GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby TammySilverwolf » Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:30 am

Leonard2 wrote:Quick question, are you going to have the slope mode a separate plug-in or are you going to include it with the 3D floor mode?
Currently this slope feature alone could be incredibly useful.


Erm, slopes work in 3d mode. Completely, in fact. :)
User avatar
TammySilverwolf
 
Joined: 22 Feb 2015

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Nash » Wed Feb 25, 2015 8:39 am

Can't wait for this to be merged into mainstream GZDB. :D
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Wed Feb 25, 2015 9:54 am

Leonard2 wrote:Quick question, are you going to have the slope mode a separate plug-in or are you going to include it with the 3D floor mode?
Currently this slope feature alone could be incredibly useful.

It's one plugin. That's because the logic was closely related to the 3D floor mode in the beginning.

TammySilverwolf wrote:
Leonard2 wrote:Quick question, are you going to have the slope mode a separate plug-in or are you going to include it with the 3D floor mode?
Currently this slope feature alone could be incredibly useful.


Erm, slopes work in 3d mode. Completely, in fact. :)

He's talking about the modes provided by this plugin, not about the 3D visual mode.

Nash wrote:Can't wait for this to be merged into mainstream GZDB. :D

First it has to be in a 100% usable state ;) The big part of the slope mode that's missing is the undo/redo part. Plus lots of small things here and there that add up to a huge pile ;)
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Ozymandias81 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 10:25 am

boris wrote:A little progress with slopes:

Spoiler:

EXCELLENT STUFF! I NEED IT NOW! :-)
Last edited by Ozymandias81 on Sun Apr 19, 2015 9:04 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Github ID: Ozymandias81
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Xtyfe » Wed Feb 25, 2015 1:40 pm

WHAT

This would make my life so much easier, My maps make huge use of 3d floors and this would surely speed it up
User avatar
Xtyfe
Neque Deos, Neque Dominos
 
Joined: 15 Dec 2007
Location: The Intertubes

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Zanieon » Wed Feb 25, 2015 5:00 pm

boris and another epic plugin for GZDB

nice work again dude, i enjoy this alot, it aid my pain with 3D Floors
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177
Twitch ID: Zanieon
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Sat Mar 07, 2015 12:46 pm

So after trying out some options it looks like somehow interacting with the existing undo/redo process doesn't seem to be viable :( I guess I'll go with a dummy sector the user has to configure, where all the required info is stored in custom UDMF fields. Not the nicest solution, but better than not being able to undo/redo.

[edit] While writing this post I got the idea that using a "real" dummy sector (i.e. without lines, invisible to the user) might work. Gotta play around with that.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Leonard2 » Sat Mar 14, 2015 3:39 pm

You know, after looking more at the latest video you posted (slopes demonstration) I had an idea:
Rather than having a slope assigned to a sector, why not have the opposite, where you assign any surface (ceiling/floor) from any sector to a slope (a simple 3D vector) this way you could easily duplicate a slope if you use regular geometry on your map and would allow to replace the need for a "copy floor/ceiling plane" thing.

boris wrote:So after trying out some options it looks like somehow interacting with the existing undo/redo process doesn't seem to be viable :( I guess I'll go with a dummy sector the user has to configure, where all the required info is stored in custom UDMF fields. Not the nicest solution, but better than not being able to undo/redo.

[edit] While writing this post I got the idea that using a "real" dummy sector (i.e. without lines, invisible to the user) might work. Gotta play around with that.


I'm not sure if the data you are referring to is for slopes but if it is the case then all you should really need to do is store a slope's coordinates and its assigned surfaces in a map's .dbs file.
Also, not being able to use undo/redo isn't such a big deal (concerning slopes that is) since the input it needs isn't as big (just two coordinates and a surface).

The reason I was thinking about this video is that I stumbled on a case where this could be very useful yet again.
Looking forward to try out the sloping additions you made (you should update your .dll to include it).
User avatar
Leonard2
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2012

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Sat Mar 14, 2015 5:30 pm

Leonard2 wrote:You know, after looking more at the latest video you posted (slopes demonstration) I had an idea:
Rather than having a slope assigned to a sector, why not have the opposite, where you assign any surface (ceiling/floor) from any sector to a slope (a simple 3D vector) this way you could easily duplicate a slope if you use regular geometry on your map and would allow to replace the need for a "copy floor/ceiling plane" thing.

Not sure if that's what you mean, but there's already an intermediate layer. The slope vertices are not stored in the sector, but rather only a slope id (one for the floor and one for the ceiling). That way you can draw one slope and have it applied to multiple sectors. You can actually see that in thevery beginning of the last video.

Leonard2 wrote:I'm not sure if the data you are referring to is for slopes but if it is the case then all you should really need to do is store a slope's coordinates and its assigned surfaces in a map's .dbs file.
Also, not being able to use undo/redo isn't such a big deal (concerning slopes that is) since the input it needs isn't as big (just two coordinates and a surface).

I have to disagree that undo/redo is not important. Anything that can fuck up your map should be possible to undo. It's a moot point anyway, since I got undo/redo working they way I planned.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Sun Apr 19, 2015 6:13 am

I finally decided to put up a compiled version that aso contains the slope modes: https://github.com/biwa/3dfloormode/releases

Use with caution, it's still in development and could blow up your map

I also recorded a video showcasing the slope functionality:

boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Nash » Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:11 pm

THAT'S AMAZING :O :O :O :O

But it seems that multiple tags just got implemented... I wonder how will this affect the inner workings of this plugin? viewtopic.php?f=18&t=48200&sid=1956a39930e8fe8d6ab95d263b8700e6#p828423
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:29 pm

Nash wrote:But it seems that multiple tags just got implemented... I wonder how will this affect the inner workings of this plugin?

That's pretty cool. When editing in Hexen format, nothing will change. As for UDMF, the multiple tags feature somewhat diminishes the use of the plugin, but I think it will still be handy. When MaxED adds support to GZDB I'll also add it to the plugin.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby SyntherAugustus » Sun Apr 19, 2015 4:50 pm

http://imgur.com/2C3xzs1

Getting the hang of it. Church moulding is hard.

Would you think there's a way to copy slopes and assign them to new sectors?
User avatar
SyntherAugustus
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:49 pm

blackfish wrote:Would you think there's a way to copy slopes and assign them to new sectors?

Copy/paste works now. Code's in the repository, no compiled package, though. Might put one up this weekend.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby ShinyCrobat » Tue Apr 28, 2015 12:02 am

How do you set a slope vertice down? I go to Draw Slope Mode with a sector selected, but when I click or click and drag, I can't actually place the vertice down. What am I missing?
ShinyCrobat
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2013

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests