any way this could be supported in future?
User avatar
MartinHowe
In space, no-one can hear you KILL an ALIEN
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2003
Location: Waveney, United Kingdom

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest