GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Nash » Thu Feb 20, 2014 9:18 pm

It is defined in Includes\Common.cfg and therefore would apply to every single configuration that ships with GZDB. So it might not be a good idea to change it there directly. Instead, I simply redefined the boundaries in my custom game config.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Fri Feb 21, 2014 5:14 pm

Nash wrote:Some suggestions for the CSA:

There are definitely things that can be done to improve handling the CSA, but they are not too high on my priority list right now. I'll work on them once I find some time to finish the sloped 3D floors. The code in the repository actually has already an improvement to the SCA: you can drag the corners around, so that'll make changing the CSA a lot quicker already.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Thomas » Sat Feb 22, 2014 6:13 am

Very nice! Could it be possible to change light value as well in the dialog box? Or am I overlooking something?
Thomas
SkullTag clan [SA] Co-leader
 
Joined: 30 May 2007
Location: The Netherlands

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Sat Feb 22, 2014 9:24 am

The version in the repository has a button the edit the control sector properties (it just opens the usual sector edit dialog).
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Sandro » Sun Mar 09, 2014 3:03 pm

Hello Boris,
Still working on it ? Any idea when the sloped 3D floors plugin will be available ? I can't wait since I tested this awesome 3D floors plugin ! :)
User avatar
Sandro
 
Joined: 05 Oct 2013
Location: Erathia

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Wed Mar 12, 2014 1:46 pm

Yes, I'm still working on it. Unfortunately I can't really spend too much time on it. The last thing I did was to change the sloped 3D floors to use things 9500/9501 in conjunction with a line id. Took quite some time to get it working correctly, but at least the slopes are not off anymore.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:13 pm

I finally managed to work a bit more on the plugin. Modifying sloped 3D floors works pretty good now.

boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Siberian Tiger » Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:40 pm

When and if this project gets finished and is added into the GZDoom Builder project within the SVN Repo, I'll be ready to include the compiling instructions for it in the Bootless Star program. :)
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Siberian Tigers Rule All~!!!
 
Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Github ID: SibTiger
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Sun Apr 20, 2014 2:53 pm

The GIT repository linked in the first post contains the current code, if you're interested in that. I just don't supply the compiled DLL because it's still pretty fragile and easy to break under certain circumstances.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Siberian Tiger » Sun Apr 20, 2014 3:25 pm

boris wrote:The GIT repository linked in the first post contains the current code, if you're interested in that.


Sure, but I am going to wait when and if MaxED adds this plugin (the source) to the GZDoom Builder project.

Just to elaborate a bit, I programmed Bootless Star (external modules) to easily compile Doom Builder 2 and all of the supported branches\forks. I use this program for generating\compile Doom Builder 2, Doom Builder 64, and GZDoom Builder development builds.
User avatar
Siberian Tiger
Siberian Tigers Rule All~!!!
 
Joined: 13 Jun 2009
Location: United States
Github ID: SibTiger
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Nash » Sun Apr 20, 2014 6:39 pm

*drools* can't wait to try the new version of the plugin!
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Sandro » Mon Apr 21, 2014 2:25 pm

Brilliant, simply brilliant !
I really can't wait !!! What's left now before we can use it ? :)
User avatar
Sandro
 
Joined: 05 Oct 2013
Location: Erathia

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:46 am

Sandro wrote:What's left now before we can use it ? :)

Here are some problems I'm aware of that need fixing:

. Removing 3D floors is broken
- Clicking the "split" button in the 3D floor editing window crashes when not all tagged sectors are selected
- Existing tags are ignored, so it adding a 3D floor to such a sector will break the specials
- Untagged lines of control sectors are not joined if actions are removed from them (not really a problem)
- No support for doubly sloped 3D floors yet (last time I checked GZDB didn't display them correctly, anyway)
- Controls in the 3D floor editing window flicker like crazy. Apparently a known problem. (no functional impact)
- "Show shared 3D floors only" in 3D floor editing window doesn't work

There are probably more.
boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby boris » Tue Sep 02, 2014 8:15 am

A little progress with slopes:

boris
I post less than Manc and Hobo
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: GZDB plugin: 3D floor mode

Postby Leonard2 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 7:49 am

Quick question, are you going to have the slope mode a separate plug-in or are you going to include it with the 3D floor mode?
Currently this slope feature alone could be incredibly useful.
User avatar
Leonard2
 
Joined: 15 Aug 2012

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests