SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby NeuralStunner » Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:02 pm

Slayer's Slade sequel spawns said section's sixth sticky, so? :P

I'm liking this so far too. Between you and Gez, it's going to be awesome! :)
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Cuddly but Packin'
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Cutmanmike » Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:38 am

I keep forgetting to try the new SLADE but Slumped is still holding up as the best lump manager to date, so keep it up!
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Not dead
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:35 am

A gallery of picture showing off some stuff that Slade 3 can do that Slumped cannot (including some that XWE cannot either):
http://img18.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=slade001.png

Of course Slade 3 is not feature complete yet and for many operations Slumped is still to be used. E.g., you can view textures but you can't actually edit them yet.

Highlights:
Choosing the palette to use.
Proper display of palette-hacked pictures.
Many exclusive image formats.
Alpha and Strife texture lumps.
Support for tall sprites, and drag'n'drop scroll of the viewpoint
Can open embedded zips.
Animated/Switches viewer, ANIMDEFS converter.
Knows about a lot of lump types.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Cutmanmike » Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:50 am

Pretty pimp, although I didn't really need convincing I was gonna get it at some point regardless :P Even the black/grey grid background is appealing to me.
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Not dead
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby InsanityBringer » Wed Apr 14, 2010 9:44 am

Is it stable at this point? If so I'll probably dump XWE right away. I'm not sure if I'll use the map editor but I know for a fact I'll be using the resource manager
User avatar
InsanityBringer
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007
Location: opening the forbidden box
Discord: InsanityBringer#9908

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Shadelight » Wed Apr 14, 2010 3:53 pm

This sounds really awesome, I doubt I'm ever going to use SLumpED again at this point.
User avatar
Shadelight
You must construct additional lumber.
 
Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Labrynna
Discord: Shadelight#4920

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby DBThanatos » Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:55 pm

Project Dark Fox wrote:Of course now there's 6 stickies...

Yeah, it makes things so easier on the forum... :roll:

Unfortunately, I dont have any constructive suggestion on this, so I'll just say: perhaps we could put them all into a subforum? :shrug:

And, now I should be trying slade. Sounds promising, and if it's slumped remade, that sounds great :D
User avatar
DBThanatos
Guns, explosions, gore.
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Project Dark Fox » Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:14 pm

DBThanatos wrote:Unfortunately, I dont have any constructive suggestion on this, so I'll just say: perhaps we could put them all into a subforum? :shrug:

That'll have an even more detrimental effect than if they weren't even stickies. :P
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Married Furry Anxiety Bucket
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Twitch ID: ProjectDarkFox

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby wildweasel » Thu Apr 15, 2010 11:35 pm

I've been tooling around with this for a while and only encountered one major error.

Every time I use the clipboard (copy and pasting lumps either between WADs or PK3 files, or within the same WAD/PK3 file), the resulting lumps will sometimes be listed in a red text color in the file listing, and I will not be able to save, modify, or otherwise do anything with those lumps until I save the WAD/PK3, close SLADE, then restart it and open the WAD/PK3 file again. I can't close the file and reopen it without restarting SLADE, or else the program complains that the file is already open.

Suggestions?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby sirjuddington » Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:09 am

Ok I think I fixed the problem with entries randomly locking themselves when pasted (wasn't copying the lock state in the ArchiveEntry copy constructor). Also it says the archive is already open because it is :P Closing a tab will not actually close the archive, it'll still be there in the archive manager window. To close the actual archive you have to go File->Close or use the toolbar close button.
User avatar
sirjuddington
I need no title.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Xaser » Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:47 am

Curses -- I gave this a shot earlier (very nice, from what I've seen), but unfortunately can't do much with it at the moment because you can't mass-import entries. I've also noticed in the recent beta that you can't type negative numbers into the offset boxes -- apparently I'm only allowed to type a natural number in those spaces. :P

Or zero. But zero is just zero -- it does whatever it wants.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Cutmanmike » Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:53 am

Ouch. Best keep that copy of slumped handy, both those things I really need :P
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Not dead
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Fri Apr 16, 2010 10:46 am

I've investigated the "can't type a negative number" thing, and it's Windows' damn fault. Note that this is completely stupid, by the way. Here's a little trick you can do:
1. If the value isn't already 0, enter 0.
2. Click on the down arrow to make it -1.
3. Edit the value without deleting the minus.

Once some versions of Windows you could even use Ctrl-V to paste non-numeric values, but apparently this doesn't work in Vista.

The issue can be fixed by editing the wxWidgets library and recompiling it before building SLADE3. Or potentially by changing the property in the relevant constructor to add wxSP_NON_NUMERIC to some sort of style or something, but I'm not sure how to do that. :|

See this for further information.


I agree 100% that mass-import will need to be put back in by the way.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Shadelight » Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:45 am

Feature Suggestion: Ability to convert ANIMDEFS back to ANIMATED.
User avatar
Shadelight
You must construct additional lumber.
 
Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Labrynna
Discord: Shadelight#4920

Postby Gez » Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:04 pm

BlazingPhoenix wrote:Feature Suggestion: Ability to convert ANIMDEFS back to ANIMATED.

What do you do with the countless options offered by ANIMDEFS that cannot be handled by ANIMATED?
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests